Page 1 of 1

AMD Polaris GPU [not folding]

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 4:55 pm
by Happypotatohead
Mod note: split from hardware topic to appropriate forum

For some reason I can't get my 480 to fold. I have the latest version of FAH installed and the latest drivers from AMD, but GPU usage sits pretty consistently at 9% while "folding". Also in my system is a GT 620 and GT 720 because my second monitor only supports DVI/VGA and the 480 doesn't have either of those.

Re: AMD Polaris GPU [not folding]

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 7:04 pm
by FldngForGrandparents
You can get a DisplayPort to DVI cable for about $20.

Re: AMD Polaris GPU [not folding]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 2:46 am
by bruce
Very few folks have successfully folded on both AMD and NV GPUs in the same system. (It's not clear if you are talking about one system or more than one.)

Assuming the former, if you want to fold in that system with the Polaris, I recommend you remove the NV GPUs (Move them to a differernt system?) and uninstall those drivers before installing the 480.

If you''re an expert and you figure out how to get both AMD and NV drivers to operate concurrently, let us know how you did it.

Re: AMD Polaris GPU [not folding]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 6:34 pm
by foldy
I am running a AMD R9 280 and Nvidia GTX 970 together on Windows 7 - no problems so far.
First the AMD GPU was added and drivers installed then the Nvidia GPU was added and drivers installed.
Nvidia is my primary GPU now where Display is attached.

Later I updated AMD driver for Windows 7 without a problem.
I always upgrade install drivers and never do a uninstall or driver clean.
Currently running AMD 16.6.2 and Nvidia 368.22 on Windows 7.

But for Happypotatohead I also would recommend the adapter cable and get rid of the Nvidia cards.

Re: AMD Polaris GPU [not folding]

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 9:30 pm
by Viper666
the problem I had on my system ages ago and still happening months ago was the client did not update the gpu.txt file so nothing worked until it was updated manually> with the packages it would not update. Using the tarball the gpu.txt did it automatically. PS I did see a bug report somewhere about the gpu.txt not updating with the package install and it was supposed to be fixed like 3 years ago it isnt

Re: AMD Polaris GPU [not folding]

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:53 pm
by davidcoton
Who says it has been fixed? There hasn't been a client release since. So even if the source has been updated, the new code is not released.

Re: AMD Polaris GPU [not folding]

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2016 7:42 am
by bruce
Most systems are configured so that FAH starts when you reboot. The client does attempt to download GPUs.txt, but if the internet connection takes longer to initialize than FAH does, it will fail.

How long should FAH wait until the connection is established? What about the situation when no internet connection can be established? There's no perfect answer.

At least we can be glad that few, if any of us, are still on dial-up. :P