GPUs.txt

Post requests to add new GPUs to the official whitelist here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Uzig
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 11:17 am

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by Uzig »

Hiya, would need to get my EVGA GTX580 whitelisted, device id: 10DE-1089
This device id doesn't seem to be listed at the moment, old v6 fah gpu works just fine with my gpus.
7im
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by 7im »

ID 1089 is requested as one of many in ticket 883.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
Uzig
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 11:17 am

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by Uzig »

Great! Thanks
Amaruk
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 3:57 am
Location: Watching from the Woods

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by Amaruk »

This was interesting.

Figured I would try folding on my new GTX 680, so I added GPUs.txt to get V7 to recognize it.

Code: Select all

*********************** Log Started 2012-04-12T21:40:52Z ***********************
21:40:52:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
21:40:52:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
21:40:52:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2012 Stanford University
21:40:52:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
21:40:52:         Args: --lifeline 4472 --command-port=36330
21:40:52:       Config: C:/Users/Fuzzy/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/config.xml
21:40:52:******************************** Build ********************************
21:40:52:      Version: 7.1.52
21:40:52:         Date: Mar 20 2012
21:40:52:         Time: 19:37:42
21:40:52:      SVN Rev: 3515
21:40:52:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
21:40:52:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
21:40:52:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
21:40:52:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT
21:40:52:     Platform: win32 XP
21:40:52:         Bits: 32
21:40:52:         Mode: Release
21:40:52:******************************* System ********************************
21:40:52:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 930 @ 2.80GHz
21:40:52:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 26 Stepping 5
21:40:52:         CPUs: 8
21:40:52:       Memory: 5.99GiB
21:40:52:  Free Memory: 4.72GiB
21:40:52:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
21:40:52:   On Battery: false
21:40:52:   UTC offset: -7
21:40:52:          PID: 2540
21:40:52:          CWD: C:/Users/Fuzzy/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
21:40:52:           OS: Windows 7 Professional
21:40:52:      OS Arch: AMD64
21:40:52:         GPUs: 2
21:40:52:        GPU 0: FERMI:1 GK104 [Geforce GTX680]
21:40:52:        GPU 1: FERMI:1 GF114 [GeForce GTX 680]
21:40:52:         CUDA: 3.0
21:40:52:  CUDA Driver: 4020
21:40:52:Win32 Service: false
21:40:52:***********************************************************************
21:40:52:<config>
21:40:52:  <!-- Network -->
21:40:52:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
21:40:52:
21:40:52:  <!-- Slot Control -->
21:40:52:  <pause-on-start v='true'/>
21:40:52:
21:40:52:  <!-- User Information -->
21:40:52:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
21:40:52:  <team v='50625'/>
21:40:52:  <user v='Amaruk'/>
21:40:52:
21:40:52:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
21:40:52:  <slot id='0' type='SMP'>
21:40:52:    <cpus v='-1'/>
21:40:52:  </slot>
21:40:52:</config>
21:40:52:Trying to access database...
21:40:52:Successfully acquired database lock
21:40:52:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED smp:8
21:40:54:Server connection id=1 on 0.0.0.0:36330 from 127.0.0.1
Only have one GTX 680.

Checking contents of GPUs.txt reveals the 2 entries my (single) GPU was identified as.

0x10de:0x0e0a:3:1:GK104 [Geforce GTX680]

0x10de:0x1180:3:1:GF114 [GeForce GTX 680]

Since it's GF114, the second seems like the obvious choice. Deleting all but that line from GPUs.txt does the trick.

Code: Select all

*********************** Log Started 2012-04-12T22:21:25Z ***********************
22:21:25:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
22:21:25:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
22:21:25:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2012 Stanford University
22:21:25:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
22:21:25:         Args: --lifeline 4868 --command-port=36330
22:21:25:       Config: C:/Users/Fuzzy/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/config.xml
22:21:25:******************************** Build ********************************
22:21:25:      Version: 7.1.52
22:21:25:         Date: Mar 20 2012
22:21:25:         Time: 19:37:42
22:21:25:      SVN Rev: 3515
22:21:25:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
22:21:25:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
22:21:25:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
22:21:25:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT
22:21:25:     Platform: win32 XP
22:21:25:         Bits: 32
22:21:25:         Mode: Release
22:21:25:******************************* System ********************************
22:21:25:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 930 @ 2.80GHz
22:21:25:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 26 Stepping 5
22:21:25:         CPUs: 8
22:21:25:       Memory: 5.99GiB
22:21:25:  Free Memory: 4.66GiB
22:21:25:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
22:21:25:   On Battery: false
22:21:25:   UTC offset: -7
22:21:25:          PID: 2156
22:21:25:          CWD: C:/Users/Fuzzy/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
22:21:25:           OS: Windows 7 Professional
22:21:25:      OS Arch: AMD64
22:21:25:         GPUs: 1
22:21:25:        GPU 0: FERMI:1 GF114 [GeForce GTX 680]
22:21:25:         CUDA: 3.0
22:21:25:  CUDA Driver: 4020
22:21:25:Win32 Service: false
22:21:25:***********************************************************************
22:21:25:<config>
22:21:25:  <!-- Network -->
22:21:25:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
22:21:25:
22:21:25:  <!-- Slot Control -->
22:21:25:  <pause-on-start v='true'/>
22:21:25:
22:21:25:  <!-- User Information -->
22:21:25:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
22:21:25:  <team v='50625'/>
22:21:25:  <user v='Amaruk'/>
22:21:25:
22:21:25:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
22:21:25:  <slot id='0' type='SMP'>
22:21:25:    <cpus v='-1'/>
22:21:25:  </slot>
22:21:25:</config>
22:21:25:Trying to access database...
22:21:25:Successfully acquired database lock
22:21:25:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED smp:8
22:21:28:Server connection id=1 on 0.0.0.0:36330 from 127.0.0.1
However, just to be sure I ran fahclient --lspci

0x10de:0x0e0a:NVIDIA Corporation:High Definition Audio Controller
0x10de:0x1180:NVIDIA Corporation:GF114 [GeForce GTX 680]

That bolded ID might look familiar.

0x10de:0x0e0a:3:1:GK104 [Geforce GTX680]

AFAIK, GK104 hasn't been released yet. Might be prudent to strike that entry so someone else doesn't try folding on their High Definition Audio Controller... :wink:


The other potential issue never even came to light until after reading this thread.
friedrim wrote:You need v2.24 of Core_15 to run on the new NVIDIA boards (Keplers); this version is currently only in beta.
jimmyyang207 wrote:How to assign v2.24 of Core_15? thx for help :D
7im wrote:Join the beta team, then use the beta team setting. client-type = beta
So we have open, public instruction on how to enable folding on the GTX 680, but the core needed is only available to beta members? Really? :roll:
Image
7im
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by 7im »

They were not public instructions so much as information that could be found publicly anyway.

No one explained how to join the beta team or how to add that setting, and it came with a strong warning about running beta while not on the beta team.

And the core is downloaded to any client running the beta switch, no membership required, only strongly recommended.

So yes, really! Hence the more informational and user friendly (while slightly more risky) publically read only beta team forum section. ;)
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
Biffa
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:40 pm
Hardware configuration: RTX2080Ti
Threadripper 1950X
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by Biffa »

Amaruk wrote:This was interesting.
AFAIK, GK104 hasn't been released yet. Might be prudent to strike that entry so someone else doesn't try folding on their High Definition Audio Controller... :wink:
No the GK104 _IS_ released, its what your GTX 680 is. The K is for Kepler

The GF114 (notice the F for Fermi) is the GTX 560 Ti
Image
piropeople13
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:38 pm

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by piropeople13 »

I would like to get my GTX 555 whitelisted since I figured out you can't just add GPUs to the whitelist for your local client and expect it to work. Here is what I tried to add to the GPUs.txt at the advice of another forum member

0x10de:0x1206:3:1:GF116 [GeForce GTX 555]

Image

That has the PCI ID right? I don't know how to make a ticket to get it added so any help doing that would be appreciated.
7im
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by 7im »

3 of the 4 known 555s have their PCI ID already added to the Whitelist and hence the GPUs.txt file. And there is a ticket open to have the 4th one added. Patience is the next step... ;)
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
Jejking
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 3:04 pm

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by Jejking »

1002-683F, Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 Ultimate.

Edit: nvm, it is supported? Dropped the GPUs.txt in the wrong folder, let's see if this works!

Edit: works!
AndreworNIL
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:00 am
Hardware configuration: First PC: Intel Core I5-2500, 2x4GB DDR3 RAM, ASUS P8P67, W764, Running SMP & GPU
Second PC: Intel C2D E4400, 2x512MB DDR2-6400 RAM, ASUS P5B, W2K3 SP2, GT 250, Running GPU client + standart client

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by AndreworNIL »

Just got GeForce GT 610 from ASUS. And it is not recognized by FAH. It become kind of tradition for me ;). Well, I think I know what to do...

fahclient --lspci output follows:

Code: Select all

VendorID:DeviceID:Vendor Name:Description
0x10de:0x0e08:NVIDIA Corporation:Microsoft UAA Bus Driver for High Definition Audio
0x10de:0x104a:NVIDIA Corporation:NVIDIA GeForce GT 610
0x10ec:0x8168:Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.:Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC
0x8086:0x244e:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 82801 PCI Bridge - 244E
0x8086:0x2810:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) ICH8/ICH8R Family LPC Interface Controller - 2810
0x8086:0x2824:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 82801HB SATA AHCI Controller
0x8086:0x2830:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2830
0x8086:0x2831:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2831
0x8086:0x2832:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2832
0x8086:0x2834:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2834
0x8086:0x2835:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2835
0x8086:0x2836:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 2836
0x8086:0x283a:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 283A
0x8086:0x283e:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) ICH8 Family SMBus Controller - 283E
0x8086:0x283f:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) ICH8 Family PCI Express Root Port 1 - 283F
0x8086:0x2845:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) ICH8 Family PCI Express Root Port 4 - 2845
0x8086:0x284b:Intel Corporation:Microsoft UAA Bus Driver for High Definition Audio
0x8086:0x29a0:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) P965/G965 Processor to I/O Controller - 29A0
0x8086:0x29a1:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) P965/G965 PCI Express Root Port - 29A1
Hope it get whitelisted soon.
7im
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by 7im »

I just added all the new 6xx devices, found in the latest driver, to a list that will be submitted for whitelisting, including that 610.


0x10de:0x0F00:3:1:GK107 [GeForce GT 630]
0x10de:0x0F01:3:1:GF116 [GeForce GT 620]
0x10de:0x0FC1:3:1:GK107 [GeForce GT 640]
0x10de:0x0FC2:3:1:GK107 [GeForce GT 630]
0x10de:0x104A:3:1:GF116 [GeForce GT 610]
0x10de:0x1207:3:1:GK107 [GeForce GT 645]
0x10de:0x1249:3:1:GF106 [GeForce GTS 450]
0x10de:0x124B:3:1:GK107 [GeForce GT 640]


Note this is only the NV list, not any from the OEMs. I'm sure there will be more trickling in...
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
Xavier Zepherious
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:02 am

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by Xavier Zepherious »

GTX670 FTW listed at as GK107
so is the 690 listed (gk107)

while a 660ti listed as GK104

aren't these reversed?
7im
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by 7im »

You'll need to post the specific IDs. Are these the three?

0x10de:0x1189:2:3:GK107 [GeForce GTX 670]
0x10de:0x1188:2:3:GK107 [GeForce GTX 690]
0x10de:0x1183:2:3:GK104 [GeForce GTX 660 Ti]

And you say they should look like this?

0x10de:0x1189:2:3:GK104 [GeForce GTX 670]
0x10de:0x1188:2:3:GK104 [GeForce GTX 690]
0x10de:0x1183:2:3:GK104 [GeForce GTX 660 Ti]
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
Xavier Zepherious
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:02 am

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by Xavier Zepherious »

0x10de:0x1180:2:2:GF114 [GeForce GTX 680]
0x10de:0x1183:2:3:GK104 [GeForce GTX 660 Ti]
0x10de:0x1185:2:3:GK106 [GeForce GTX 660]
0x10de:0x1188:2:3:GK107 [GeForce GTX 690]
0x10de:0x1189:2:3:GK107 [GeForce GTX 670]


should look like this
0x10de:0x1189:2:3:GK104 [GeForce GTX 670]
0x10de:0x1188:2:3:GK104 [GeForce GTX 690]
0x10de:0x1183:2:3:GK104 [GeForce GTX 660 Ti] (at least I think it's 104 the 660 is 106)
0x10de:0x1180:2:2:Gk104 [GeForce GTX 680]

whenever you do fix it

I suppose I could just fix my GPU list to sport the correct info
7im
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: GPUs.txt

Post by 7im »

Changes added to an existing trac ticket.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
Post Reply