64-bit version of V7.2.9 for Windows? [Unnecessary]

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

64-bit version of V7.2.9 for Windows? [Unnecessary]

Postby TomJohnson » Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:54 am

Is there a separate Win 64 bit installer for 7.1.52/7.2.9 and if so please provide link ?
https://fah-web.stanford.edu/projects/F ... etaRelease / fah-installer_7.2.9_x86.exe is for win32 XP.
iMac 15,1 27" 5K Retina Intel i7 4.0 GHz Dual Quad 24 GB RAM 1 TB Fusion OS 10.10
Mac Pro 5,1 3.06 GHz 12 Core 52 Gig RAM OS 10.9.5 -- Plus 20 more
Image
TomJohnson
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Oak Harbor, WA

Re: 64-bit version of V7.2.9 for Windows?

Postby bruce » Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:05 am

No.

The three programs supplied by the installer: FAHClient, FAHControl, and FAHViewer are all 32-bit programs but none of them need any of the features of 64-bit code. Windows 64-bit runs either 32- or 64-bit programs. FAHClient does detect whether your OS is 32- or 64-bit. For example, see the log posted above by ABBAS where it says OS Arch: X86 (i.e: 32-bit). If you're running on 64-bit Windows with 64-bit hardware, it will say OS Arch: AMD64 and the Assignment Server will be allowed to assign you a project that needs a 64-bit FahCore.

The analysis programs, themselves, are in the FAHCores which are downloaded automatically and that's where you would find code that uses the features of 64- or only 32-bit. (Not all projects need 64-bit so you sill may get a 32-bit FahCore.)
bruce
 
Posts: 22701
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: FAHClient V7.1.52 released (1st Public-Release)

Postby TomJohnson » Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:39 am

Yes, I have the OS Arch AMD64 on a Sony i7 Q820@1.73 GHz with CPUs 8 but I am only getting around 5,000 PPD vs 22,000 PPD on my Mac Pro dual quad and 12,000 PPD on my Mac Book Pro dual quad.
I was getting 7,000 PPD on this Sony when I was running 6.30. I thought that the PPD value would be higher.
I am running Windows 7 Professional OS.
TomJohnson
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Oak Harbor, WA

Re: FAHClient V7.1.52 released (1st Public-Release)

Postby Zagen30 » Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:40 am

I believe v7 tends to get a lot more projects that use the a4 core, while v6 SMP tends to get more a3 projects. Some a4 projects may be lower in PPD than some a3 projects, in particular those that are designed to operate in either uniprocessor or SMP mode. These projects have longer deadlines and apparently earn worse PPD as a result.

The client itself doesn't affect PPD; were you to be assigned those a3 projects you were running in v6, you'd see the same frame times.
Image
Zagen30
 
Posts: 1589
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:45 am

Re: FAHClient V7.1.52 released (1st Public-Release)

Postby 7im » Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:55 pm

Worse ppd on some hardware, similar ppd on otber hardware...always better ppd than folding nothing when the A3s go away.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: 64-bit version of V7.2.9 for Windows?

Postby TomJohnson » Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:41 pm

That is why I questioned the availability for a 64 bit version for Windows below.
The current V7 only sees a Platform as win32 XP capable.
There seems to be 64 bit versions for other OSs here:
https://fah-web.stanford.edu/projects/F ... etaRelease
TomJohnson
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Oak Harbor, WA

Re: 64-bit version of V7.2.9 for Windows?

Postby P5-133XL » Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:53 pm

Yes, there are 64 bit versions of the client where it is necessary or desirable. Windows just does not need 64 bit binaries and it does not improve folding productivity so it is not offered. There are very limited benefits for a Windows application that does not need what 64 bits offer. Basically, there are some additional Registers available if the application needs them and additional memory space but Folding does not need those so 32 bits is all that is offered for Windows.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X86-64
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: 64-bit version of V7.2.9 for Windows? [Unnecessary]

Postby Bleeder » Wed Oct 31, 2012 2:48 pm

Wouldn't a 64bit version of the Windows F@H client/core allow Windows to fold bigadv WU's?
Image
Image
Bleeder
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 1:21 am

Re: 64-bit version of V7.2.9 for Windows? [Unnecessary]

Postby bruce » Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:00 pm

Yes and no. The present 32-bit version of the Client can run a 64-bit FahCore (provided your operating system supports both 32- and 64-bit programs). Things like bigadv can use the extra RAM available to 64-bit versions of a FahCore to advantage.
bruce
 
Posts: 22701
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: 64-bit version of V7.2.9 for Windows? [Unnecessary]

Postby Bleeder » Thu Nov 01, 2012 1:25 pm

So then there is no technical reason why bigadv isn't offered to Windows clients then? If a 64bit client isn't needed and the cores are just download as required by the assigned WU then it's just an arbitrary decision to exclude Windows boxes from bigadv WUs? I'm confused why this would be. :e?:
Bleeder
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 1:21 am

Re: 64-bit version of V7.2.9 for Windows? [Unnecessary]

Postby 7im » Thu Nov 01, 2012 2:05 pm

Why would you assume that? Obviously bit width (and all that entails) is not the only technical hurdle for Windows.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: 64-bit version of V7.2.9 for Windows? [Unnecessary]

Postby bruce » Thu Nov 01, 2012 7:02 pm

Bleeder wrote:So then there is no technical reason why bigadv isn't offered to Windows clients then? If a 64bit client isn't needed and the cores are just download as required by the assigned WU then it's just an arbitrary decision to exclude Windows boxes from bigadv WUs? I'm confused why this would be. :e?:


FahCore_a5 (used by bigadv) is available in both 32-bit and 64-bit versions. Unfortunately, Windows 64 has some limitations that are not limitations for Linux 64 so Windows can only process the smaller bigadv proteins. I don't have a way to determine which proteins fit within that limitation or if any of those projects are currently active.
bruce
 
Posts: 22701
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: 64-bit version of V7.2.9 for Windows? [Unnecessary]

Postby Nathan_P » Thu Nov 01, 2012 7:17 pm

Well something must have changed since moving to a5 for BA, when BA first started it was preferable to run it on windows as the *nix core was partially broken
Image
Nathan_P
 
Posts: 1442
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:22 pm
Location: Jersey, Channel islands


Return to V7.2.x -- Windows/Linux Release & OSX Beta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron