Page 2 of 2

Re: Palit Geforce FTX 1650 StormX OC 4gb

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2020 2:54 am
by bruce
queluomo1 wrote:Hi, just bought this new graphics card for folding on my old XEON rig. I was under the assumption that the GTX 1650 was supported, however the client doesn't see this card. I tried reinstalling multiple times but to no avail. Can anybody help, please?
When you run GPU-Z, if it still says it needs "validation," go to that tab and check the appropriate boxes.

Then return to the "Graphic card" tab and report what it says on the second line (GPU).

Re: Palit Geforce FTX 1650 StormX OC 4gb

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2020 6:22 am
by PantherX
[quote="queluomo1"]...I'd like to send you screenshots o the web control, advanced control, device manager and GPU-Z but I can't figure a way to do it here...[/quote]
You can use an Image hosting site, for example Imgur: https://imgur.com/
After you upload the images, you can copy the link and paste it within the Img bracket so it appears like this:
[img]https://i.imgur.com/Gfs1gEc.jpg[/img]

I have disabled the BBCode for my post so you can see how it would look like.

If in doubt, do your best and a Moderator/Admin may edit your post to fix it up :)

Re: Palit Geforce FTX 1650 StormX OC 4gb

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2020 2:42 pm
by queluomo1
Thanks to all of you for your help. I'll be deleting the file indicated by JimboPalmer and will let you know how it goes.

many thanks again....

Re: Palit Geforce FTX 1650 StormX OC 4gb

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2020 3:20 pm
by queluomo1
Thanks again to everyone, friends! Folding successfully at last!

Re: Palit Geforce FTX 1650 StormX OC 4gb

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2020 6:09 pm
by JimboPalmer
Great! Thank you for letting us know it is working!

Re: Palit Geforce FTX 1650 StormX OC 4gb

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2020 1:23 am
by niko_sguva
Just to add more info, I am getting the same problem with a card, which give that output:
Code: Select all
root@pop-os:/var/lib/fahclient# FAHClient --lspci or GPU-Z
VendorID:DeviceID:PCI Bus:PCI Slot:PCI function:Vendor Name:Description
0x10de:0x2188:1:0:0:NVIDIA Corporation:
0x10de:0x1aeb:1:0:1:NVIDIA Corporation:
0x10de:0x1aec:1:0:2:NVIDIA Corporation:
0x10de:0x1aed:1:0:3:NVIDIA Corporation:


I see the exact entry in GPUs.txt but it does not work.
Code: Select all
0x10de:0x2188:2:1:TU117 [GeForce GTX 1650] 3091

If it turns out this is not a typo and my variant is not supported, I better return the card while I still can.

Thanks in advance!
Niko

Re: Palit Geforce FTX 1650 StormX OC 4gb

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2020 3:04 am
by bruce
When a new GPU is initially connected to FAH for the first time it's supposed to be assigned GPUSpecies=1 which allows it to run benchmark projects. Based on those results, it will be reassigned a more realistic GPUSpecies. Don't RMA it yet.

What variation makes it unique?

Re: Palit Geforce FTX 1650 StormX OC 4gb

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2020 11:01 pm
by toTOW
Some strange things are happening with the GPUs.txt file, but it seems that the entries are now correct ...