Dell Radeon HD 8500 ( R5 240 )

Post requests to add new GPUs to the official whitelist here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Dell Radeon HD 8500 ( R5 240 )

Postby Trelor » Mon Jul 18, 2016 2:30 pm

Looking to get the following Radeon card added so I can fold at work. Thanks

Code: Select all
C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient> fahclient --lspci
14:26:34:INFO(1):Read GPUs.txt
VendorID:DeviceID:Vendor Name:Description
0x8086:0xa131:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family Thermal subsystem - A131
0x8086:0xa170:Intel Corporation:High Definition Audio Controller
0x8086:0x1901:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) Xeon(R) E3 - 1200/1500 v5/6th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) PCIe Controller (x16) - 1901
0x8086:0xa13a:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) Management Engine Interface
0x8086:0xa102:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 100 Series/C230 Chipset Family SATA AHCI Controller
0x1002:0x6611:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:Hawaii [Radeon HD 8500 Series]
0x1002:0xaab0:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:High Definition Audio Bus
0x8086:0x15b7:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (2) I219-LM
0x8086:0xa146:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family LPC Controller - A146
0x8086:0xa121:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family PMC - A121
0x8086:0x191f:Intel Corporation:PCI standard host CPU bridge
0x8086:0x1912:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) HD Graphics 530
0x8086:0xa12f:Intel Corporation:USB xHCI Compliant Host Controller
0x8086:0xa123:Intel Corporation:Intel(R) 100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family SMBus - A123
Trelor
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 2:28 pm

Re: Dell Radeon HD 8500 ( R5 240 )

Postby Joe_H » Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:53 pm

Checking the most recent GPUs.txt file, it is already there:
0x1002:0x6611:1:5:Hawaii [Radeon R7 240/HD8570]

The important part is the device ID, the description is based on what was found in the drivers when initially released.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 3506
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Dell Radeon HD 8500 ( R5 240 )

Postby Trelor » Mon Jul 18, 2016 5:06 pm

It is not working I also have the latest ATI drivers too.
Trelor
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 2:28 pm

Re: Dell Radeon HD 8500 ( R5 240 )

Postby Joe_H » Mon Jul 18, 2016 5:28 pm

Do you have the latest GPUs.txt file downloaded by the client and in place? If so the GPU should show up as supported in the log file kept by the client. If not recognized there, a restart of the FAHClient process would be needed after the GPUs.txt file is updated and current drivers installed.

If the GPU is recognized, then it is probably a different issue. Could you post the first 100 or so lines of your log file showing the system info and folding configuration the client sees. If there are some error messages, include those as well. Directions on locating and posting the log file are included in the Welcome topic - viewtopic.php?f=83&t=26036.
Joe_H
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 3506
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Dell Radeon HD 8500 ( R5 240 )

Postby Trelor » Mon Jul 18, 2016 6:26 pm

I have the latest GPUs.txt and I have restarted multiple times since installing the driver.

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2016-07-18T14:24:11Z ***********************
14:24:11:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
14:24:11:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
14:24:11:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
14:24:11:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
14:24:11:         Args:
14:24:11:       Config: C:/ProgramData/FAHClient/config.xml
14:24:11:******************************** Build ********************************
14:24:11:      Version: 7.4.4
14:24:11:         Date: Mar 4 2014
14:24:11:         Time: 20:26:54
14:24:11:      SVN Rev: 4130
14:24:11:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
14:24:11:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
14:24:11:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
14:24:11:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
14:24:11:     Platform: win32 XP
14:24:11:         Bits: 32
14:24:11:         Mode: Release
14:24:11:******************************* System ********************************
14:24:11:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700 CPU @ 3.40GHz
14:24:11:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 94 Stepping 3
14:24:11:         CPUs: 8
14:24:11:       Memory: 31.86GiB
14:24:11:  Free Memory: 27.08GiB
14:24:11:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
14:24:11:   OS Version: 6.2
14:24:11:  Has Battery: false
14:24:11:   On Battery: false
14:24:11:   UTC Offset: -4
14:24:11:          PID: 4720
14:24:11:          CWD: C:/WINDOWS/system32
14:24:11:           OS: Windows 10 Pro
14:24:11:      OS Arch: AMD64
14:24:11:         GPUs: 1
14:24:11:        GPU 0: ATI:5 Hawaii [Radeon HD 8500 Series]
14:24:11:         CUDA: Not detected
14:24:11:Win32 Service: true
14:24:11:***********************************************************************
14:24:11:<config>
14:24:11:  <!-- Network -->
14:24:11:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
14:24:11:
14:24:11:  <!-- Slot Control -->
14:24:11:  <power v='light'/>
14:24:11:
14:24:11:  <!-- User Information -->
14:24:11:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
14:24:11:  <team v='111065'/>
14:24:11:  <user v='Trelor'/>
14:24:11:
14:24:11:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
14:24:11:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
14:24:11:    <paused v='true'/>
14:24:11:  </slot>
14:24:11:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
14:24:11:</config>
14:24:11:Trying to access database...
14:24:11:Successfully acquired database lock
14:24:11:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:4 (by user)
14:24:11:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:Hawaii [Radeon HD 8500 Series] (no gpu access)
14:30:50:Service shutdown requested
14:30:51:Clean exit
Trelor
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 2:28 pm

Re: Dell Radeon HD 8500 ( R5 240 )

Postby Trelor » Mon Jul 18, 2016 6:32 pm

Ahh I see it was running as a service, no GPU access. Working not as a service.
Trelor
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 2:28 pm

Re: Dell Radeon HD 8500 ( R5 240 )

Postby bruce » Mon Jul 18, 2016 6:36 pm

"Win32 Service: true"
Replace the Windows "Service" install with a standard installation.

Microsoft has build Windows so that GPUs cannot run in the background. (You were warned about it during the install but probably didn't pay attention.)

The standard installation hides the FAHClient task but it actually runs under the same user that logs on.
bruce
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20629
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.


Return to New GPUs (whitelist)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron