Page 1 of 1

This GTX 1060 not in GPUs.txt

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 2:42 pm
by Markyrian
Hi,

I have an Asus NVIDIA GTX 1060 card presenting itself as a
Code: Select all
0x10de:0x1b83:38:0:0:NVIDIA Corporation:NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

GPUZ im dump:

Image

Highly doubt that Ray Tracing is supported though :-)

Re: This GTX 1060 not in GPUs.txt

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 9:19 pm
by Joe_H
Actually this GTX 1060 is already in the GPUs.txt file, it was already there when I configured one of these in one of my computers about 18 months ago.

Code: Select all
0x10de:0x1b83:2:7:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1060 6GB]

Re: This GTX 1060 not in GPUs.txt

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 9:48 pm
by Markyrian
Ah - yes, I see it now in the list. Must then troubleshoot why it doesn't get recognized. I don't get a GPU slot. It did work for a short while after I added a row in GPUs.txt. That is why I though it was actually missing. Then it kind of hanged and now it isn't recognized - even after redoing the install of FAH. Can some kind of server-side black-listing stop individual PCs from using their GPU?

Re: This GTX 1060 not in GPUs.txt

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 12:43 am
by toTOW
The problem is within the installer for the 7.6.9 version of the client. It doesn't download an updated copy of GPUs.txt and your client doesn't recognize the GPU. You can download the file and manually place it in the Appdata\Roaming\FAHClient directory, or try the current beta installer - https://download.foldingathome.org/rele ... 10_x86.exe.

Re: This GTX 1060 not in GPUs.txt

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 3:03 am
by gegenschein
I had the same problem with my GTX 1070. GPUs.txt looked up-to-date, and I thought I had seen it download the update, but it just wasn't truly updated until I manually replaced the file. Then it was auto-detected and eventually started finding work units.

My GTX 1070 GPU looks like it's hitting >750k PPD, compared to my i7-7700k CPU (@4.6GHz) getting just over 40k PPD, so, as others have pointed out in other posts, this problem with the installer does seem to be a disadvantage to the FAH network in losing out on potential WU point-power on casual new clients who won't dig in to scratch that CUDA/OpenCL itch (and might not even notice).

OP, I really recommend going through the trouble to update that GPUs.txt and try again. It's sweet to see that GTX beast start cranking out work units so much faster than your CPU.

Re: This GTX 1060 not in GPUs.txt

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 4:29 pm
by Markyrian
@toTOW Thanks! The beta installer did the trick. For some reason I couldn't get it to work by manually updating the GPUs.txt. Initial PPD estimates hints at somewhere around 450k PPD for this 1060. Actually the new Ryzen 9 3900X that this machine is running is not that far behind with current estimation at 200k PPD! All this lags far behind the 2080 super though on my main PC... Can't run all the time though - don't want to work (from home) in a sauna :-)

Re: This GTX 1060 not in GPUs.txt

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 4:36 pm
by JimboPalmer
I get about 430k PPD with my GTX 1060, so that is about right.