Page 1 of 1

There might be a wrong line?

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:21 pm
by Foliant
Not actually a request but i noticed that a "GTX 760 Ti" is listed as a "GTX 670".

Image

Maybe someone can update or explain that?

Regards,
Patrick

Re: There might be a wrong line?

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:37 pm
by bruce
Accirdubg to my infromation, GK104 [GeForce GTX 670] has the Binary IDs of 10de 1189.
The codes 10de 1187 are for the GK104 [GeForce GTX 760]

Please post the output from GPU-Z or FAHCLIENT --lspci showing what you have.

Re: There might be a wrong line?

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:04 pm
by Foliant
Here we go:

Code: Select all

FAHClient --lspci
VendorID:DeviceID:PCI Bus:PCI Slot:PCI function:Vendor Name:Description
0x1002:0x5a14:0:0:0:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x5a16:0:2:0:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x5a17:0:3:0:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x4391:0:17:0:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x4397:0:18:0:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x4396:0:18:2:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x4397:0:19:0:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x4396:0:19:2:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x4385:0:20:0:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x439c:0:20:1:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x439d:0:20:3:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x4384:0:20:4:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x4399:0:20:5:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x43a0:0:21:0:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x43a3:0:21:3:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x4397:0:22:0:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1002:0x4396:0:22:2:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]:
0x1022:0x1200:0:24:0:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD]:
0x1022:0x1201:0:24:1:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD]:
0x1022:0x1202:0:24:2:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD]:
0x1022:0x1203:0:24:3:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD]:
0x1022:0x1204:0:24:4:Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD]:
0x10de:0x1189:1:0:0:NVIDIA Corporation:
0x10de:0x0e0a:1:0:1:NVIDIA Corporation:
0x10de:0x1082:2:0:0:NVIDIA Corporation:
0x10de:0x0e09:2:0:1:NVIDIA Corporation:
0x10ec:0x8168:5:0:0:Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.:

Code: Select all

lspci |grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK104 [GeForce GTX 670] (rev a1)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF110 [GeForce GTX 560 Ti OEM] (rev a1)

Re: There might be a wrong line?

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:31 pm
by Joe_H
I looked up the two entries and did a little research. The entries in GPUs.txt that match up with your lspci output are the following:

Code: Select all

0x10de:0x1189:2:4:GK104 [GeForce GTX 670] 2634 

0x10de:0x1082:2:4:GF114 [GeForce GTX 560 Ti] 1263
The research showed that the OEM card called a GTX 760 ti was a rebadged GTX 670. That is why it is identified that way in the file. The specs for number of shaders, base clock, boost clock, etc. are the same for both cards.

Re: There might be a wrong line?

Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2020 5:05 pm
by Foliant
Joe_H wrote:the OEM card called a GTX 760 ti was a rebadged GTX 670
Thank you, i did know some cards are just rebrands of older ones. I did not even think about my 760TI could be one of them.

Regards
Patrick

Re: There might be a wrong line?

Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2020 5:42 pm
by Joe_H
Given the time frame, I suspect the GTX 760 ti was just supplied as an OEM card to fill a performance gap in the GT 700 line of cards. Many of that series were just reissues of the previous generation cards, perhaps with a bump in clock speed or a change in chip process that was just a minor revision. About the only totally new cards were the high end GTX 780 and above, and the Maxwell chip based GTX 750 and 750 ti

Re: There might be a wrong line?

Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 5:57 am
by bruce
Rebrand recggnized

0x10de:0x1189:2:4:GK104 [GeForce GTX 670/GTX 760Ti OEM] 2634

The true GTX 670 is shipped with a Base Clock of 915 MHz and a Boost Clock of 980 MHz
The OEM GTX 760 Ti is also shipped with a Base Clock of 915 MHz and a Boost Clock of 980 MHz

Is your default clock rate different?

Re: There might be a wrong line?

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 5:59 pm
by Foliant
Im normaly running it underclocked by 190 MHz.
Its cooler, drawing less power and i cant see the performance going down.
Image

Re: There might be a wrong line?

Posted: Tue Aug 25, 2020 7:08 am
by Foliant
Hallo,

I found another GPU with a wrong Name.
The GPU Im testing is a GTX 650

GPUs.txt is listing: 0x10de:0x0fc6:2:3:GK107 [GeForce GT 650] 812

I cant find any info about a GT 650 - except a GT 650M

Code: Select all

lspci
06:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK107 [GeForce GTX 650] (rev a1)

Code: Select all

FAHClient --lspci
[...]
0x10de:0x0fc6:6:0:0:NVIDIA Corporation:
0x10de:0x0e1b:6:0:1:NVIDIA Corporation:
Regards
Patrick

Re: There might be a wrong line?

Posted: Tue Aug 25, 2020 9:37 am
by toTOW
Although it doesn't change anything, I fixed it. :D

Re: There might be a wrong line?

Posted: Tue Aug 25, 2020 2:54 pm
by Foliant
It stops confusion if some oddball like me is trying to fold with older Hardware. :mrgreen:
Not a game changer but good for accuracy.

Re: There might be a wrong line?

Posted: Tue Aug 25, 2020 3:01 pm
by bruce
GPUs.txt is complex and it's possible to make mistakes. It's about to get more complex. :eo