RX 580 not folding

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though AMD has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

RX 580 not folding

Postby Yixxo » Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:08 pm

Hey, so I started folding today but wanted to use my gpu. The thing is only my CPU is folding gpu is doing nothing
Yixxo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:05 pm

Re: RX 580 not folding

Postby JimboPalmer » Thu Jul 30, 2020 3:27 pm

Welcome to Folding@Home!

If you post the first 200 lines of your log, it will show us your PC's hardware, your PC's OS, and your PC's configuration.

Here is a tutorial on how to do that.

viewtopic.php?f=24&t=26036


Knowing as little as I do, all I can recommend is new drivers straight from AMD.

https://www.amd.com/en/support/graphics ... eon-rx-580
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 2031
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: RX 580 not folding

Postby Yixxo » Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:07 pm

So here is the thing, I noticed it was doing something but wasn't sure if it really did anything because my Task Manager showed the GPU usage at like 3% while it was supposed to be folding on the Full setting. Just now I opened AMD control panel and noticed the GPU usage displayed correctly. So it's all good. But thanks anyways!
Yixxo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:05 pm

Re: RX 580 not folding

Postby Neil-B » Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:16 pm

Task Manager "lies" ... or at least its default setup miss directs you ... if you click the little arrow thing next to each of the charts you can set them to chart different values - iirc one of these will show full GPU usage.
1: 2x Xeon E5-2697v3@2.60GHz, 512GB DDR4 LRDIMM, SSD Raid, Win10 Ent, Quadro K420 1GB, FAH 7.6.13
2: Xeon E3-1505Mv5@2.80GHz, 32GB DDR4, NVME, Win10 Pro, Quadro M1000M 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
3: i7-960@3.20GHz, 12GB DDR3, SSD, Win10 Pro, GTX 750Ti 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
Neil-B
 
Posts: 1405
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: RX 580 not folding

Postby Joe_H » Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:22 pm

That chart setting is usually Compute 0 or Compute 1 for AMD cards. Depending on which version and patch level of Windows it is the same for nVidia, or the CUDA chart is available and gives that info.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6578
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA


Return to Problems with AMD/ATI drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron