Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Post requests to add new GPUs to the official whitelist here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby gsxryan » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:33 am

Name: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070
Device ID: 10DE 1F07-3842 2172
TechPowerUp link;
Code: Select all
https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/evga-rtx-2070-xc.b6327


--lspci
Code: Select all
0x10de:0x1f07:NVIDIA Corporation:NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070


predicted GPUs.txt prefix- not sure of the post-fix;
Code: Select all
0x10de:0x1f07:2:7:TU106-400A-A1 [Geforce RTX 2070]


RTX 2070 not being detected in logfile;
Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2018-10-22T03:16:41Z ***********************
03:16:41:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
03:16:41:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
03:16:41:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
03:16:41:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
03:16:41:         Args: --open-web-control
03:16:41:       Config: C:/Users/rcurt/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/config.xml
03:16:41:******************************** Build ********************************
03:16:41:      Version: 7.4.4
03:16:41:         Date: Mar 4 2014
03:16:41:         Time: 20:26:54
03:16:41:      SVN Rev: 4130
03:16:41:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
03:16:41:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
03:16:41:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
03:16:41:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
03:16:41:     Platform: win32 XP
03:16:41:         Bits: 32
03:16:41:         Mode: Release
03:16:41:******************************* System ********************************
03:16:41:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
03:16:41:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 94 Stepping 3
03:16:41:         CPUs: 8
03:16:41:       Memory: 15.94GiB
03:16:41:  Free Memory: 12.75GiB
03:16:41:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
03:16:41:   OS Version: 6.2
03:16:41:  Has Battery: false
03:16:41:   On Battery: false
03:16:41:   UTC Offset: -5
03:16:41:          PID: 15308
03:16:41:          CWD: C:/Users/rcurt/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
03:16:41:           OS: Windows 10 Enterprise
03:16:41:      OS Arch: AMD64
03:16:41:         GPUs: 1
03:16:41:        GPU 0: NVIDIA:7 GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380
03:16:41:         CUDA: 7.5
03:16:41:  CUDA Driver: 10000
03:16:41:Win32 Service: false
03:16:41:***********************************************************************
03:16:41:Trying to access database...
03:16:41:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 (by user)
03:16:41:ERROR:Exception: No available GPUs
03:16:42:ERROR:WU00:FS02:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
03:16:42:ERROR:WU00:FS02:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
03:17:42:ERROR:WU00:FS02:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
03:19:19:ERROR:WU00:FS02:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
03:21:56:ERROR:WU00:FS02:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
03:26:11:ERROR:WU00:FS02:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
gsxryan
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:21 am

Re: Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby doune » Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:40 am

Mine has a different ID so I'll post it as well.

Code: Select all
0x10de:0x1f02:1:0:0:NVIDIA Corporation:NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070


Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2018-10-23T00:20:10Z ***********************
00:20:10:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
00:20:10:        Website: https://foldingathome.org/
00:20:10:      Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
00:20:10:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
00:20:10:           Args: --open-web-control
00:20:10:         Config: F:\FAHClient\config.xml
00:20:10:******************************** Build ********************************
00:20:10:        Version: 7.5.1
00:20:10:           Date: May 11 2018
00:20:10:           Time: 13:06:32
00:20:10:     Repository: Git
00:20:10:       Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
00:20:10:         Branch: master
00:20:10:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
00:20:10:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
00:20:10:       Platform: win32 10
00:20:10:           Bits: 32
00:20:10:           Mode: Release
00:20:10:******************************* System ********************************
00:20:10:            CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4930K CPU @ 3.40GHz
00:20:10:         CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 62 Stepping 4
00:20:10:           CPUs: 12
00:20:10:         Memory: 15.94GiB
00:20:10:    Free Memory: 12.28GiB
00:20:10:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
00:20:10:     OS Version: 6.2
00:20:10:    Has Battery: false
00:20:10:     On Battery: false
00:20:10:     UTC Offset: -5
00:20:10:            PID: 13720
00:20:10:            CWD: F:\FAHClient
00:20:10:             OS: Windows 10 Enterprise
00:20:10:        OS Arch: AMD64
00:20:10:           GPUs: 0
00:20:10:  CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:7.5 Driver:10.0
00:20:10:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:416.34
00:20:10:  Win32 Service: false
00:20:10:***********************************************************************
00:20:10:<config>
00:20:10:  <!-- Slot Control -->
00:20:10:  <power v='FULL'/>
00:20:10:
00:20:10:  <!-- User Information -->
00:20:10:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
00:20:10:  <team v='233892'/>
00:20:10:  <user v='morphal'/>
00:20:10:
00:20:10:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
00:20:10:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
00:20:10:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
00:20:10:</config>
00:20:10:Trying to access database...
00:20:10:Successfully acquired database lock
00:20:10:Enabled folding slot 00: READY cpu:11
00:20:10:ERROR:Exception: No available GPUs
00:20:10:ERROR:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
00:20:10:WU01:FS00:Starting
00:20:10:WARNING:WU01:FS00:AS lowered CPUs from 11 to 10
00:20:10:WU01:FS00:Running FahCore: E:\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe F:\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/AVX/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 13720 -checkpoint 15 -np 10
00:20:10:WU01:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 3588
00:20:12:WU01:FS00:Core PID:1692
00:20:12:WU01:FS00:FahCore 0xa7 started
00:20:12:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:*********************** Log Started 2018-10-23T00:20:12Z ***********************
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:************************** Gromacs Folding@home Core ***************************
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Type: 0xa7
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Core: Gromacs
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:    Website: https://foldingathome.org/
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:  Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Args: -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 3588 -checkpoint 15 -np
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:             10
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     Config: <none>
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:************************************ Build *************************************
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:    Version: 0.0.17
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Date: Apr 27 2018
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Time: 16:19:36
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7: Repository: Git
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:   Revision: 21359963583d09ec2063ef946399441c4df4ccd7
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     Branch: master
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:   Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:    Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: win32 10
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       SIMD: avx_256
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:************************************ System ************************************
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:        CPU: Unknown
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     CPU ID:
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       CPUs: 12
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     Memory: 15.94GiB
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Free Memory: 12.16GiB
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:    Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7: OS Version: 6.2
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Has Battery: false
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7: On Battery: false
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7: UTC Offset: -5
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:        PID: 1692
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:        CWD: F:\FAHClient\work
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:         OS: Windows 10 Pro
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:    OS Arch: AMD64
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:********************************************************************************
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Project: 14122 (Run 32, Clone 34, Gen 6)
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Unit: 0x000000060002894c5baa9330b5fd3332
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Digital signatures verified
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Calling: mdrun -s frame6.tpr -o frame6.trr -cpi state.cpt -cpt 15 -nt 10
00:20:13:WU00:FS01:Assigned to work server 128.252.203.4
00:20:13:WU00:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot
00:20:13:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
00:20:13:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Steps: first=15000000 total=2500000
00:20:13:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
00:20:13:8:127.0.0.1:New Web connection
00:20:13:WU00:FS01:Assigned to work server 155.247.166.220
00:20:13:WU00:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot
00:20:13:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
doune
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:37 pm

Re: Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby bruce » Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:27 am

It seems that NV is releasing a variety of [DIFFERENT[i] versions of the RTX 20*0

Do you know if your RTX2070 contains a TU106-400-A1 chip or a TU106-400A-A1
bruce
 
Posts: 21679
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby gsxryan » Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:59 pm

Mine is listed as TU106-400A-A1
gsxryan
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:21 am

Re: Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby doune » Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:17 am

I believe mine is also a TU106-400A-A1. However, I have yet to find an authoritative source of this information. Am I overlooking something?

If not, I've already got a ticket in with eVGA support so they should be getting back to me.
doune
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:37 pm

Re: Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby gsxryan » Wed Oct 24, 2018 2:12 am

It seems 'A' is a binned revision. Non-'A' chips must be the unlucky silicon lottery models.
gsxryan
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:21 am

Re: Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby doune » Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:24 am

TU106-400A-A1 for mine, confirmed with the mfg
doune
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:37 pm

Re: Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby toTOW » Thu Oct 25, 2018 8:22 pm

For all RTX boards, the rule is that "A" chip should be used in factory overclocked cards and non "A" chips should be used in card using references clocks.

But it doesn't matter for FAH, so there's no need to identify them more precisely than just their RTX 20x0 commercial name.
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8499
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby gsxryan » Fri Oct 26, 2018 4:07 pm

Anything outstanding, the project needs to add, that I can help with?

I tested with the updated gpus.txt, but it will not load.
gsxryan
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:21 am

Re: Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby toTOW » Sat Oct 27, 2018 8:22 pm

Yeah something was wrong, I corrected the mistake, it should work better now.

edit : something is still wrong but it's beyond my control ... I'll let you know when I get it fixed.
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8499
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby doune » Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:26 pm

I manually added my 2070 to my own GPUs.txt. At first, it didn't get any jobs at all (which is how it's designed, I know) but it at least got rid of the errors and I could actually use the interface again.

Now, it gets a job but it's incredibly, incredibly slow.

Getting rid of the error was the super useful bit though; the current progress isn't enough to matter and I've disabled it in the short term until the card is properly added.
doune
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:37 pm

Re: Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby gsxryan » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:02 pm

Doune, I see you have CPU enabled in the posted config. My GPUs have done that before when not enough CPU power is reserved for the GPU. In my experience it needs 1 physical core. 1core/+1thread if it's multithreaded. I see GPUs.txt updated again since I tested last, will try again soon.
gsxryan
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:21 am

Re: Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby doune » Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:08 pm

I have two cores reserved for the GPU and my old card (a now-antiquated 660) was getting 50k+ so there's really no reason a 2070 would get trash numbers like this other than it's not being properly utilized.

That's fine though, I understand it's a work in progress.
doune
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:37 pm

Re: Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby bruce » Mon Oct 29, 2018 4:25 pm

doune wrote:I manually added my 2070 to my own GPUs.txt. At first, it didn't get any jobs at all (which is how it's designed, I know) but it at least got rid of the errors and I could actually use the interface again.

Now, it gets a job but it's incredibly, incredibly slow.


1) As posted above:
toTOW wrote:something is still wrong but it's beyond my control ... I'll let you know when I get it fixed.

and as you already said, you can't add entries to your own file until we can add them to the master file.

2) Running "incredibly slow" probably means your system has a configured version of OpenCL that uses your CPU (or your old GPU) in spite of FAH's failure to configure a supported NVidia or AMD device for OpenCL.

If the WU is still active, I'd be interested in the science log which a couple levels down from (FAH DataDirectory)/work
bruce
 
Posts: 21679
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Please add Nvidia RTX 2070 to GPU Whitelist

Postby gsxryan » Tue Oct 30, 2018 2:04 am

I added the updated GPUs.txt file with the latest addition (0x4318:0x1f02:0:7:TU106-400-A1 [GeForce RTX 2070] M 6497
0x4318:0x1f07:0:7:TU106-400-A1 [GeForce RTX 2070] M 6497)

But still see No GPUs available to add. How are we notified when it has been added to whitelist? Or, has it already been added, but not working, since my GPU is a 400A-A*?
gsxryan
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:21 am

Next

Return to New GPUs (whitelist)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron