#960 ATI GPU trying to download Core_15 [Windows only]

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: Stuck on core update

Postby bollix47 » Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:26 pm

Demose wrote:My GPU (a AMD Radeon HD 6900) is stuck on preforming FahCore Update it has been like this for three days. I have tried every thing I can think of, updating and rolling back both the driver and the client, deleting the work unit to get a new unit (the current unit assigned is 8043 (0, 1664, 48)).

Please help I am at my wits end! :x


Welcome to the folding support forum Demose.

Obviously you know how to delete a WU so these instructions may not be as much value to you as others.

There have been some changes on the assignment server overnight. Whether or not the patch helps with AMD/ATI GPU assignments I don't know but others are reporting some success. Have you tried deleting the work since the patch was applied?
Image
bollix47
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

GPU slot: "Failed to access core package"

Postby HardToThrill » Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:34 pm

For at least a couple of days (didn't check log further back) the GPU slot on my Win7 system has repeatedly reported this error. The SMP CPU slot is running without problems. I have been experiencing the same situation on my XP sytem for weeks if not months. Any suggestions?

Both are running FAHControl 7.1.43 with both a CPU & GPU slot

Win7 (64): Phenom x4/Radeon 5830
WinXP (32): Athalon 64 x2/Radeon 3870
(Systems run 24x7 for F@H)

from log on Win7 system:
"12:57:10:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AM ... ore_15.fah
12:57:10:WU00:FS00:Connecting to www.stanford.edu:80
12:57:10:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to access core package."
HardToThrill
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:12 pm

Re: GPU slot: "Failed to access core package"

Postby bollix47 » Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:45 pm

@ HardToThrill

The 3870 has not been supported in some time:

http://folding.typepad.com/news/2011/03 ... oards.html

the series 3xxx are not supported and the series 4xxx does not have sufficient OpenCL support


For the 5830 have you tried the suggestions in the post above yours?
bollix47
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: ATI GPU trying to download Core_15

Postby Joe_H » Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:16 pm

The following note was added to the Windows Installation Guide in late summer:
The end of support for ATI/AMD 4xxx series and below was announced in March 2011, and scheduled to end in September 2011. The last of the Fahcore_11 (GPU2) work units actually lasted until June 2012, more than a year after the original announcement.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4525
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Update_Core as status under client control

Postby frumpish » Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:53 pm

frumpish wrote:For the past day or so the status of one of the WU on my pc has said Update_Core. The progress is 0% and the ETA is unknown.

The credit is 2387.00
The PRCG is 8054 (0, 2388, 24)

This is my log.

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2012-12-09T12:38:17Z ***********************
12:38:17:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
12:38:17:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
12:38:17:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2012 Stanford University
12:38:17:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
12:38:17:         Args: --lifeline 2468 --command-port=36330
12:38:17:       Config: C:/Users/Tim/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/config.xml
12:38:17:******************************** Build ********************************
12:38:17:      Version: 7.2.9
12:38:17:         Date: Oct 3 2012
12:38:17:         Time: 18:05:48
12:38:17:      SVN Rev: 3578
12:38:17:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
12:38:17:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
12:38:17:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
12:38:17:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
12:38:17:     Platform: win32 XP
12:38:17:         Bits: 32
12:38:17:         Mode: Release
12:38:17:******************************* System ********************************
12:38:17:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz
12:38:17:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
12:38:17:         CPUs: 4
12:38:17:       Memory: 7.95GiB
12:38:17:  Free Memory: 6.90GiB
12:38:17:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
12:38:17:   On Battery: false
12:38:17:   UTC offset: -6
12:38:17:          PID: 3596
12:38:17:          CWD: C:/Users/Tim/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
12:38:17:           OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
12:38:17:      OS Arch: AMD64
12:38:17:         GPUs: 1
12:38:17:        GPU 0: ATI:4 PITCAIRN [Radeon HD 7800]
12:38:17:         CUDA: Not detected
12:38:17:Win32 Service: false
12:38:17:***********************************************************************
12:38:17:<config>
12:38:17:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
12:38:17:  <gpu v='true'/>
12:38:17:
12:38:17:  <!-- Network -->
12:38:17:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
12:38:17:
12:38:17:  <!-- User Information -->
12:38:17:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
12:38:17:  <team v='169927'/>
12:38:17:  <user v='frumpish'/>
12:38:17:
12:38:17:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
12:38:17:  <slot id='0' type='GPU'/>
12:38:17:  <slot id='1' type='SMP'/>
12:38:17:</config>
12:38:17:Trying to access database...
12:38:17:Successfully acquired database lock
12:38:17:Enabled folding slot 00: READY gpu:0:"PITCAIRN [Radeon HD 7800]"
12:38:17:Enabled folding slot 01: READY smp:4
12:38:17:WU02:FS00:Downloading core from http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_15.fah
12:38:17:WU02:FS00:Connecting to http://www.stanford.edu:80
12:38:17:WU01:FS01:Starting
12:38:17:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Tim/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah/FahCore_a4.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 702 -lifeline 3596 -checkpoint 15 -np 4
12:38:17:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 3724
12:38:17:WU01:FS01:Core PID:3736
12:38:17:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0xa4 started
12:38:18:ERROR:WU02:FS00:Exception: Failed to access core package.
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:*------------------------------*
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Folding@Home Gromacs GB Core
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Preparing to commence simulation
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Looking at optimizations...
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Files status OK
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Expanded 4309969 -> 5584672 (decompressed 129.5 percent)
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=4309969 data_size=5584672, decompressed_data_size=5584672 diff=0
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Digital signature verified
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Project: 7087 (Run 0, Clone 847, Gen 63)
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Assembly optimizations on if available.
12:38:18:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Entering M.D.
12:38:21:Server connection id=1 on 0.0.0.0:36330 from 127.0.0.1
12:38:24:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Using Gromacs checkpoints
12:38:24:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Mapping NT from 4 to 4
12:38:25:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Resuming from checkpoint
12:38:25:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.log
12:38:25:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.trr
12:38:25:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.xtc
12:38:25:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.edr
12:38:25:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Completed 282800 out of 500000 steps  (56%)
12:39:18:WU02:FS00:Downloading core from http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_15.fah
12:39:18:WU02:FS00:Connecting to http://www.stanford.edu:80
12:39:18:ERROR:WU02:FS00:Exception: Failed to access core package.
12:40:55:WU02:FS00:Downloading core from http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_15.fah
12:40:55:WU02:FS00:Connecting to http://www.stanford.edu:80
12:40:55:ERROR:WU02:FS00:Exception: Failed to access core package.
12:41:33:Server connection id=2 on 0.0.0.0:36330 from 127.0.0.1
12:41:33:Server connection id=1 ended
12:43:32:WU02:FS00:Downloading core from http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_15.fah
12:43:32:WU02:FS00:Connecting to http://www.stanford.edu:80
12:43:32:ERROR:WU02:FS00:Exception: Failed to access core package.
12:44:26:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Completed 285000 out of 500000 steps  (57%)
12:47:46:WU02:FS00:Downloading core from http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_15.fah
12:47:46:WU02:FS00:Connecting to http://www.stanford.edu:80
12:47:46:ERROR:WU02:FS00:Exception: Failed to access core package.
12:54:37:WU02:FS00:Downloading core from http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_15.fah
12:54:37:WU02:FS00:Connecting to http://www.stanford.edu:80
12:54:38:ERROR:WU02:FS00:Exception: Failed to access core package.
12:57:47:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Completed 290000 out of 500000 steps  (58%)
13:04:31:Server connection id=3 on 0.0.0.0:36330 from 127.0.0.1
13:04:33:Server connection id=3 ended
13:05:43:WU02:FS00:Downloading core from http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_15.fah
13:05:43:WU02:FS00:Connecting to http://www.stanford.edu:80
13:05:43:ERROR:WU02:FS00:Exception: Failed to access core package.
13:10:41:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Completed 295000 out of 500000 steps  (59%)
13:16:49:FS00:Paused
13:16:49:FS01:Paused
13:16:49:FS01:Shutting core down
13:16:55:WU01:FS01:FahCore returned: INTERRUPTED (102 = 0x66)
13:25:30:FS00:Unpaused
13:25:30:FS01:Unpaused
13:25:30:WU02:FS00:Downloading core from http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_15.fah
13:25:30:WU02:FS00:Connecting to http://www.stanford.edu:80
13:25:30:ERROR:WU02:FS00:Exception: Failed to access core package.
13:25:30:WU01:FS01:Starting
13:25:30:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Tim/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah/FahCore_a4.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 702 -lifeline 3596 -checkpoint 15 -np 4
13:25:30:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 1272
13:25:30:WU01:FS01:Core PID:2316
13:25:30:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0xa4 started
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:*------------------------------*
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Folding@Home Gromacs GB Core
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Preparing to commence simulation
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Looking at optimizations...
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Files status OK
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Expanded 4309969 -> 5584672 (decompressed 129.5 percent)
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=4309969 data_size=5584672, decompressed_data_size=5584672 diff=0
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Digital signature verified
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Project: 7087 (Run 0, Clone 847, Gen 63)
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Assembly optimizations on if available.
13:25:31:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Entering M.D.
13:25:37:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Using Gromacs checkpoints
13:25:37:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Mapping NT from 4 to 4
13:25:37:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Resuming from checkpoint
13:25:37:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.log
13:25:37:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.trr
13:25:37:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.xtc
13:25:37:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.edr
13:25:38:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Completed 294100 out of 500000 steps  (58%)
13:25:52:FS00:Paused
13:25:52:FS01:Paused
13:25:53:FS01:Shutting core down
13:26:01:WU01:FS01:FahCore returned: INTERRUPTED (102 = 0x66)
13:41:13:FS00:Unpaused
13:41:13:FS01:Unpaused
13:41:13:WU01:FS01:Starting
13:41:13:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Tim/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah/FahCore_a4.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 702 -lifeline 3596 -checkpoint 15 -np 4
13:41:13:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 2852
13:41:13:WU01:FS01:Core PID:4072
13:41:13:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0xa4 started
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:*------------------------------*
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Folding@Home Gromacs GB Core
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Preparing to commence simulation
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Looking at optimizations...
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Files status OK
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Expanded 4309969 -> 5584672 (decompressed 129.5 percent)
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=4309969 data_size=5584672, decompressed_data_size=5584672 diff=0
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Digital signature verified
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Project: 7087 (Run 0, Clone 847, Gen 63)
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Assembly optimizations on if available.
13:41:14:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Entering M.D.
13:41:20:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Using Gromacs checkpoints
13:41:20:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Mapping NT from 4 to 4
13:41:20:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Resuming from checkpoint
13:41:20:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.log
13:41:20:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.trr
13:41:20:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.xtc
13:41:21:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.edr
13:41:21:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Completed 294100 out of 500000 steps  (58%)
13:43:38:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Completed 295000 out of 500000 steps  (59%)


Ok, I this issue has been addressed before.

From reading through this thread it seems there are two pieces of advice:

1) Pause the WU and wait for an update from Stanford.
2) Delete the WU and get a new one.

Since deleting WU's is frowned upon and I am not sure which applies to my case I'm wondering if someone can clarify this for me.
frumpish
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:38 pm

Re: ATI GPU trying to download Core_15

Postby bollix47 » Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:58 pm

Your client is trying to process an Nvidia work unit on an AMD/ATI GPU. It won't work. This is an appropriate instance where it's okay to delete the WU.

p.s. There was an update from Stanford much earlier today that a patch was applied to the Assignment server:

viewtopic.php?p=231420#p231420
bollix47
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: ATI GPU trying to download Core_15

Postby HardToThrill » Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:05 pm

I followed instructions on the Win7/Radeon 5830
(Pause slot/delete gpu work unit data folder/quit & restart FAHControl)

Now I have a different error:
Code: Select all
16:51:57:WU00:FS00:FahCore 16: 100.00%
16:51:57:WU00:FS00:FahCore 16: Download complete
16:51:57:WU00:FS00:Valid core signature
16:51:57:WARNING:WU00:FS00:FahCore has not changed since last download, aborting core update
16:51:57:WU00:FS00:Starting
16:51:57:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" "C:/Users/Nick Arpaia/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_16.fah/FahCore_16.exe" -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 701 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0
16:51:57:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 3708
16:51:57:WU00:FS00:Core PID:7360
16:51:57:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0x16 started
16:51:57:WU00:FS00:FahCore returned: CORE_OUTDATED (110 = 0x6e)
16:52:51:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_16.fah
16:52:51:WU00:FS00:Connecting to http://www.stanford.edu:80
16:52:51:WU00:FS00:FahCore 16: Downloading 1.04MiB
16:52:57:WU00:FS00:FahCore 16: 77.91%
16:52:58:WU00:FS00:FahCore 16: Download complete
16:52:58:WU00:FS00:Valid core signature
16:52:58:WARNING:WU00:FS00:FahCore has not changed since last download, aborting core update
16:52:58:WU00:FS00:Starting
16:52:58:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" "C:/Users/Nick Arpaia/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_16.fah/FahCore_16.exe" -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 701 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0
16:52:58:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 764
16:52:58:WU00:FS00:Core PID:1916
16:52:58:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0x16 started
16:52:59:WU00:FS00:FahCore returned: CORE_OUTDATED (110 = 0x6e)
16:54:28:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_16.fah
16:54:28:WU00:FS00:Connecting to http://www.stanford.edu:80
16:54:29:WU00:FS00:FahCore 16: Downloading 1.04MiB
16:54:35:WU00:FS00:FahCore 16: 89.90%
16:54:36:WU00:FS00:FahCore 16: Download complete
16:54:36:WU00:FS00:Valid core signature
16:54:36:WARNING:WU00:FS00:FahCore has not changed since last download, aborting core update
16:54:36:WU00:FS00:Starting
16:54:36:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" "C:/Users/Nick Arpaia/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_16.fah/FahCore_16.exe" -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 701 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0
16:54:36:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 8360
16:54:36:WU00:FS00:Core PID:9584
16:54:36:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0x16 started
16:54:36:WU00:FS00:FahCore returned: CORE_OUTDATED (110 = 0x6e)
16:54:49:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Completed 555000 out of 1500000 steps  (37%)


Mod: Code tags added
HardToThrill
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:12 pm

Re: ATI GPU trying to download Core_15

Postby bollix47 » Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:25 pm

Two suggestions for HardToThrill:

1.
Both are running FAHControl 7.1.43 with both a CPU & GPU slot


Upgrade to 7.2.9.

2. Since this is a different core than the one causing these pages of posts I would suggest trying to delete all your cores and letting the client download the appropriate cores for the WUs you're running.

First, pause all slots using the Pause button on the FAHControl GUI.

Then navigate to your Data Directory, right-click on the cores sub-directory and select delete.

The cores directory will be moved to the Windows Recycle Bin so it can be restored if necessary but shouldn't be as the client will download what it needs.

You can then click on the Fold button and see if processing starts normally. If it doesn't then post the log and ensure that the PRCG numbers for the project being worked on are included in that log.
bollix47
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: ATI GPU trying to download Core_15

Postby HardToThrill » Sun Dec 09, 2012 8:16 pm

Same results after implementing suggestion #2.
If I install the current version client, should the existing client be uninstalled first & what should be done with the in-progress SMP WU?
HardToThrill
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 8:12 pm

Re: ATI GPU trying to download Core_15

Postby codysluder » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:21 pm

I have successfully upgraded from one revision of V7 to another version of V7 several times without uninstalling.
codysluder
 
Posts: 2128
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:43 pm

Re: ATI GPU trying to download Core_15

Postby kiore » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:23 pm

HardToThrill wrote:Same results after implementing suggestion #2.
If I install the current version client, should the existing client be uninstalled first & what should be done with the in-progress SMP WU?


Pause all clients, then install no need to uninstall.
Oh you will be asked whether you want to keep current settings, answer yes.
Image

i7 7800x GTX 1080ti , OS= win7. AMD 3700x RTX 2080ti OS= win10
kiore
 
Posts: 993
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: ATI GPU trying to download Core_15

Postby VijayPande » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:44 pm

As far as we can tell here (and from the responses on the forum), it seems like this is now fixed. Any one else still seeing issues?
Prof. Vijay Pande, PhD
Departments of Chemistry, Structural Biology, and Computer Science
Chair, Biophysics
Director, Folding@home Distributed Computing Project
Stanford University
User avatar
VijayPande
Pande Group Member
 
Posts: 2651
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 6:25 am
Location: Stanford

Project 7626/Core 15 Problem

Postby njp154 » Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:47 pm

Just loaded FAH on my new homebuild. Went through first WU on the GPU side but noticed the next day that the GPU slot was listed as Ready despite having a new WU shown. Read through the log and saw the following entry repeated many times over:

Code: Select all
23:29:01:WU02:FS00:Downloading core from http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_15.fah
23:29:01:WU02:FS00:Connecting to www.stanford.edu:80
23:29:01:ERROR:WU02:FS00:Exception: Failed to access core package.


PRCG: 7626, 189, 1, 5

Looked at the directory referenced in the log and there was no Core_15.fah shown. Saw in another thread that there was some testing going on with this core recently.

Anything I should be doing instead of having FAH look for a core that's not there?

Thanks,

-Nick
njp154
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:40 pm

Re: ATI GPU trying to download Core_15

Postby bollix47 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:00 am

Welcome to the folding support forum njp154.

Please see this post to determine if you're having the same problem.(i.e. you have an AMD/ATI GPU trying to process with an Nvidia core)

If you do then dump it following these instructions.
bollix47
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: ATI GPU trying to download Core_15

Postby bollix47 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:10 am

@HardToThrill

If you have client-type=advanced or beta please remove it.

See this thread.
bollix47
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

PreviousNext

Return to V7.2.x -- Windows/Linux Release & OSX Beta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron