FAHViewer and snapshots (#963)

FAH provides a V7 client installer for Debian / Mint / Ubuntu / RedHat / CentOS / Fedora. Installation on other distros may or may not be easy but if you can offer help to others, they would appreciate it.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

FAHViewer and snapshots (#963)

Postby saintdev » Wed May 15, 2013 12:12 am

Hi, I was looking into setting up FAHViewer on Gentoo. It didn't require much work to get it working, except for one issue. When displaying snapshot 1.0 (early in the WU when it is the only one available) everything seems to work just fine. I can toggle through the different render modes, rotate, zoom in/out.

However, once it begins cycling through snapshots, the molecule on display disappears. It will show up again once the viewer gets back to snapshot 1.0 and if you pause it or interact with it while it is at 1.0 it still displays normally, until you let it move on to the next snapshot again. I tried basic mode, it didn't help. If I disable cycling snapshots, it attempts to display the just latest snapshot, which shows nothing.

Is there some dependency I am missing, or maybe something else? I don't see any errors in the log, or anything else unusual.

Code: Select all
00:05:52:INFO(5):Started thread 1 on PID 16499
00:05:52:INFO(1):******************** Folding@home Viewer *********************
00:05:52:INFO(1):      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
00:05:52:INFO(1):    Copyright: (c) 2009-2013 Stanford University
00:05:52:INFO(1):       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
00:05:52:INFO(1):         Args: --verbosity=9 -v
00:05:52:INFO(1):       Config: <none>
00:05:52:INFO(1):*************************** Build ****************************
00:05:52:INFO(1):      Version: 7.3.6
00:05:52:INFO(1):         Date: Feb 18 2013
00:05:52:INFO(1):         Time: 06:35:37
00:05:52:INFO(1):      SVN Rev: 811
00:05:52:INFO(1):       Branch: pub/trunk/viewer
00:05:52:INFO(1):     Compiler: GNU 4.4.7
00:05:52:INFO(1):      Options: -std=gnu++98 -O3 -funroll-loops -mfpmath=sse -ffast-math
00:05:52:INFO(1):               -fno-unsafe-math-optimizations -msse2
00:05:52:INFO(1):     Platform: linux2 3.2.0-1-amd64
00:05:52:INFO(1):         Bits: 64
00:05:52:INFO(1):         Mode: Release
00:05:52:INFO(1):*************************** System ***************************
00:05:52:INFO(1):          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
00:05:52:INFO(1):       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 7
00:05:52:INFO(1):         CPUs: 4
00:05:52:INFO(1):       Memory: 7.80GiB
00:05:52:INFO(1):  Free Memory: 1.01GiB
00:05:52:INFO(1):      Threads: POSIX_THREADS
00:05:52:INFO(1):  Has Battery: false
00:05:52:INFO(1):   On Battery: false
00:05:52:INFO(1):   UTC offset: -6
00:05:52:INFO(1):          PID: 16499
00:05:52:INFO(1):          CWD: /home/saintdev
00:05:52:INFO(1):OpenGL Render: GeForce GTX 570/PCIe/SSE2
00:05:52:INFO(1):**************************************************************
00:05:52:INFO(2):<config>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <basic v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <blur v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <connect v='127.0.0.1:36330'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <cycle-snapshots v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <force v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <fps v='8'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <fullscreen v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <height v='768'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <interpolation-steps v='9'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <mode v='4'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <password v=''/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <profile v='default'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <show-buttons v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <show-info v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <show-logos v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <slot v='0'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <test v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <width v='1024'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <wiggle v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <x-rotation v='0'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <y-rotation v='10'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <zoom v='1.05'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <!-- Debugging -->
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <capture-directory v='capture'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <capture-sockets v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <debug-sockets v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <exception-locations v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <stack-traces v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <!-- Logging -->
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-color v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-crlf v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-date v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-date-periodically v='0'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-debug v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-domain v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-header v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-level v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-no-info-header v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-redirect v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-rotate v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-rotate-dir v='logs'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-rotate-max v='0'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-short-level v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-simple-domains v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-thread-id v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-thread-prefix v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-time v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-to-screen v='true'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <log-truncate v='false'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):  <verbosity v='9'/>
00:05:52:INFO(2):</config>
00:05:52:INFO(1):Mode ADV_SPACE_FILLED
00:05:52:INFO(3):Connecting to 127.0.0.1:36330
Last edited by saintdev on Wed May 15, 2013 1:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
saintdev
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:30 pm

Re: FAHViewer and snapshots

Postby Jesse_V » Wed May 15, 2013 1:00 am

I think that's a known bug. https://fah-web.stanford.edu/projects/F ... ticket/963 Is my report the same issue, or seperate?

P.S. That's a huge amount of config options! You know there really isn't a need for verbosity higher than the default. A lot of extraneous message start bloating the log, which makes reading through it for debugging purposes a bit more difficult. :)
Last edited by Jesse_V on Wed May 15, 2013 1:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Pen tester at Cigital/Synopsys
User avatar
Jesse_V
 
Posts: 2773
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:44 am
Location: USA

Re: FAHViewer and snapshots

Postby saintdev » Wed May 15, 2013 1:02 am

Jesse_V wrote:I think that's a known bug. https://fah-web.stanford.edu/projects/F ... ticket/963 Is my report the same issue, or seperate?

That sounds exactly like it! Thanks, I'll keep an eye on that bug.
saintdev
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:30 pm

Re: FAHViewer and snapshots (#963)

Postby Napoleon » Sat May 18, 2013 6:07 pm

Also note that FAH on Gentoo may be getting quite a lot of easier "soon":
EDIT: Requesting permission to include FAH as Gentoo Linux package

I don't know if that is related - I'm no Linux expert, let alone Gentoo Linux - but I figured there's no harm in linking to aforementioned discussion.
Win7 64bit, FAH v7, OC'd
2C/4T Atom330 3x667MHz - GT430 2x832.5MHz - ION iGPU 3x466.7MHz
NaCl - Core_15 - display
User avatar
Napoleon
 
Posts: 1032
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 2:31 pm
Location: Finland

Re: FAHViewer and snapshots (#963)

Postby saintdev » Sun May 19, 2013 5:05 am

Napoleon wrote:Also note that FAH on Gentoo may be getting quite a lot of easier "soon":
EDIT: Requesting permission to include FAH as Gentoo Linux package

I don't know if that is related - I'm no Linux expert, let alone Gentoo Linux - but I figured there's no harm in linking to aforementioned discussion.


This is just clarifying the licensing terms for Gentoo's FAH client (not viewer or control) package, which already existed.
saintdev
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:30 pm

Re: FAHViewer and snapshots (#963)

Postby Zarck » Wed May 22, 2013 4:35 pm

The snapshots cycle on and off each time a new unit is calculated, is there a solution ? I have to close and restart Folding Folding to restart the animation cycle.

L'affichage animé se désactive à chaque fois qu'une nouvelle unité est calculé, il y a t'il une solution ? je suis obligé de fermer Folding et relancer Folding pour relancer le cycle d'animation.

@+
*_*
Val d'Oise - France
User avatar
Zarck
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:21 am
Location: https://itunes.apple.com/fr/book/le-calcul-distribue-distributed/id505952004?mt=11

Re: FAHViewer and snapshots (#963)

Postby Gagaman » Tue Feb 04, 2014 7:04 am

Same here, but using Debian Jessie amd64

FAHViewer 7.3.6
PRCG 7645 (139, 0, 144)

Showing only odd snapshots (1.0 and 3.0)
Gagaman
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 6:49 am


Return to Q&A about unsupported distros of Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron