Add support for GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M] [no, Sorry :(]

Post requests to add new GPUs to the official whitelist here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Add support for GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M] [no, Sorry :(]

Postby yeowmeng » Fri Feb 14, 2020 3:16 am

Greetings and salutations,

Is it possible to add support for an nvidia GT215 series card. I have the nvidia 340xx drivers installed with xorg 1.20 and a 5.5 linux kernel. This computer does nothing so am looking yo assign it some full time work!

Some logs:
```
01:58:54:INFO(1):Read GPUs.txt
01:58:54:Removing old file 'logs/log-20200209-001147.txt'
01:58:54:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
01:58:54: Website: https://foldingathome.org/
01:58:54: Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
01:58:54: Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
01:58:54: Args: config.xml
01:58:54: Config: /opt/fah/config.xml
01:58:54:******************************** Build ********************************
01:58:54: Version: 7.5.1
01:58:54: Date: May 11 2018
01:58:54: Time: 19:59:04
01:58:54: Repository: Git
01:58:54: Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
01:58:54: Branch: master
01:58:54: Compiler: GNU 6.3.0 20170516
01:58:54: Options: -std=gnu++98 -O3 -funroll-loops
01:58:54: Platform: linux2 4.14.0-3-amd64
01:58:54: Bits: 64
01:58:54: Mode: Release
01:58:54:******************************* System ********************************
01:58:54: CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU Q 740 @ 1.73GHz
01:58:54: CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 30 Stepping 5
01:58:54: CPUs: 8
01:58:54: Memory: 7.71GiB
01:58:54: Free Memory: 7.37GiB
01:58:54: Threads: POSIX_THREADS
01:58:54: OS Version: 5.5
01:58:54: Has Battery: false
01:58:54: On Battery: false
01:58:54: UTC Offset: -5
01:58:54: PID: 703
01:58:54: CWD: /opt/fah
01:58:54: OS: Linux 5.5.3-arch1-1 x86_64
01:58:54: OS Arch: AMD64
01:58:54: GPUs: 1
01:58:54: GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:0 GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M]
01:58:54: CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:6.5
01:58:54:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.0 Driver:340.108
01:58:54:***********************************************************************
01:58:54:<config>
01:58:54: <!-- Slot Control -->
01:58:54: <power v='FULL'/>
01:58:54:
01:58:54: <!-- User Information -->
01:58:54: <passkey v='********************************'/>
01:58:54: <team v='45032'/>
01:58:54: <user v='yeowmeng'/>
01:58:54:
01:58:54: <!-- Folding Slots -->
01:58:54: <slot id='0' type='GPU'/>
01:58:54:</config>
01:58:54:Trying to access database...
01:58:54:Successfully acquired database lock
01:58:54:Enabled folding slot 00: READY gpu:0:GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M]
01:58:55:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
01:58:55:WU00:FS00:Assigned to work server 192.0.2.1
01:58:55:WU00:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY gpu:0:GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M] from 192.0.2.1
01:58:55:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 192.0.2.1:8080
```

My card id in GPU.txt is `0x10de:0x0cb0:2:0:GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M]`

My driver/linux/org verions
```
nvidia-340xx-dkms 340.108-5
nvidia-340xx-utils 340.108-1
opencl-nvidia-340xx 340.108-1
archlinux-keyring 20200108-1
libutil-linux 2.35.1-1
linux 5.5.3.arch1-1
linux-api-headers 5.4.17-1
linux-firmware 20200204.b791e15-1
linux-headers 5.5.3.arch1-1
util-linux 2.35.1-1
xorg-bdftopcf 1.1-1
xorg-font-util 1.3.2-1
xorg-font-utils 7.6-5
xorg-fonts-encodings 1.0.5-1
xorg-luit 1.1.1-3
xorg-mkfontscale 1.2.1-2
xorg-server 1.20.0-1
xorg-server-common 1.20.0-1
xorg-setxkbmap 1.3.2-1
xorg-twm 1.0.10-1
xorg-xauth 1.1-1
xorg-xinit 1.4.1-1
xorg-xkbcomp 1.4.2+7+g29fda8e-1
xorg-xmodmap 1.0.10-1
xorg-xrdb 1.2.0-1
xorgproto 2019.2-2
```


Hope it can be added,

Thank you.
Last edited by yeowmeng on Fri Feb 14, 2020 3:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
yeowmeng
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2020 10:36 pm

Re: Add support for GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M]

Postby JimboPalmer » Fri Feb 14, 2020 3:22 am

The T in GT215 stands for Tesla, an ancient micro architecture no longer supported in F@H.

The Tesla was good at Core_15 and still worked in Core_17. (badly)
Today Core_21 is slowly being replaced by Core_22 and Tesla has been 'extinct' for years.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tesla_(microarchitecture)

An old List of F@H cores

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_F ... home_cores
Last edited by JimboPalmer on Fri Feb 14, 2020 3:36 am, edited 2 times in total.
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 2014
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Add support for GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M]

Postby Joe_H » Fri Feb 14, 2020 3:23 am

No, it is too old and based on the Tesla micro-architecture. The oldest nVidia cards that could be used were based on Fermi, and you probably need one based on Kepler to complete current projects within deadlines.

In addition all current projects require GPU's that support both single and double precision calculations.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6522
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Add support for GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M]

Postby yeowmeng » Fri Feb 14, 2020 3:26 am

Thanks for the speedy reply! Ah ok thanks!
yeowmeng
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2020 10:36 pm

Re: Add support for GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M] [no, Sorry :(]

Postby MeeLee » Fri Feb 14, 2020 6:11 am

You could still run a GT730 (I tried it).
Though I wouldn't use anything lower than a GT1660 or 1660Super or Ti, due to older GPUs performing pretty inefficient.
But a 730 still works, and is about as fast as a quadcore 3-4Ghz CPU
MeeLee
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:16 pm

Re: Add support for GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M] [no, Sorry :(]

Postby Joe_H » Fri Feb 14, 2020 7:31 am

There are several different GT 730 cards that were sold. One was based on a Fermi GPU and has few shader cores, it might not finish WU's in time. The others were based on Kepler and have more shader cores.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6522
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Add support for GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M] [no, Sorry :(]

Postby jonault » Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:12 am

MeeLee wrote:Though I wouldn't use anything lower than a GT1660 or 1660Super or Ti, due to older GPUs performing pretty inefficient.

I'm still running a GTX970, and it's good for as much as 450k PPD, depending on the project. On any given project it gets a bit more than half the points of my 1660Super.

OTOH it uses over twice the power of the 1660Super (275W vs 125W), so yeah maybe not the best in terms of points per watt. In fact, when I do the math, that card running 24/7/365 is costing me about $180 a year vs $80 for the 1660Super. So I could earn back the cost of a 1660Super in a bit over 2 years in reduced electricity costs and get more folding done at the same time.

So maybe an upgrade would be worth it. Thanks for making me think about that.
Image
jonault
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:53 pm

Re: Add support for GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M] [no, Sorry :(]

Postby bruce » Fri Feb 14, 2020 6:49 pm

I second that comment.
jonault wrote:So maybe an upgrade would be worth it. Thanks for making me think about that.
bruce
 
Posts: 19816
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Add support for GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M] [no, Sorry :(]

Postby bruce » Fri Feb 14, 2020 6:52 pm

yeowmeng wrote:My card id in GPU.txt is `0x10de:0x0cb0:2:0:GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M]`


The ":0:" just prior to the "GT215" in that string denotes "unsupported". Did you get a message in your log telling you that?
bruce
 
Posts: 19816
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Add support for GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M] [no, Sorry :(]

Postby Joe_H » Fri Feb 14, 2020 7:44 pm

bruce wrote:
yeowmeng wrote:My card id in GPU.txt is `0x10de:0x0cb0:2:0:GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M]`


The ":0:" just prior to the "GT215" in that string denotes "unsupported". Did you get a message in your log telling you that?

As the line in the GPUs.txt file is actually the following
Code: Select all
0x10de:0x0cb0:::GT215 [GeForce GTS 350M]

I am assuming you modified the downloaded file. As was mentioned in the topic you first started out in asking about the GPUs.txt file, user modifications to the file have no effect on how a GPU is treated by the servers. They only manage to confuse the client, and may allow you to force creation of a folding slot for an unsupported GPU.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6522
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA


Return to New GPUs (whitelist)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron