i7 3770 & GTX 670 PPD, Good? Bad?

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

i7 3770 & GTX 670 PPD, Good? Bad?

Postby dreamscape » Tue Mar 18, 2014 7:16 pm

Hi all

Quick question as im curious about how my new PC is performing... I'm running a i7 3770 stock speeds and a GTX 670 stock speeds on the latest folding@home client. I'm getting 62k PPD... 21k on the CPU and 41k on the GTX 470...

Is this good or bad for my spec? Just curious. :)
dreamscape
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 8:34 pm

Re: i7 3770 & GTX 670 PPD, Good? Bad?

Postby P5-133XL » Tue Mar 18, 2014 7:24 pm

Seems normal to me.
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 4034
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: i7 3770 & GTX 670 PPD, Good? Bad?

Postby PantherX » Wed Mar 19, 2014 2:23 am

Can you please clarify if you have a GTX 470 or a GTX 670 or both in your system?

Regarding the PPD, it would depend on the drivers being used and the type of WU (FahCore_15 or FahCore_17) being assigned to your GPU. There are reports that using the latest driver version from Nvidia will produce a significant slow-down in the WU processing for FahCore_17 WUs. Development is aware of this and hopefully, a fix will be released when it is ready (no ETAs).
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Chrome Folding App (Beta) Ӂ Troubleshooting "Bad WUs" Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: i7 3770 & GTX 670 PPD, Good? Bad?

Postby dreamscape » Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:44 am

Sorry that's a typo I'm using a 670
dreamscape
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 8:34 pm

Re: i7 3770 & GTX 670 PPD, Good? Bad?

Postby PantherX » Wed Mar 19, 2014 8:42 pm

For a GTX 670, 41K might be fine if you are getting FahCore_15 WUs. If you are getting FahCore_17 WUs, it should be between 65K to 85K depending on the Project and GPU frequencies.
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: i7 3770 & GTX 670 PPD, Good? Bad?

Postby thebluebumblebee » Mon Apr 28, 2014 4:48 pm

Your GPU is starving for CPU cycles. The client automatically takes all the CPU's (we know them as threads) that it finds. You need to reduce the number of threads that the CPU slot is using. This may cause you to lose the current work unit on the CPU, so you may want to "finish" the current WU before doing this. (to finish, open FAHControl and right click on the CPU slot and select finish and then wait until the WU is done) Open FAHControl, select configure-slots-CPU-edit and change CPU's to 6 or 7 and save back out. I run 6 with my i7.
thebluebumblebee
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 6:17 pm

Re: i7 3770 & GTX 670 PPD, Good? Bad?

Postby jrweiss » Mon Apr 28, 2014 6:12 pm

Is this 'starving for CPU cycles' phenomenon exclusive to the nVidia GPU, or are the AMD GPU cores also unable to grab them?

I have an i7-4770 and an AMD 3750. Total production is in the 35K PPD (23+12) range, with the CPU slot manually set to 8 threads. Is that nominal, or should I switch to 7 threads for the CPU to increase total production? GPUz shows GPU load at 97-98%. Log header [edited for brevity] below:

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2014-04-26T21:21:42Z ***********************
21:21:42:         Args:
21:21:42:       Config: C:/Apps/FAH/Data/config.xml
21:21:42:******************************** Build ********************************
21:21:42:      Version: 7.4.4
21:21:42:         Date: Mar 4 2014
21:21:42:         Time: 20:26:54
21:21:42:      SVN Rev: 4130
21:21:42:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
21:21:42:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
21:21:42:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
21:21:42:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
21:21:42:     Platform: win32 XP
21:21:42:         Bits: 32
21:21:42:         Mode: Release
21:21:42:******************************* System ********************************
21:21:42:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
21:21:42:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
21:21:42:         CPUs: 8
21:21:42:       Memory: 14.94GiB
21:21:42:  Free Memory: 9.31GiB
21:21:42:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
21:21:42:   OS Version: 6.1
21:21:42:  Has Battery: true
21:21:42:   On Battery: false
21:21:42:           OS: Windows 7 Professional
21:21:42:      OS Arch: AMD64
21:21:42:         GPUs: 1
21:21:42:        GPU 0: ATI:5 R575A [Radeon R7 250/HD 7700]
21:21:42:         CUDA: Not detected
21:21:42:Win32 Service: false
21:21:42:***********************************************************************
21:21:42:<config>
21:21:42:  <!-- Folding Core -->
21:21:42:  <checkpoint v='30'/>
21:21:42:  <!-- Network -->
21:21:42:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
21:21:42:  <!-- Slot Control -->
21:21:42:  <power v='full'/>
21:21:42:  <!-- User Information -->
21:21:42:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
21:21:42:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
21:21:42:  <slot id='1' type='CPU'>
21:21:42:    <cpus v='8'/>
21:21:42:  </slot>
21:21:42:  <slot id='0' type='GPU'/>
21:21:42:</config>
21:21:42:Trying to access database...
21:21:42:Successfully acquired database lock
21:21:42:Enabled folding slot 01: READY cpu:8
21:21:42:Enabled folding slot 00: READY gpu:0:R575A [Radeon R7 250/HD 7700]
21:21:42:WU00:FS00:Starting
21:21:42:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: C:\Apps\FAH\Client/FAHCoreWrapper.exe C:/Apps/FAH/Data/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_17.fah/FahCore_17.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 4504 -checkpoint 30 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor ati
21:21:42:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 5392
21:21:42:WU00:FS00:Core PID:5424
21:21:42:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0x17 started
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:Starting
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: C:\Apps\FAH\Client/FAHCoreWrapper.exe C:/Apps/FAH/Data/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a3.fah/FahCore_a3.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 4504 -checkpoint 30 -np 8
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 5432
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:Core PID:5452
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0xa3 started
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:0xa3:- Looking at optimizations...
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:0xa3:- Files status OK
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:0xa3:- Expanded 3846063 -> 4375408 (decompressed 113.7 percent)
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=3846063 data_size=4375408, decompressed_data_size=4375408 diff=0
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:0xa3:- Digital signature verified
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Project: 8579 (Run 1, Clone 7, Gen 363)
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Assembly optimizations on if available.
21:21:42:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Entering M.D.
21:21:43:WU00:FS00:0x17:*********************** Log Started 2014-04-26T21:21:42Z ***********************
21:21:43:WU00:FS00:0x17:Project: 13000 (Run 2367, Clone 5, Gen 18)
21:21:43:WU00:FS00:0x17:Unit: 0x00000026538b3db75312396fc0a4d775
21:21:43:WU00:FS00:0x17:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
21:21:43:WU00:FS00:0x17:Machine: 0
21:21:43:WU00:FS00:0x17:Digital signatures verified
21:21:43:WU00:FS00:0x17:Folding@home GPU core17
21:21:43:WU00:FS00:0x17:Version 0.0.52
21:21:43:WU00:FS00:0x17:  Found a checkpoint file
21:21:48:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Using Gromacs checkpoints
21:21:49:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Mapping NT from 8 to 8
21:21:50:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Resuming from checkpoint
21:21:50:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Verified 01/wudata_01.log
21:21:50:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Verified 01/wudata_01.trr
21:21:50:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Verified 01/wudata_01.edr
21:21:50:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Completed 350775 out of 500000 steps  (70%)
21:24:51:WU00:FS00:0x17:Completed 1375000 out of 5000000 steps (27%)
21:24:51:WU00:FS00:0x17:Temperature control disabled. Requirements: single Nvidia GPU, tmax must be < 110 and twait >= 900
i4770K/MSI GTX 1050ti, 388.43 driver
i7-3770S/XFX RX460 fanless, Adrenalin 18.5.1
Win7-64Pro
User avatar
jrweiss
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:56 am
Location: @Home

Re: i7 3770 & GTX 670 PPD, Good? Bad?

Postby PantherX » Mon Apr 28, 2014 6:44 pm

For Nvidia GPUs, it depends on the WU assigned:
FahCore_15 -> Hardly any CPU cycles used
FahCore_17 -> One CPU per GPU (it's Nvidia's implementation of OpenCl)

For AMD GPUs, it depends on the Driver version. Driver version 13.12 was reported to use more CPU Cycles than the previous release. What Driver version are you using?
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: i7 3770 & GTX 670 PPD, Good? Bad?

Postby thebluebumblebee » Mon Apr 28, 2014 6:58 pm

jrweiss wrote:Is this 'starving for CPU cycles' phenomenon exclusive to the nVidia GPU, or are the AMD GPU cores also unable to grab them?

I have an i7-4770 and an AMD 3750. Total production is in the 35K PPD (23+12) range, with the CPU slot manually set to 8 threads. Is that nominal, or should I switch to 7 threads for the CPU to increase total production? GPUz shows GPU load at 97-98%.

If you watch taskmanager, you will see the GPU blip to ~5% every once in a while. Dreamscape, on the otherhand, will see an almost constant ~13% load on his CPU. While AMD does not require as much from the CPU, what it needs is very critical and does need a thread. Give it a try with 7 threads and see what happens. My 7770 @ 1100MHz gets about 30K PPD currently.
thebluebumblebee
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 6:17 pm

Re: i7 3770 & GTX 670 PPD, Good? Bad?

Postby jrweiss » Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:07 pm

I'm using the 13.9 Catalyst drivers.

I reset the CPU slot to 7 threads. GPU load is now steady at 98-99%. I'm going away for a couple weeks, so I'll watch how it works from afar.
Last edited by jrweiss on Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jrweiss
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:56 am
Location: @Home

Re: i7 3770 & GTX 670 PPD, Good? Bad?

Postby 7im » Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:08 pm

14.x drivers perform better.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: i7 3770 & GTX 670 PPD, Good? Bad?

Postby jrweiss » Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:31 pm

Perform better overall, or specifically for Folding? I hesitate to change drivers solely for a 100PPD F@H increase...
User avatar
jrweiss
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:56 am
Location: @Home

Re: i7 3770 & GTX 670 PPD, Good? Bad?

Postby 7im » Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:43 pm

I wouldn't waste my time posting about a 100 PPD change. The increase is significant. Other threads in the forum offer specific details, so no need to repeat them here. ;)
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona


Return to V7.3.6 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron