Please Whitelist Quadro 600 and Quadro 5000

Post requests to add new GPUs to the official whitelist here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Please Whitelist Quadro 600 and Quadro 5000

Postby appepi » Sun May 10, 2020 7:19 pm

After wasting time trying to work out why GPUs in some of my HP Z-series workstations had suddenly failed to get work and were bumped to "workserver" 192.0.2.1, I checked the forum and found threads about this. These particular Quadros are not listed as "conforming" to OpenCL1.2 by Kronos, but they have drivers > ver 370 and supposedly that's OK for 1.2 and the passkey stats say they had a 100% completion rate (incl CPUs) before being evicted and running 24/7 they were generating points a lot faster than the CPU's in the same boxes.

"user" Z601 Quadro 5000 159WU 0 expired 100% completed
"user" Z604 Quadro 600 151 WU 0 expired 100% completed
"user" Z605 Quadro 600 83 WU 0 expired 100$ completed
"user" Z803 Quadro 600 75WU 0 expired 100% completed

Also it would be more respectful of donors to provide advice or at least an adequate error message when deciding to exclude devices.
appepi
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2020 3:55 pm

Re: Please Whitelist Quadro 600 and Quadro 5000

Postby JimboPalmer » Sun May 10, 2020 10:43 pm

Welcome to Folding@Home!

First the Quadro 600

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/quadro-600.c1318

To whitelist a GPU, it need at least two things, it needs to support OpenCL 1.2 or higher, and it needs to be able to do Double Precision floating point math. (FP64)

Your card does not support OpenCL 1.2. If it DID support OpenCL 1.2, it would never finish in time to fold.

Now the Quadro 5000:

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/quadro-5000.c897

This card still does not support OpenCL 1.2. But if it DID support OpenCL 1.2, it might finish in time to fold. it has about 3.5 as many threads as the Quadro 600 so would have been 3.5 times as fast.

Sorry. GPU years are even quicker than dog years, and a decade is too old.
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 1957
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Please Whitelist Quadro 600 and Quadro 5000

Postby appepi » Tue May 12, 2020 3:55 am

Thanks for the quick reply. I have now checked the fine print in the relevant NVIDIA driver release: http://us.download.nvidia.com/Windows/Quadro_Certified/377.83/377.83-win10-quadro-grid-release-notes.pdf which covers these and later Quadros and I see that it only provides OpenCL 1.2 support for the post-Fermi generations. GF series remain at OpenCL 1.1.

That having been said, between 19 March (when I set all my old workstations to fold 24/7) and just a couple of days ago, there were several Quadro 600s and a Quadro 5000 that were accepted and were completing workunits - presumably ones that only used OpenCL 1.1 features- alongside two K620s and a GTX1060. At that point it seems (from other threads on this topic) that F@H raised the bar because some of the newer workunits were failing on older tech. I have no problem with that being entirely at the discretion of the FAHfolk - my point is just that there are polite ways to advise those of us with geriatric GPUs that we should stop cluttering up the slow lane of the information superhighway with our tuktuks, and steering us into a black hole called 192.0.2.1 isn't one of them.
appepi
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2020 3:55 pm

Re: Please Whitelist Quadro 600 and Quadro 5000

Postby PantherX » Tue May 12, 2020 4:40 am

There has been a request for a better message: https://github.com/FoldingAtHome/fah-issues/issues/1309
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6327
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: Please Whitelist Quadro 600 and Quadro 5000

Postby appepi » Tue May 12, 2020 6:36 am

Yes Thanx Patherx, I had stumbled across that myself not long after my previous post, and I agreed with the various commentaries and proposed messages. Then I followed a link from there back here to the FaH Forum and found a post from bruce referring to changes in GPUs.txt for Fermi-class GPUs. I found that the Quadro 600 and Quadro 5000 were shown with"species" code "1" on the current master file, and when I checked with a nearby Z600 (user Z605) that had been running a Quadro 600 GPU OK a few days ago I found that it was coded as species "2" in the files already on that PCs. Thinking that it might be some misconfiguration issue, I over-wrote the local file with a copy of the master file and then re-created the gpu slot that I had deleted. But the result is the same, so I take it that species "1"means a type that is now deemed to be unfit to run WUs. Thinking that this might be clarified in the change log for the greylist I went there and found zip entries for 2020. So .... it looks like there has been a huge edit of the GPUs.txt file for Fermi class GPUs but no entries in the change log. Well, at least it was a bit more interesting than re-installing Windows, and in fact the absence of these old Quadros doesn't seem to have put much of a dent in the point collection as team appepi (aka Dad's Army) plods towards the 88th percentile of the last 50 day rankings.
appepi
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2020 3:55 pm

Re: Please Whitelist Quadro 600 and Quadro 5000

Postby dmoimas_geo » Thu May 14, 2020 3:24 pm

Hello,

I just just contacted Bruce for my Tesla C2050 that stopped working ( viewtopic.php?f=108&t=35234 ) while C2075 works well.

As per this thread viewtopic.php?f=83&t=35146 , GF10x where set as no DP capable but Tesla C2050 (GF100 based), as well as Quadro 5000 and 6000 (also based on GF100), are DP capable.

I hope this will be fixed soon.
dmoimas_geo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 2:31 pm


Return to New GPUs (whitelist)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron