GPU Asus 1070 8gb oc not getting wu

Post requests to add new GPUs to the official whitelist here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

GPU Asus 1070 8gb oc not getting wu

Postby Erock » Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:50 am

I almost hit 1 Million points with my cpu in my desktop pc and my notebook but I also want to use my GPU in my desktop pc. I have got an ASUS 1070 8GB OC Dual Series. In the advanced control it is detected but I don't get any WU and I am waiting for 2 weeks and yes, I restarted my computer a couple of times :) .

Thank you for your help!

Image

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2020-04-28T23:42:13Z ***********************
23:42:13:****************************** FAHClient ******************************
23:42:13:      Version: 7.6.9
23:42:13:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
23:42:13:    Copyright: 2020 foldingathome.org
23:42:13:     Homepage: https://foldingathome.org/
23:42:13:         Date: Apr 17 2020
23:42:13:         Time: 11:13:06
23:42:13:     Revision: 398c2b17fa535e0cc6c9d10856b2154c32771646
23:42:13:       Branch: master
23:42:13:     Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
23:42:13:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
23:42:13:     Platform: win32 10
23:42:13:         Bits: 32
23:42:13:         Mode: Release
23:42:13:         Args: --open-web-control
23:42:13:       Config: C:\Users\Simon\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\config.xml
23:42:13:******************************** CBang ********************************
23:42:13:         Date: Apr 17 2020
23:42:13:         Time: 11:10:09
23:42:13:     Revision: 2fb0be7809c5e45287a122ca5fbc15b5ae859a3b
23:42:13:       Branch: master
23:42:13:     Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
23:42:13:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
23:42:13:     Platform: win32 10
23:42:13:         Bits: 32
23:42:13:         Mode: Release
23:42:13:******************************* System ********************************
23:42:13:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4440 CPU @ 3.10GHz
23:42:13:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
23:42:13:         CPUs: 4
23:42:13:       Memory: 15.94GiB
23:42:13:  Free Memory: 9.93GiB
23:42:13:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
23:42:13:   OS Version: 6.1
23:42:13:  Has Battery: false
23:42:13:   On Battery: false
23:42:13:   UTC Offset: 2
23:42:13:          PID: 9248
23:42:13:          CWD: C:\Users\Simon\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
23:42:13:           OS: Windows 7 Enterprise
23:42:13:      OS Arch: AMD64
23:42:13:         GPUs: 1
23:42:13:        GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:7 GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463
23:42:13:CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:11.0
23:42:13:       OpenCL: Not detected: clGetDeviceIDs() returned -1
23:42:13:Win32 Service: false
23:42:13:******************************* libFAH ********************************
23:42:13:         Date: Apr 15 2020
23:42:13:         Time: 14:53:14
23:42:13:     Revision: 216968bc7025029c841ed6e36e81a03a316890d3
23:42:13:       Branch: master
23:42:13:     Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
23:42:13:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
23:42:13:     Platform: win32 10
23:42:13:         Bits: 32
23:42:13:         Mode: Release
23:42:13:***********************************************************************
23:42:13:<config>
23:42:13:  <!-- Folding Core -->
23:42:13:  <core-priority v='low'/>
23:42:13:
23:42:13:  <!-- Network -->
23:42:13:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
23:42:13:
23:42:13:  <!-- Slot Control -->
23:42:13:  <pause-on-battery v='false'/>
23:42:13:  <power v='full'/>
23:42:13:
23:42:13:  <!-- User Information -->
23:42:13:  <passkey v='*****'/>
23:42:13:  <team v='246127'/>
23:42:13:  <user v='EMotionRennteam16'/>
23:42:13:
23:42:13:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
23:42:13:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
23:42:13:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
23:42:13:</config>
23:42:13:Trying to access database...
23:42:13:Successfully acquired database lock
23:42:13:Enabled folding slot 00: READY cpu:3
23:42:13:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:0:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463
23:42:13:WU00:FS00:Starting
23:42:13:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\Simon\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/v7/win/64bit/avx/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 706 -lifeline 9248 -checkpoint 15 -np 3
23:42:13:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 7940
23:42:13:WU00:FS00:Core PID:10108
23:42:13:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0xa7 started
23:42:13:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:80
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:*********************** Log Started 2020-04-28T23:42:13Z ***********************
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************** Gromacs Folding@home Core ***************************
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Type: 0xa7
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Core: Gromacs
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Args: -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 706 -lifeline 7940 -checkpoint 15 -np 3
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ CBang *************************************
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Date: Oct 26 2019
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Time: 01:38:25
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Revision: c46a1a011a24143739ac7218c5a435f66777f62f
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Branch: master
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: win32 10
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ System ************************************
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4440 CPU @ 3.10GHz
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       CPUs: 4
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Memory: 15.94GiB
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Free Memory: 9.90GiB
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7: OS Version: 6.1
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Has Battery: false
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7: On Battery: false
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7: UTC Offset: 2
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        PID: 10108
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        CWD: C:\Users\Simon\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\work
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:******************************** Build - libFAH ********************************
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Version: 0.0.18
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:  Copyright: 2019 foldingathome.org
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Homepage: https://foldingathome.org/
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Date: Oct 26 2019
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Time: 01:52:30
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Revision: c1e3513b1bc0c16013668f2173ee969e5995b38e
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Branch: master
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: win32 10
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ Build *************************************
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       SIMD: avx_256
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:********************************************************************************
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Project: 16401 (Run 1181, Clone 0, Gen 122)
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Unit: 0x0000008496880e6e5e814c77a0da6aa5
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Digital signatures verified
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Calling: mdrun -s frame122.tpr -o frame122.trr -x frame122.xtc -cpi state.cpt -cpt 15 -nt 3
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Steps: first=61000000 total=500000
23:42:14:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Failed to get assignment from '65.254.110.245:80': No WUs available for this configuration
23:42:14:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 18.218.241.186:80
23:42:14:3:127.0.0.1:New Web session
23:42:14:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.241
23:42:14:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463 from 140.163.4.241
23:42:14:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.241:8080
23:42:14:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 24122 out of 500000 steps (4%)
23:42:33:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 25000 out of 500000 steps (5%)
23:42:35:WARNING:WU01:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
23:42:35:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.241:80
23:44:06:WU01:FS01:Downloading 4.53MiB
23:44:12:WU01:FS01:Download 59.35%
23:44:15:WU01:FS01:Download complete
23:44:15:WU01:FS01:Received Unit: id:01 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:11742 run:0 clone:1743 gen:81 core:0x22 unit:0x0000006f8ca304f15e67da442b5feb13
23:44:15:WU01:FS01:Starting
23:44:15:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 1 not found, make sure the OpenCL driver is installed or try setting 'opencl-index' manually
23:44:16:WU01:FS01:Starting
23:44:16:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 1 not found, make sure the OpenCL driver is installed or try setting 'opencl-index' manually
23:44:21:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 30000 out of 500000 steps (6%)
23:45:16:WU01:FS01:Starting
23:45:16:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 1 not found, make sure the OpenCL driver is installed or try setting 'opencl-index' manually
Erock
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:15 am

Re: GPU Asus 1070 8gb oc not getting wu

Postby PantherX » Wed Apr 29, 2020 2:48 am

Welcome to the F@H Forum Erock,

Please note that you will have to install the latest version of Nvidia Drivers from this site (https://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us#), not rely on Microsoft's updates which don't include the OpenCL drivers.

This is what your configuration looks like (OpenCL is missing):
23:42:13: GPUs: 1
23:42:13: GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:7 GP104 [GeForce GTX 1070] 6463
23:42:13:CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:11.0
23:42:13: OpenCL: Not detected: clGetDeviceIDs() returned -1

This is what my system looks like (OpenCL is present):
02:25:01: GPUs: 1
02:25:01: GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:8 GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380
02:25:01: CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:10.2
02:25:01:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:442.19

With the correct divers, you should be able to fold on your GPU without getting any errors :)
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: GPU Asus 1070 8gb oc not getting wu

Postby Erock » Mon May 04, 2020 1:43 pm

I have got Nvidia Geforce Experience and I installed the drivers from there before and they are up to date. Anyway I will try the driver from the website. The game ready driver is the same as mine and Studio driver is not available.
Erock
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:15 am

Re: GPU Asus 1070 8gb oc not getting wu

Postby muziqaz » Mon May 04, 2020 4:38 pm

Latest drivers should always install opencl package as well.

Try something else:
in systray, right click fahcontrol, select Advanced Control.
Right click on your GPU slot, select Pause
Click on Configure top left corner
Select Slots tab
Select your GPU slot, slick Edit at the bottom right
GPU-index write 0
OpenCL-index write 0
CUDA-index write 0
Click OK bottom right
Click Save bottom right
Wait for a second or two for changes to be saved (you can see SAVING... at the bottom of the fahcontrol).
Right click on the GPU slot, select Fold. See if it starts connecting to server to get work.
If it doesn't, and it still shows that opencl device is not found, click on Configure
Select Slots tab
select your GPU slot, click Remove, at the bottom right.
Click Save at the bottom right. Wait for the slot to disappear from main window.
Click Configure
Slots tab
Click Add at the bottom right
Select GPU bubble
GPU-index write 0
OpenCL-index write 0
CUDA-index write 0
Click OK bottom right
Click Save bottom right

I hope this will help ;)
User avatar
muziqaz
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: London

Re: GPU Asus 1070 8gb oc not getting wu

Postby Erock » Wed May 06, 2020 8:41 pm

Thank you so much, the first option already worked. I thought that wouldn't change anything but yeah it works.

This Line in the Log is intersting:
19:39:26:WU00:FS01:0x22:Temperature control disabled. Requirements: single Nvidia GPU, tmax must be < 110 and twait >= 900

Normal?

Thanks for your help
Erock
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:15 am

Re: GPU Asus 1070 8gb oc not getting wu

Postby Joe_H » Wed May 06, 2020 8:53 pm

Yeah, normal. It is a leftover from an early version of the GPU folding core that included this as a last ditch method of avoiding overheating a GPU when running. It never worked all that well, and was turned off by default in the client.

Several years later, the firmware and GPU drivers do a much better job of protecting the GPU from overheating. This is one of the items on the list to be removed form the folding core code.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6610
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: GPU Asus 1070 8gb oc not getting wu

Postby muziqaz » Wed May 06, 2020 9:22 pm

Erock wrote:Thank you so much, the first option already worked. I thought that wouldn't change anything but yeah it works.

This Line in the Log is intersting:
19:39:26:WU00:FS01:0x22:Temperature control disabled. Requirements: single Nvidia GPU, tmax must be < 110 and twait >= 900

Normal?

Thanks for your help


Good stuff!

Image
User avatar
muziqaz
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: London

Re: GPU Asus 1070 8gb oc not getting wu

Postby Erock » Wed May 06, 2020 9:58 pm

muziqaz wrote:
Erock wrote:Thank you so much, the first option already worked. I thought that wouldn't change anything but yeah it works.

This Line in the Log is intersting:
19:39:26:WU00:FS01:0x22:Temperature control disabled. Requirements: single Nvidia GPU, tmax must be < 110 and twait >= 900

Normal?

Thanks for your help


Good stuff!

Image


Do I need to worry about the line in the Log I mentioned?
Erock
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:15 am

Re: GPU Asus 1070 8gb oc not getting wu

Postby Neil-B » Wed May 06, 2020 10:14 pm

Nope
1: 2x Xeon E5-2697v3@2.60GHz, 512GB DDR4 LRDIMM, SSD Raid, Win10 Ent, Quadro K420 1GB, FAH 7.6.13
2: Xeon E3-1505Mv5@2.80GHz, 32GB DDR4, NVME, Win10 Pro, Quadro M1000M 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
3: i7-960@3.20GHz, 12GB DDR3, SSD, Win10 Pro, GTX 750Ti 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
Neil-B
 
Posts: 1410
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: GPU Asus 1070 8gb oc not getting wu

Postby muziqaz » Wed May 06, 2020 11:14 pm

Erock wrote:
Do I need to worry about the line in the Log I mentioned?


As Neil and Joe already mentioned, no. It will always show up, even for systems with AMD GPU. There is a master plan in the works to get rid of it :D
User avatar
muziqaz
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: London


Return to New GPUs (whitelist)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron