Folding on a ATI Raedon HD 4550 GPU?

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though AMD has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Folding on a ATI Raedon HD 4550 GPU?

Postby OPCG_SpartanGolf6 » Wed Apr 15, 2020 8:40 pm

I have a spare office style desktop that I built for coding on, and obviously I wanted to have it fold while I'm not coding on it. It has an ATI Radeon HD 4550 GPU (Gigabyte card with no fans, uses passive cooling from the airflow within the case). I have it on the newest drivers available, the 2D driver is 8.01.01.1248, the 3D driver is 7.14.10.0911, the BIOS is from 2009 and is version 011.022.007.004. The graphics card has 512MB of GDDR3, with a slight OC on the core clock and memory clock of an additional 20mhz on both the core and memory clocks when in 'high performance' settings.

Has anyone else gotten an ATI Radeon HD 4550 to work with Folding at Home? I understand that this is a 12-year-old GPU that wasn't made for 3D gaming, and the Folding at Home software uses the 3D graphics function of a GPU
OPCG_SpartanGolf6
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:45 am

Re: Folding on a ATI Raedon HD 4550 GPU?

Postby Joe_H » Wed Apr 15, 2020 8:58 pm

The HD 4000 series have been blacklisted for folding ever since the first of the current GPU folding cores based on OpenCL were released. There was a brief period under an older core where it was usable, then AMD deprecated the programming resources used in favor of OpenCL, but that was about 10 years ago.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6446
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Folding on a ATI Raedon HD 4550 GPU?

Postby JimboPalmer » Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:26 pm

Welcome to Folding@Home!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_F ... ores#GPU_2

Core_11 ran on ATI graphic cards supporting Brook, an early API for computing on GPUs. F@H gave up on Brook and embraced OpenCL in Core_16.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BrookGPU

It is a very weak card that does not support OpenCL 1.2 or Double Precision floating point math, both prerequisites to folding in Core_21 or Core_22.

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/r ... -4550.c232

It is about 17 times slower than the cheapest current graphics card the GT 1030.

(While I dis it as too slow to fold, you cannot out type the graphics!)
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 1960
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Folding on a ATI Raedon HD 4550 GPU?

Postby Neil-B » Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:49 pm

Regrettably it won't GPU fold … but you might try a CPU slot - which even running on all cores shouldn't impact your coding as it will be on low priority … It might not be fast but you may find you can complete WUs before the expiry deadline (it probably won't make the Timeout, which is the point at which the WU is released to another folder) but it might be worth a try if you want to.
1: 2x Xeon E5-2697v3@2.60GHz, 512GB DDR4 LRDIMM, SSD Raid, Win10 Ent, Quadro K420 1GB, FAH 7.6.13
2: Xeon E3-1505Mv5@2.80GHz, 32GB DDR4, NVME, Win10 Pro, Quadro M1000M 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
3: i7-960@3.20GHz, 12GB DDR3, SSD, Win10 Pro, GTX 750Ti 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
Neil-B
 
Posts: 1204
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: Folding on a ATI Raedon HD 4550 GPU?

Postby OPCG_SpartanGolf6 » Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:38 pm

Okay! Thank you. I might be able to code with the CPU folding, but it is older (predictable with the GPU I have, lol). It's an AMD Athlon II X4 640, with 4 core, 4 threads, but I don't code 24/7 as I'm an amateur coder. When I'm not coding I use my gaming laptop for, predicably, gaming.
OPCG_SpartanGolf6
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:45 am

Re: Folding on a ATI Raedon HD 4550 GPU?

Postby PantherX » Wed Apr 15, 2020 11:41 pm

OPCG_SpartanGolf6 wrote:...I understand that this is a 12-year-old GPU that wasn't made for 3D gaming, and the Folding at Home software uses the 3D graphics function of a GPU

Please note that F@H doesn't heavily use the "rendering" components of the GPU, instead it uses the compute function of the GPUs. In other words, folding requires OpenCL while games require OpenGL code.

OPCG_SpartanGolf6 wrote:...It's an AMD Athlon II X4 640, with 4 core, 4 threads, but I don't code 24/7 as I'm an amateur coder. When I'm not coding I use my gaming laptop for, predicably, gaming.

If you choose to fold using 4 CPUs, it would be fine assuming you run that system 24/7. However, if you fold for few hours a day, please keep on eye on the the Timeout data since it would be preferred that you finish the assigned WU by before that date.

Regarding your laptop, you can fold on the CPU too and even adjust the number of threads to ensure that the heat/noise levels are acceptable to you.

If you need further help, please post your log file: viewtopic.php?f=81&t=26036 :)
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6334
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud


Return to Problems with AMD/ATI drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron