Page 2 of 3

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2020 4:49 pm
by Joe_H
Since the request was redirected to 192.0.2.1, you probably have too old of a GPU or one not supporting Double Precision calculations. Assuming the identification as being a HD 6450 is correct, that does not support DP.

Within these older AMD cards the 5800 and 6900 series cards do support DP and can be used for folding.

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2020 8:48 pm
by db5fp
okay, thanks, I'll have a look on eBay
Best Regards

Frank

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2020 9:33 pm
by Joe_H
The card you get will need to support OpenCL 1.2 or higher and as mentioned DP. As a quick, and usually accurate, guide to cards which do, the List of AMD... and List of Nvidia... topics in Wikipedia can be useful.

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:49 am
by JetSetJim
Hi, I seem to be getting a similar problem with a Radeon HD 5770. The FAH client has found the device, and noted it has OpenCL1.2 support loaded, but the log says it is requesting work units from 192.0.2.1. Hunting around, I've discovered that my card doesn't support DP - does that mean it can't be used for FAH at all?

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 2:01 pm
by Joe_H
Yes, unfortunately the 5770 can not be used. For that era of card AMD only supported DP on the highest end cards such as the 5800 and 6900 series.

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 9:24 pm
by JetSetJim
Joe_H wrote:Yes, unfortunately the 5770 can not be used. For that era of card AMD only supported DP on the highest end cards such as the 5800 and 6900 series.

Mildly annoying - no budget for PC upgrade :(

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 6:34 pm
by Joe_H
Understand the annoyance, but tech keeps marching on and obsoleting older tech.

Up until last year the 5770 could be used for folding, but the projects that only used SP on the GPU ended. There was a decision pending on whether those cards should be marked as unsupported, or if some projects would be coming along that did not need part of the calculations done in DP. Then this came along, and there are still cards marked as supported, but no work that can be assigned to them.

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 10:53 am
by NetoriusNick
Hi NOOB to this as well looks like I am in the same boat as above, have Nividia:0 G98 [Geforce 8400 GS] and AMD:4 [Radeon HD 5400/6300/7350/8350]. that can not be used at the moment by failing to 192.0.2.1 for WU assignment. Is there a way that these can get allowed to perform taskes. Or if needs be benchmarked to see if they have the performance?

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 2:36 pm
by Neil-B
The G98 [Geforce 8400 GS] is not as it doesn't do double precision floating point.

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 2:43 pm
by Neil-B
None of the Radeon codes appear not to do double precision floating point either … So (if I have checked correctly https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/ feel free to double check) unfortunately the cards aren't up to spec.

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 3:48 pm
by NetoriusNick
Thanks Neil, no worries just have to add all my other machines to the cause. Have bunch of old servers hannging arround, hope I can add them and find some cheep cards to add.
Any advice?

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 6:20 pm
by Neil-B
tbh I am for the most part a CPU folder - neither my server graphics card or my workstation laptop card add much/anything to the cause and spend most of the time paused with no WU … others may advise on the best options for GPU though.

- "paused" unless of course I do as I did today and power down the server forgetting I had a paused GPU slot - which started on reboot and is not gently crawling through a WU at about a thirtieth of the ppd of my CPU slots … it will finish before expiry (just), but someone will no doubt get it and time out and beat me to it by quite a margin!!

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2020 10:42 am
by Farge
Hi everyone,

my Cypress-based GPU is still not getting WUs despite the fact it supports OpenCL 1.2 and DP (it's an AMD Radeon 5870), while it did in the past (and was also crunching quite fast). I have the same error as the first poster:

09:02:29:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:0:Cypress [Radeon HD 5800/6800]
09:02:29:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:80
09:02:30:WU00:FS01:Assigned to work server 192.0.2.1
09:02:30:WU00:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:Cypress [Radeon HD 5800/6800] from 192.0.2.1
09:02:30:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 192.0.2.1:8080
09:02:35:17:127.0.0.1:New Web session
09:02:51:WARNING:WU00:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
09:03:13:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Failed to connect to 192.0.2.1:80: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.

Here is the tech data:

Device ID : 1002 6898 - 1002 0B00
Revision ID: 00

Is it possible to add my GPU to species 5 ones?

Thank you very much
Enrico

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2020 5:23 pm
by Joe_H
It should be possible, but you may need to run a driver that is not the most recent. There are reports that AMD has removed OpenCL support from the more recent drivers that support the older Terascale cards such as the 5870.

Post a request here - viewforum.php?f=83 - with the details on the card.

Re: Problems obtaining GPU WU

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2020 7:57 pm
by Farge
Hi Joe_H,

thank you for your reply. Good to know about the drivers, mine are quite seasoned (15.7.1, in theory the latest supporting my card with OpenCL) but in case they wouldn't work I'll look for good ones.
I'm opening a new thread at the link you gave me, same tech data I indicated here, or more needed?

Thank you again
E.

*edit* I'm quite new to this sorry, I've just had a look at the gpu.txt file and it looks like there's already something very similar:
0x1002:0x6898:1:2:Cypress [Radeon HD 5800/6800]
but maybe something is different since it's not getting WUs so I'm posting a request in any case