GPU folding, CPU idle

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

GPU folding, CPU idle

Postby DWRoelands » Mon Jul 17, 2017 4:03 am

Running 7.4.4 on Windows 10 with Intel I7-7700 with 8 cores and an nVidia GTX 1060.

Multiple entries in the log:
04:01:31:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:8080
04:01:32:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:8080': Empty work server assignment
04:01:32:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.35:80
04:01:32:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.64.65.35:80': Empty work server assignment
04:01:32:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get an assignment

How do I remedy this?
DWRoelands
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 3:59 am

Re: GPU folding, CPU idle

Postby JimboPalmer » Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:12 am

When you fold without a GPU on Full, it uses all your CPUs. When you fold with a GPU, it reserves one CPU to support GPU folding.

CPU folding hates large prime numbers, (where large is greater than 3, or sometimes 5) and multiples of large prime numbers.

8 CPUs was fine, 2 * 2 * 2 has no large primes. 7 is prime and not a good choice. If you set your Advanced Client to 6 CPUs in the Slot Configuration, 2 * 3 it will be fine again.

(There is a beta version 7.4.16 that automates this, but it has other annoying bugs, so I do not always recommend it. (The default theme is 'broken' so you have to change themes in Preferences before you can see well enough to change themes, and it has a memory leak, so you can't leave it running. https://folding.stanford.edu/beta/ )
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
I did not set out to have a brain transplant, but then I changed my mind.
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: GPU folding, CPU idle

Postby DWRoelands » Tue Jul 18, 2017 3:04 am

Thank you! This fixed me right up!
DWRoelands
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 3:59 am

Re: GPU folding, CPU idle

Postby jrweiss » Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:20 pm

JimboPalmer wrote:(There is a beta version 7.4.16 that automates this, but it has other annoying bugs, so I do not always recommend it. (The default theme is 'broken' so you have to change themes in Preferences before you can see well enough to change themes, and it has a memory leak, so you can't leave it running. https://folding.stanford.edu/beta/ )

I haven't had any problem with the default theme on v7.4.16.

Where is this memory leak documented or discussed? I run v7.4.16 24/7 on 2 computers without problems.
i4770K/AMD RX460 (CPU6+GPU), i7-3770S/AMD7750 (CPU6+GPU)
User avatar
jrweiss
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:56 am
Location: Gotta guess!

Re: GPU folding, CPU idle

Postby bruce » Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:04 am

jrweiss wrote:I haven't had any problem with the default theme on v7.4.16.

Where is this memory leak documented or discussed? I run v7.4.16 24/7 on 2 computers without problems.

The ticket says it's a Windows memory leak which probably means you're running Linux.

The problem with the default Theme has been observed in Windows but It's entirely possible that it's not a problem in Linux either. Themes in Windows and in Linux are quite different.

How about it: You folks running LInux: Have you observed Theme difficulties in V7.4.16?
bruce
 
Posts: 21083
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU folding, CPU idle

Postby jrweiss » Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:12 pm

Nope - running Win7-64.

The ticket you reference does refer to a forum post that highlights a memory leak when the Advanced Control window remains open. I don't leave the window open.

OTOH, I did check one computer that has been running a couple weeks since last reboot. Memory usage for FAHClient.exe was indeed up to 480MB or so, compared with 20MB after restart. As I said, it hasn't presented any problems for me so far; but I'll monitor it a bit closer now.
User avatar
jrweiss
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:56 am
Location: Gotta guess!

Re: GPU folding, CPU idle

Postby JimboPalmer » Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:29 am

jrweiss wrote:I don't leave the window open.


And all I claimed was that you can't leave it running, so you should not encounter the leak.
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: GPU folding, CPU idle

Postby bruce » Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:36 am

jrweiss wrote:Memory usage for FAHClient.exe was indeed up to 480MB or so, compared with 20MB after restart. As I said, it hasn't presented any problems for me so far; but I'll monitor it a bit closer now.

The leak is in FAHControl, not FAHClient.

FAHClient's memory requirements do depend on the number of slots, active downloads, etc. but it doesn't continue to grow like FAHControl. FAHControl is very useful whenever you need to change settings, but it can be closed when you're not doing that. FAHClient needs to run continuously; FAHControl doesn't ... and you can always use WebControl if you want a continuing reminder of what that machine is doing.
bruce
 
Posts: 21083
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU folding, CPU idle

Postby jrweiss » Thu Jul 20, 2017 7:55 pm

bruce wrote:The leak is in FAHControl, not FAHClient.

OK. I wasn't acutely aware that FAHClient spawned another process when opening FAHControl. Makes sense, though...

FAHClient's memory requirements do depend on the number of slots, active downloads, etc. but it doesn't continue to grow like FAHControl.

I'm not so sure about that, now that you have me looking at it...

I restarted FAHClient in both machines yesterday. Total memory usage (RAM+Virtual) was around 20 MB in each of them. Today one is at 35 MB and the other at 44 MB. All instances were roughly divided half & half RAM : Virtual. Given the fact that the machine that had been running the longest without reboot had grown to 480 MB for FAHClient, you may start looking for a memory leak there, too.

Number of slots hasn't changed - 1 CPU and 1 GPU in each machine. I didn't check if it was actively downloading at the time, but would the Client be caching a download in RAM during the download?
User avatar
jrweiss
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:56 am
Location: Gotta guess!


Return to V7.4.4 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron