[Arch Linux] Very low PPD

FAH provides a V7 client installer for Debian / Mint / Ubuntu / RedHat / CentOS / Fedora. Installation on other distros may or may not be easy but if you can offer help to others, they would appreciate it.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

[Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby seatsea » Sun Aug 23, 2015 10:24 pm

I've been trying to fold with my AMD R9 280X, but I only end up getting 1677 which I way lower that the 100K I'm used to from when I was folding on Windows.

I did let it run overnight and the PPD did not increase after 11h. The card did not seem to warm like it normally would.

There isn't wasn't any outstanding error in the log except for one rollback.
The catalyst packages I have installed are:
Catalyst-utils: 1:15.20.1046-3
lib32-catalyst-utils: 1:15.20.1046-1
linux318-catalyst: 1:15.20.1046-2
opencl-catalyst: 1:15.20.1046-1
Code: Select all

*********************** Log Started 2015-08-18T20:51:51Z ***********************
20:51:51:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
20:51:51:    Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
20:51:51:  Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
20:51:51:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
20:51:51:       Args: --config /opt/fah/config.xml --exec-directory=/opt/fah
20:51:51:             --data-directory=/opt/fah
20:51:51:     Config: /opt/fah/config.xml
20:51:51:******************************** Build ********************************
20:51:51:    Version: 7.4.4
20:51:51:       Date: Mar 4 2014
20:51:51:       Time: 12:02:38
20:51:51:    SVN Rev: 4130
20:51:51:     Branch: fah/trunk/client
20:51:51:   Compiler: GNU 4.4.7
20:51:51:    Options: -std=gnu++98 -O3 -funroll-loops -mfpmath=sse -ffast-math
20:51:51:             -fno-unsafe-math-optimizations -msse2
20:51:51:   Platform: linux2 3.2.0-1-amd64
20:51:51:       Bits: 64
20:51:51:       Mode: Release
20:51:51:******************************* System ********************************
20:51:51:        CPU: AMD FX(tm)-4100 Quad-Core Processor
20:51:51:     CPU ID: AuthenticAMD Family 21 Model 1 Stepping 2
20:51:51:       CPUs: 4
20:51:51:     Memory: 11.69GiB
20:51:51:Free Memory: 11.41GiB
20:51:51:    Threads: POSIX_THREADS
20:51:51: OS Version: 3.18
20:51:51:Has Battery: false
20:51:51: On Battery: false
20:51:51: UTC Offset: 2
20:51:51:        PID: 543
20:51:51:        CWD: /opt/fah
20:51:51:         OS: Linux 3.18.20-1-MANJARO x86_64
20:51:51:    OS Arch: AMD64
20:51:51:       GPUs: 1
20:51:51:      GPU 0: ATI:5 Tahiti XT [Radeon HD 7970]
20:51:51:       CUDA: Not detected
20:51:51:***********************************************************************
20:51:51:<config>
20:51:51:  <!-- Network -->
20:51:51:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
20:51:51:
20:51:51:  <!-- Slot Control -->
20:51:51:  <power v='full'/>
20:51:51:
20:51:51:  <!-- User Information -->
20:51:51:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
20:51:51:  <team v='212997'/>
20:51:51:  <user v='seatsea'/>
20:51:51:
20:51:51:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
20:51:51:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
20:51:51:    <paused v='true'/>
20:51:51:  </slot>
20:51:51:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
20:51:51:    <paused v='true'/>
20:51:51:  </slot>
20:51:51:</config>
20:51:51:Trying to access database...
20:51:51:Successfully acquired database lock
20:51:51:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:3 (by user)
20:51:51:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:Tahiti XT [Radeon HD 7970] (by user)
21:28:35:Saving configuration to /opt/fah/config.xml
21:28:35:<config>
21:28:35:  <!-- Network -->
21:28:35:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
21:28:35:
21:28:35:  <!-- Slot Control -->
21:28:35:  <power v='full'/>
21:28:35:
21:28:35:  <!-- User Information -->
21:28:35:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
21:28:35:  <team v='212997'/>
21:28:35:  <user v='seatsea'/>
21:28:35:
21:28:35:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
21:28:35:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
21:28:35:    <paused v='true'/>
21:28:35:  </slot>
21:28:35:</config>
21:28:35:WARNING:WU01:Slot ID 0 no longer exists and there are no other matching slots, dumping
21:28:35:WU01:Sending unit results: id:01 state:SEND error:DUMPED project:7520 run:28 clone:19 gen:56 core:0xa4 unit:0x00000051fbcb017d54ebbafe10585081
21:28:35:WU01:Connecting to 128.143.199.97:8080
21:28:37:WU01:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
21:28:37:WU01:Cleaning up
21:28:38:FS01:Unpaused
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:Starting
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:Running FahCore: /opt/fah/FAHCoreWrapper /opt/fah/cores/web.stanford.edu/~pande/Linux/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_17.fah/FahCore_17 -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 543 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor ati
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 3343
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:Core PID:3347
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:FahCore 0x17 started
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:0x17:*********************** Log Started 2015-08-18T21:28:38Z ***********************
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:0x17:Project: 10466 (Run 1, Clone 252, Gen 99)
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:0x17:Unit: 0x000000bc538b3db95548d1f3a6193361
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:0x17:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:0x17:Machine: 1
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:0x17:Reading tar file state.xml
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:0x17:Reading tar file system.xml
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:0x17:Reading tar file integrator.xml
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:0x17:Reading tar file core.xml
21:28:38:WU00:FS01:0x17:Digital signatures verified
21:29:08:WU00:FS01:0x17:Completed 0 out of 5000000 steps (0%)
21:29:28:Saving configuration to /opt/fah/config.xml
21:29:28:<config>
21:29:28:  <!-- Network -->
21:29:28:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
21:29:28:
21:29:28:  <!-- Slot Control -->
21:29:28:  <power v='full'/>
21:29:28:
21:29:28:  <!-- User Information -->
21:29:28:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
21:29:28:  <team v='212997'/>
21:29:28:  <user v='seatsea'/>
21:29:28:
21:29:28:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
21:29:28:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
21:29:28:</config>
02:46:38:WU00:FS01:0x17:Completed 50000 out of 5000000 steps (1%)
******************************* Date: 2015-08-19 *******************************
07:31:37:WU00:FS01:0x17:Completed 100000 out of 5000000 steps (2%)
09:54:15:WU00:FS01:0x17:Bad State detected... attempting to resume from last good checkpoint
10:00:21:FS01:Paused
10:00:21:FS01:Shutting core down
10:00:21:WU00:FS01:0x17:Caught signal SIGINT(2) on PID 3347
10:00:21:WU00:FS01:0x17:Exiting, please wait. . .
10:00:47:Saving configuration to /opt/fah/config.xml
10:00:47:<config>
10:00:47:  <!-- Network -->
10:00:47:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
10:00:47:
10:00:47:  <!-- Slot Control -->
10:00:47:  <power v='full'/>
10:00:47:
10:00:47:  <!-- User Information -->
10:00:47:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
10:00:47:  <team v='212997'/>
10:00:47:  <user v='seatsea'/>
10:00:47:
10:00:47:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
10:00:47:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
10:00:47:    <paused v='true'/>
10:00:47:  </slot>
10:00:47:</config>
10:00:59:WU00:FS01:0x17:Lost lifeline PID 3343, exiting
10:00:59:WU00:FS01:0x17:ERROR:103: Lost client lifeline
10:00:59:WU00:FS01:0x17:Folding@home Core Shutdown: CLIENT_DIED
10:00:59:WU00:FS01:FahCore returned: INTERRUPTED (102 = 0x66)

seatsea
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:38 pm

Re: [Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby Kebast » Sun Aug 23, 2015 11:07 pm

I've been getting horrible PPD lately with my R7 260x too. Did you recently upgrade the driver? I grabbed the latest (15.7 maybe) from ATI site and it's been slow since upgrading. I can't remember what version I was on before sadly.
Image
Kebast
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:21 pm

Re: [Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby Kebast » Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:19 am

Sorry, mine ended up just being a driver conflict issue. The newest driver seems to work fine now.
Kebast
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:21 pm

Re: [Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby seatsea » Mon Aug 24, 2015 11:35 am

Re-installing the system did not work, the only diffrence now is my PPD is 2099, which might be simply because of it running a diffrent WU
seatsea
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:38 pm

Re: [Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby Kebast » Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:06 pm

I think that GPU needs a processor core to run effectively. Try dropping your CPU allocation to 3. That's a quad core chip yes? Also, let it run for half an hour or so before you look at the estimated PPD
Kebast
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:21 pm

Re: [Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby seatsea » Mon Aug 24, 2015 4:55 pm

Well I had actually removed CPU slot as I didn't really want to fold with it. I've enabled it now, but it dosen't seem like is making any diffrence, and actually at this rate, the WU for my CPU is going to complete faster than my GPU. And I might be wrong, but it seems like the PPD for my CPU is lower than what it was on windows as well...
seatsea
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:38 pm

Re: [Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby Kebast » Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:27 pm

I run Ubuntu Linux so I'm not much help with Arch. My problem was not properly purging old drivers. You tried a new install though, so that's likely not the issue. Sorry!
Kebast
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 5:21 pm

Re: [Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby seatsea » Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:49 pm

I let my GPU fold for a few hours and I got a new error:
Code: Select all
23:37:39:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 8059
23:37:39:WU01:FS01:Core PID:8063
23:37:39:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
23:37:39:WU01:FS01:0x21:*********************** Log Started 2015-08-24T23:37:39Z ***********************
23:37:39:WU01:FS01:0x21:Project: 9712 (Run 5, Clone 0, Gen 3)
23:37:39:WU01:FS01:0x21:Unit: 0x00000011ab40416255b9a6f3dfb9d2c2
23:37:39:WU01:FS01:0x21:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
23:37:39:WU01:FS01:0x21:Machine: 1
23:37:39:WU01:FS01:0x21:Digital signatures verified
23:37:39:WU01:FS01:0x21:Folding@home GPU Core21 Folding@home Core
23:37:39:WU01:FS01:0x21:Version 0.0.11
23:39:26:WU01:FS01:0x21:Completed 0 out of 1280000 steps (0%)
23:39:26:WU01:FS01:0x21:Temperature control disabled. Requirements: single Nvidia GPU, tmax must be < 110 and twait >= 900
******************************* Date: 2015-08-25 *******************************
09:16:31:WU01:FS01:0x21:Completed 12800 out of 1280000 steps (1%)
11:16:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:ERROR:exception: The periodic box size has decreased to less than twice the nonbonded cutoff.
11:16:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:Saving result file logfile_01.txt
11:16:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:Saving result file log.txt
11:16:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:Folding@home Core Shutdown: BAD_WORK_UNIT
11:16:47:WARNING:WU01:FS01:FahCore returned: BAD_WORK_UNIT (114 = 0x72)
11:16:47:WU01:FS01:Sending unit results: id:01 state:SEND error:FAULTY project:9712 run:5 clone:0 gen:3 core:0x21 unit:0x00000011ab40416255b9a6f3dfb9d2c2
11:16:47:WU01:FS01:Uploading 3.91KiB to 171.64.65.98
11:16:47:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.98:8080
11:16:48:WU01:FS01:Upload complete
11:16:48:WU01:FS01:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
11:16:48:WU01:FS01:Cleaning up
seatsea
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:38 pm

Re: [Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby bruce » Tue Aug 25, 2015 2:44 pm

That WU has failed for everybody who processed it. (That WU was reassigned and now has been removed from circulation as a bad WU.)
bruce
 
Posts: 23060
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: [Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby seatsea » Thu Aug 27, 2015 5:11 pm

Other WU are just as slow.
seatsea
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:38 pm

Re: [Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby bruce » Thu Aug 27, 2015 6:38 pm

Kebast wrote:Sorry, mine ended up just being a driver conflict issue. The newest driver seems to work fine now.


Please explain (for the rest of us).
bruce
 
Posts: 23060
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: [Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby seatsea » Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:47 am

It seems that my issue isn't actually related to the distro, as I'm now using Kubuntu and it seems that the same problem is happening.
seatsea
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:38 pm

Re: [Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby 7im » Tue Sep 01, 2015 2:27 pm

New OS, same questions. Passkey? Actual PPD? Post the log.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: [Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby seatsea » Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:33 pm

I had an unrelated problem on Kubuntu which made me have to switch back, sorry about that.

However, I've now managed to get my GPU to fold correctly, I would tell you how I did that, but I do not know.

The only thing I really did differently was download the opencl-headers package which i don't think has any impact.
seatsea
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 3:38 pm

Re: [Arch Linux] Very low PPD

Postby 7im » Wed Sep 02, 2015 6:13 pm

In ubuntu, no difference, OpenCL is built in to the driver installer. Don't know about Arch, but I have heard that some OS need to have the OpenCL portion installed separately. So that is likely the fix.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Next

Return to Q&A about unsupported distros of Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron