AMD RX 560 stuck at idle

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though AMD has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

AMD RX 560 stuck at idle

Postby tcaud » Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:40 am

I click fold in the advanced control, it won't do anything. The client recognizes it as Baffin / Polaris 11. Says it can't find CUDA.

Has no issue with my i7 4770, but I don't want to fold with that, just the GPU.
tcaud
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:31 am

Re: AMD RX 560 stuck at idle

Postby Joe_H » Sat Aug 18, 2018 8:07 am

Welcome to the folding support forum.

The message about not finding CUDA only matters if you have a nVidia card, and is just informational. More likely the actual error message is farther down in the log. If you could post the beginning section of your log and a section showing an attempt to start folding on your GPU that would be helpful. Directions on how to find and post your log are in the Welcome Topic - viewtopic.php?f=81&t=26036.

Most likely you have only the video driver installed and need to install the OpenCL support that goes with it. OpenCL is required for the current GPU folding cores whether you are folding on an AMD or nVidia card. Easiest way to get everything is to download the drivers from AMD. There could also be other problems, those should show up in the log file.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4443
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: AMD RX 560 stuck at idle

Postby tcaud » Sat Aug 18, 2018 8:35 am

AMD Crimson is installed. Driver is current.

Driver info:
Radeon Settings Version - 2018.0516.1451.24901
Driver Packaging Version - 18.10.16-180516a-328915C-RadeonSoftwareAdrenalin
Provider - Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
2D Driver Version - 8.1.1.1634
Direct3D® Version - 9.14.10.01334
OpenGL® Version - 6.14.10.13521
OpenCL™ Version - 24.20.11016.4
AMD Mantle Version - Not Available
AMD Mantle API Version - Not Available
AMD Audio Driver Version - 7.12.0.7727
Vulkan™ Driver Version - 2.0.20
Vulkan™ API Version - 1.1.70


App log
Code: Select all
07:05:43:ERROR:FS02:'opencl-index'=0 is in use by another folding slot but GPU 0 matches this device's PCI bus=1 and PCI slot=0, please correct this by removing any manually configured 'opencl-index' options.
07:05:43:Adding folding slot 02: PAUSED gpu:0:Baffin [Polaris11] (waiting for idle)
07:05:43:Saving configuration to config.xml
07:05:43:<config>
07:05:43:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
07:05:43:  <cause v='CANCER'/>
07:05:43:
07:05:43:  <!-- Network -->
07:05:43:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
07:05:43:
07:05:43:  <!-- Slot Control -->
07:05:43:  <power v='light'/>
07:05:43:
07:05:43:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
07:05:43:  <slot id='2' type='GPU'>
07:05:43:    <gpu-index v='0'/>
07:05:43:  </slot>
07:05:43:</config>
07:05:43:FS00:Shutting core down
07:05:43:WU00:FS00:0xa7:WARNING:Console control signal 1 on PID 4940
07:05:43:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Exiting, please wait. . .
07:05:43:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Folding@home Core Shutdown: INTERRUPTED
07:05:44:WU00:FS00:FahCore returned: INTERRUPTED (102 = 0x66)
07:05:44:WARNING:WU00:Slot ID 0 no longer exists and there are no other matching slots, dumping
07:05:44:WU00:Sending unit results: id:00 state:SEND error:DUMPED project:14054 run:2 clone:52 gen:15 core:0xa7 unit:0x000000130002894b5ae3776ce8497b50
07:05:44:WU00:Connecting to 155.247.166.219:8080
07:05:45:WU00:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
07:05:45:WU00:Cleaning up
07:06:24:Saving configuration to config.xml
07:06:24:<config>
07:06:24:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
07:06:24:  <cause v='CANCER'/>
07:06:24:
07:06:24:  <!-- Network -->
07:06:24:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
07:06:24:
07:06:24:  <!-- Slot Control -->
07:06:24:  <power v='light'/>
07:06:24:
07:06:24:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
07:06:24:  <slot id='2' type='GPU'>
07:06:24:    <gpu-index v='0'/>
07:06:24:  </slot>
07:06:24:</config>
07:13:13:FS02:Finishing
07:20:46:ERROR:Receive error: 10053: An established connection was aborted by the software in your host machine.
07:21:02:ERROR:Receive error: 10053: An established connection was aborted by the software in your host machine.
07:28:46:Saving configuration to config.xml
07:28:46:<config>
07:28:46:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
07:28:46:  <cause v='CANCER'/>
07:28:46:
07:28:46:  <!-- Network -->
07:28:46:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
07:28:46:
07:28:46:  <!-- Slot Control -->
07:28:46:  <power v='light'/>
07:28:46:
07:28:46:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
07:28:46:  <slot id='2' type='GPU'>
07:28:46:    <gpu-index v='0'/>
07:28:46:    <idle v='true'/>
07:28:46:  </slot>
07:28:46:</config>


Log file
Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2018-08-18T08:47:32Z ***********************
08:47:32:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
08:47:32:        Website: https://foldingathome.org/
08:47:32:      Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
08:47:32:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
08:47:32:           Args:
08:47:32:         Config: <none>
08:47:32:******************************** Build ********************************
08:47:32:        Version: 7.5.1
08:47:32:           Date: May 11 2018
08:47:32:           Time: 13:06:32
08:47:32:     Repository: Git
08:47:32:       Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
08:47:32:         Branch: master
08:47:32:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
08:47:32:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
08:47:32:       Platform: win32 10
08:47:32:           Bits: 32
08:47:32:           Mode: Release
08:47:32:******************************* System ********************************
08:47:32:            CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz
08:47:32:         CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
08:47:32:           CPUs: 8
08:47:32:         Memory: 15.91GiB
08:47:32:    Free Memory: 10.87GiB
08:47:32:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
08:47:32:     OS Version: 6.1
08:47:32:    Has Battery: false
08:47:32:     On Battery: false
08:47:32:     UTC Offset: -4
08:47:32:            PID: 1204
08:47:32:            CWD: E:\FAHClient
08:47:32:             OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
08:47:32:        OS Arch: AMD64
08:47:32:           GPUs: 1
08:47:32:          GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 AMD:5 Baffin [Polaris11]
08:47:32:           CUDA: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'nvcuda.dll': The
08:47:32:                 specified module could not be found.
08:47:32:
08:47:32:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:2580.6
08:47:32:  Win32 Service: false
08:47:32:***********************************************************************
08:47:32:<config>
08:47:32:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
08:47:32:</config>
08:47:32:Trying to access database...
08:47:32:Successfully acquired database lock
08:47:32:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:6 (not configured)
08:47:33:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:Baffin [Polaris11] (not configured)
08:48:10:WARNING:Console control signal 2 on PID 1204
08:48:10:Exiting, please wait. . .



EDIT: this card has 1024 cores; it is Polaris 12, not Baffin. Upon inspecting GPUs.txt, it's apparent it's not there. Will request whitelist.
tcaud
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:31 am

MSI Radeon rx 560 (Polaris 12)

Postby tcaud » Sat Aug 18, 2018 9:38 am

Whitelist please?
tcaud
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:31 am

Re: AMD RX 560 stuck at idle

Postby Joe_H » Sat Aug 18, 2018 5:30 pm

I have merged your whitelist request back with the original topic. One reason is that the card appears to be whitelisted already, if it was not the client would not identify it at all. But the log shows the GPU, and not as unsupported:
Code: Select all
08:47:32:          GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 AMD:5 Baffin [Polaris11]

The client identifies GPU's by their device ID, the text information after that is just used for display purposes. In this case it is generic as AMD has reused the same device ID's for multiple cards in both the RX 400 and RX 500 series. The person who added the entry to the GPUs.txt file may have only had a minimum amount of information on how each device ID for Baffin cards was identified as by card model. You can check this by following one of the methods outlined in this topic on identifying and submitting a request to have a card added to the whitelist - viewtopic.php?f=83&t=26208#p262894.

Now there are two possibilities I can think of that might be the problem based on your log. First, did you add the card to an existing system after folding was already set up? Often the client will not get a proper scan of the hardware and not set up the GPU card slot correctly. If that is the case, finish any current WU's and then uninstall the client including data. Reinstall the client after that. Basically the way that works well for a hardware change like adding or replacing a GPU is to install the hardware, install drivers and then install the folding client.

The second possibility is the client being confused by drivers installed for the Intel integrated video. That has happened for some others where instead of using the AMD or nVidia OpenCL library the Intel library was used instead. Not sure how to check for that on Windows 7, but someone else might know.

P.S. The chip is Polaris 11 and used on more than just the RX 460/560. Baffin is the codename for the card specific configuration of the chip. I can not find any mention of a RX560 based on Polaris 12, but that could have been a recent manufacturing change.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4443
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: AMD RX 560 stuck at idle

Postby bruce » Sun Aug 19, 2018 1:29 am

I presume your monitor is connected to the GPU rather than the iGPU that's on the motherboard. If that's true, you probably don't have any reason to have the drivers for your Intel iGPU (HD Graphics 4600) installed..

What does GPU-Z tell you? Does it report information on two GPUs?

I notice that you have moved FAH's working files to E:\FAHClient but apparently you're using the pre-configured startup script which initializes FAH to the default directory and then changing to the new directory. This is probably a significant reason why you're seeing errors about
Code: Select all
08:47:32:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:6 (not configured)
08:47:33:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:Baffin [Polaris11] (not configured)


Whatever shortcut is being used to start FAH needs to have the "Start in" setting corrected.

It does look like maybe you resolved that problem before you got to your first log clip, though.
I do see 07:05:43:Adding folding slot 02: PAUSED gpu:0:Baffin [Polaris11] (waiting for idle).

Please post first few pages of the current log after a reboot.
bruce
 
Posts: 22337
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: AMD RX 560 stuck at idle

Postby tcaud » Tue Aug 21, 2018 11:32 am

After rebooting FAH has been folding for a couple days at 105k ppd w/rx 560. Thank you for your help.
tcaud
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:31 am

Re: AMD RX 560 stuck at idle

Postby JimboPalmer » Tue Aug 21, 2018 1:23 pm

Thank you for reporting back!
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 816
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA


Return to Problems with AMD/ATI drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron