Need advice on safely removing CPU slot

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Re: Need advice on safely removing CPU slot

Postby PantherX » Mon Jan 20, 2014 4:04 am

The OS is smart enough to manage the affinity of the process so there isn't any need to enable the option to lock cores to specific CPU. Since you will be assigned FahCore_a3 and FahCore_a4 WUs, they have the optimized assemble code hard coded so you can ignore the option to disable highly optimized assembly code.

Those two options were added for support for legacy FahCores and the new Beta release (V7.4.0) have removed them since those FahCores are no longer being supported. Thus, the next pubic release of V7 will not have those options.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6182
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: Need advice on safely removing CPU slot

Postby bruce » Mon Jan 20, 2014 5:53 pm

The highly optimized assembly code setting is obsolete and non-functional. I'll suggest it be removed from a future client version.

Those who experiment with affinity use more complex 3rd party software than whatever FAH does internally. I have not seen a consensus whether the locking cores function is useful or not. Certainly it depends on a lot of other possible details of how your OS is configured and what else your system is used for.

When a setting is not fully understood, you really have two choices: Leave it set to the default (because somebody decided it was the best or maybe the safest setting for a majority of systems) or do sufficient testing to decide for yourself and report back to the forum your conclusions with whatever supporting data you've obtained.
bruce
 
Posts: 19123
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Need advice on safely removing CPU slot

Postby Braegnok » Tue Jan 21, 2014 2:44 pm

Thanks for the help everyone!,.. this system is only used for Folding 24/7,.. I removed CPU slot this morning,.. went back to just running the GPU Clients with fan profile keeping cards at 60c,.. system is running great!,.. both cards @ 99% load and CPU @ 50% load feeding information @ 34c,.. will run this way for a week and post back with results. :D
Braegnok
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:26 pm

Previous

Return to V7.3.6 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron