ATI:AMD FirePro V4900

Post requests to add new GPUs to the official whitelist here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

ATI:AMD FirePro V4900

Postby WanderingCowboy » Fri Oct 04, 2013 12:36 pm

I recently came across a pair of V4900s, but can't seem to get them folding. As far as I can tell they are in the whitelist, and I downloaded the most recent whitelist into my FAHClient folder. I do get an "Empty work server" message in the logs. Does this just mean that for the past couple of months there has been no work that the V4900 can do? At the beginning of my log, it does say these are unsupported, but then they're also in the whitelist... so I don't know! :P I've tried to update the drivers as much as possible. Below is a good portion of my log. Any help would be much appreciated!

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2013-10-04T11:24:37Z ***********************
11:24:37:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
11:24:37:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
11:24:37:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2013 Stanford University
11:24:37:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
11:24:37:         Args: --open-web-control
11:24:37:       Config: C:/Users/acg/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/config.xml
11:24:37:******************************** Build ********************************
11:24:37:      Version: 7.3.6
11:24:37:         Date: Feb 18 2013
11:24:37:         Time: 15:25:17
11:24:37:      SVN Rev: 3923
11:24:37:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
11:24:37:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
11:24:37:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
11:24:37:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
11:24:37:     Platform: win32 XP
11:24:37:         Bits: 32
11:24:37:         Mode: Release
11:24:37:******************************* System ********************************
11:24:37:          CPU: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-1650 0 @ 3.20GHz
11:24:37:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 45 Stepping 7
11:24:37:         CPUs: 12
11:24:37:       Memory: 7.96GiB
11:24:37:  Free Memory: 4.43GiB
11:24:37:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
11:24:37:  Has Battery: false
11:24:37:   On Battery: false
11:24:37:   UTC offset: -4
11:24:37:          PID: 5728
11:24:37:          CWD: C:/Users/acg/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
11:24:37:           OS: Windows 7 Professional
11:24:37:      OS Arch: AMD64
11:24:37:         GPUs: 2
11:24:37:        GPU 0: UNSUPPORTED: AMD FirePro V4900
11:24:37:        GPU 1: UNSUPPORTED: AMD FirePro V4900
11:24:37:         CUDA: Not detected
11:24:37:Win32 Service: false
11:24:37:***********************************************************************
11:24:37:<config>
11:24:37:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
11:24:37:  <power v='full'/>
11:24:37:
11:24:37:  <!-- Network -->
11:24:37:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
11:24:37:
11:24:37:  <!-- User Information -->
11:24:37:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
11:24:37:  <team v='182116'/>
11:24:37:  <user v='WanderingCowboy'/>
11:24:37:
11:24:37:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
11:24:37:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
11:24:37:    <cpus v='11'/>
11:24:37:  </slot>
11:24:37:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
11:24:37:    <gpu-index v='0'/>
11:24:37:  </slot>
11:24:37:  <slot id='3' type='GPU'>
11:24:37:    <gpu-index v='1'/>
11:24:37:    <opencl-index v='1'/>
11:24:37:  </slot>
11:24:37:</config>
11:24:37:Trying to access database...
11:24:37:Successfully acquired database lock
11:24:37:Enabled folding slot 00: READY cpu:11
11:24:37:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:0:AMD FirePro V4900
11:24:37:Enabled folding slot 03: READY gpu:1:AMD FirePro V4900
11:24:37:WU01:FS00:Starting
11:24:37:WU01:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/acg/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a3.fah/FahCore_a3.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 5728 -checkpoint 15 -np 11
11:24:37:WU01:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 1336
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:Core PID:7064
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:FahCore 0xa3 started
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:*------------------------------*
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Preparing to commence simulation
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:- Looking at optimizations...
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:- Files status OK
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:- Expanded 1930811 -> 2865272 (decompressed 148.3 percent)
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=1930811 data_size=2865272, decompressed_data_size=2865272 diff=0
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:- Digital signature verified
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Project: 7514 (Run 0, Clone 79, Gen 304)
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Assembly optimizations on if available.
11:24:38:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Entering M.D.
11:24:38:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
11:24:38:WU03:FS03:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
11:24:38:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:24:38:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
11:24:38:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
11:24:38:WU03:FS03:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:24:38:WARNING:WU03:FS03:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
11:24:38:WU03:FS03:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
11:24:39:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:24:39:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
11:24:39:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
11:24:39:WU03:FS03:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:24:39:WARNING:WU03:FS03:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
11:24:39:ERROR:WU03:FS03:Exception: Could not get an assignment
11:24:39:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
11:24:39:WU03:FS03:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
11:24:39:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:24:39:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
11:24:39:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
11:24:39:WU03:FS03:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:24:39:WARNING:WU03:FS03:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
11:24:39:WU03:FS03:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
11:24:39:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:24:39:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
11:24:39:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
11:24:40:WU03:FS03:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:24:40:WARNING:WU03:FS03:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
11:24:40:ERROR:WU03:FS03:Exception: Could not get an assignment
11:24:40:3:127.0.0.1:New Web connection
11:24:44:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Using Gromacs checkpoints
11:24:44:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Mapping NT from 11 to 10
11:24:45:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Resuming from checkpoint
11:24:45:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Verified 01/wudata_01.log
11:24:45:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Verified 01/wudata_01.trr
11:24:45:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Verified 01/wudata_01.xtc
11:24:45:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Verified 01/wudata_01.edr
11:24:45:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Completed 451760 out of 500000 steps  (90%)
11:25:31:WARNING:Exception: 8:127.0.0.1: Send error: 10053: An established connection was aborted by the software in your host machine.
11:25:39:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
11:25:39:WU03:FS03:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
11:25:39:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:25:39:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
11:25:39:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
11:25:40:WU03:FS03:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:25:40:WARNING:WU03:FS03:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
11:25:40:WU03:FS03:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
11:25:40:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:25:40:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
11:25:40:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
11:25:40:WU03:FS03:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:25:40:WARNING:WU03:FS03:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
11:25:40:ERROR:WU03:FS03:Exception: Could not get an assignment
11:26:57:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Completed 455000 out of 500000 steps  (91%)
11:27:16:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
11:27:16:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:27:16:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
11:27:16:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
11:27:16:WU03:FS03:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
11:27:16:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:27:16:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
11:27:16:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
11:27:17:WU03:FS03:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:27:17:WARNING:WU03:FS03:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
11:27:17:WU03:FS03:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
11:27:17:WU03:FS03:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:27:17:WARNING:WU03:FS03:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
11:27:17:ERROR:WU03:FS03:Exception: Could not get an assignment
11:29:53:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
11:29:54:WU03:FS03:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
11:29:54:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:29:54:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
11:29:54:WU03:FS03:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:29:54:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
11:29:54:WARNING:WU03:FS03:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
11:29:54:WU03:FS03:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
11:29:55:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:29:55:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
11:29:55:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
11:29:55:WU03:FS03:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:29:55:WARNING:WU03:FS03:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
11:29:55:ERROR:WU03:FS03:Exception: Could not get an assignment
11:30:20:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Completed 460000 out of 500000 steps  (92%)
11:33:42:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Completed 465000 out of 500000 steps  (93%)
11:34:08:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
11:34:08:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:34:08:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
11:34:08:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
11:34:08:WU03:FS03:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
11:34:08:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:34:08:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
11:34:08:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
11:34:08:WU03:FS03:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:34:08:WARNING:WU03:FS03:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
11:34:08:WU03:FS03:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
11:34:09:WU03:FS03:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:34:09:WARNING:WU03:FS03:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
11:34:09:ERROR:WU03:FS03:Exception: Could not get an assignment

WanderingCowboy
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:07 am

Re: ATI:AMD FirePro V4900

Postby bollix47 » Fri Oct 04, 2013 1:27 pm

Welcome to the folding@home support forum WanderingCowboy.

AFAIK the current minimum AMD GPU that folds is the HD 5xxx. The fact that your 4900 is in GPUs.txt does not mean it's supported but in fact, as you have noted in the log, it is unsupported.

http://folding.stanford.edu/home/guide/ ... ide/#ntoc4
bollix47
 
Posts: 2857
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: ATI:AMD FirePro V4900

Postby WanderingCowboy » Fri Oct 04, 2013 2:03 pm

Aha! So the whitelist is really a bit of a greylist. :P I'll stop trying to force OpenCL drivers down them then. Thank you for the help!
WanderingCowboy
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:07 am

Re: ATI:AMD FirePro V4900

Postby 7im » Fri Oct 04, 2013 2:12 pm

Yes, both a Whitelist and a Blacklist, aka Greylist.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: ATI:AMD FirePro V4900

Postby AXm77 » Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:56 am

First of all, numbers in description of FirePro cards are not equal to Radeon numbering. His FirePro v4900 is basically Radeon HD 6670 with drivers supporting CAD/CAM software.
On last series Fire cards, AMD changed way of model desription, but up to that, second number was about generation: V x900 - same as Radeon HD 6000, V x800 - HD 5000, V x700 - HD 4000.
AXm77
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 6:14 pm

Re: ATI:AMD FirePro V4900

Postby 7im » Mon Oct 21, 2013 6:16 pm

Confirmed the v5900 and v7900 are cayman based and whitelisted them. Download the GPUs.txt file again.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: ATI:AMD FirePro V4900

Postby WanderingCowboy » Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:05 pm

So since the V4900 is similar to the 6670, can that be whitelisted as well? :D I think Turks-based is okay?
WanderingCowboy
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:07 am

Re: ATI:AMD FirePro V4900

Postby PantherX » Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:16 pm

According to Wikipedia, I found that V4900 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compariso ... Pro_Series) is based on the Turks architecture. The Turks was released with HD 6500/6600 (depends if it is Turks Pro or Turks XT https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_ ... 500.2F6600). Thus, in theory, it is supported (assuming that Wikipedia is correct) but its performance might be very poor.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6142
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: ATI:AMD FirePro V4900

Postby 7im » Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:34 pm

WanderingCowboy wrote:So since the V4900 is similar to the 6670, can that be whitelisted as well? :D I think Turks-based is okay?


Did you check the Greylist for the V4900?
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: ATI:AMD FirePro V4900

Postby WanderingCowboy » Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:46 pm

It's in there: 0x1002:0x6749:1:4:Turks [FirePro V4900 (FireGL V)]

I have yet to be able to figure out the difference between a white-listed and black listed GPU on this list though.
WanderingCowboy
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:07 am

Re: ATI:AMD FirePro V4900

Postby 7im » Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:55 pm

::: - black
:1:4: - white (in your example)

It's also defined on the V7 wiki page.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: ATI:AMD FirePro V4900

Postby Joe_H » Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:58 pm

Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6077
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA


Return to New GPUs (whitelist)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron