How delete GPU WU's

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

How delete GPU WU's

Postby rfharbin » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:23 pm

I can delete a bad/failed CPU WU OK but every time I have tried to delete a GPU WU I have had to uninstall and reinstall FAH.
Please tell me how to rid of a GPU WU and if it makes a difference on how one installs FAH7.
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:33 pm

Re: How delete GPU WU's

Postby bruce » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:41 pm

Each WU is downloaded with a unique Queue number.. (The numbers are not necessarily consecutive.) The queue number is NOT related to the slot number. and is NOT shown by WebControl.

When running FAHControl, there are two central panels called FoldingSlots and WorkQueue. Identify the WU you wish to delete on the lower panel (WorkQueue) and note it's number.
Alternatively, look at FAH's log, where each message from the WU is identified by several numbers, such as 16:23:14:WU03:FS02:0x21:... Note the WU number in this example, WU03.

Using the number identified by either of those methods, run "FAHClient --dump NN" from a terminal/console window where, in this case NN is 3. Note the double dash preceeding the word "dump".

Do not dump WUs unnecessarily.

There are other methods that many people use, but this is the official method.
bruce
 
Posts: 21276
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: How delete GPU WU's

Postby rfharbin » Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:49 pm

I am using Win10 so I assume that I open a command prompt, is this correct?

Somehow I was running two GPU WU's at a time and the FAHControl gave me a failed notice. My computer was out of service for several weeks and obviously I goofed getting it started again.
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:33 pm

Re: How delete GPU WU's

Postby bruce » Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:43 pm

Command prompt = text Windows = terminal = Console (= may other terms)

If your computer has been off-line, expired WUs should delete themselves.
bruce
 
Posts: 21276
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: How delete GPU WU's

Postby rfharbin » Thu Sep 14, 2017 9:26 am

Thanks for the info, I will watch longer next time that I am off line.
Again thank you very much.
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:33 pm

Re: How delete GPU WU's

Postby rfharbin » Sat Sep 16, 2017 12:42 pm

I cannot see how to post a picture or a log here. I seldom use this forum.

I tried the above suggestion on a failed GPU WU and got the following message.

C:\Users\Mine>FAHClient--dump 00
`FAHClient--dump` is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

What went wrong? I would like to get back to folding.
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:33 pm

Re: How delete GPU WU's

Postby Joe_H » Sat Sep 16, 2017 4:08 pm

There is a space required between FAHClient and the '--dump'.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3814
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: How delete GPU WU's

Postby rfharbin » Sat Sep 16, 2017 4:50 pm

I tried again adding the space and got the sane error.

C:\Users\Mine>FAHClient --dump 00
'FAHClient' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:33 pm

Re: How delete GPU WU's

Postby rfharbin » Sat Sep 16, 2017 7:29 pm

I am frustrated. I have been working on this for the second day and the hours are getting too long.

In brief;
I found it running the command above in an administrator Command Prompt told me that I needed to shut down FAH; (duh). The only way I could find to shut down the client was to use the Taskmaster as an administrator. Then I had to restart the computer to get FAH folding again properly. I had a CPU WU I put on finish so as to be able to remove and reinstall FAH if need be and somehow it was deleted also in the process of trying to rid of a failed GPU WU. The CPU WU was 93+% done. I deleted the GPU core 21 and restared again but I still have a failed GPU WU.

19:25:16:WU01:FS01:Starting
19:25:16:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/WINDOWS/system32/cores/fahwebx.stanford.edu/cores/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 5284 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor nvidia
19:25:16:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 9288
19:25:16:WU01:FS01:Core PID:9036
19:25:16:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
19:25:17:WARNING:WU01:FS01:FahCore returned: FAILED_1 (0 = 0x0)
19:25:17:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Too many errors, failing
19:25:17:WU01:FS01:Sending unit results: id:01 state:SEND error:FAILED project:9414 run:1696 clone:0 gen:89 core:0x21 unit:0x0000006aab436c9d585e069d28f4e196
19:25:17:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:8080
19:25:17:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
19:25:17:WU01:FS01:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
19:25:17:WU01:FS01:Cleaning up
19:25:18:WU02:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.157
19:25:18:WU02:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:GM107 [GeForce GTX 745] from 171.67.108.157
19:25:18:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:8080
19:25:18:WU02:FS01:Downloading 5.15MiB
19:25:24:WU02:FS01:Download 84.93%
19:25:24:WU02:FS01:Download complete
19:25:25:WU02:FS01:Received Unit: id:02 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:9415 run:2117 clone:0 gen:329 core:0x21 unit:0x00000183ab436c9d585e06dc6fd83357
19:25:25:WU02:FS01:Starting
19:25:25:WU02:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/WINDOWS/system32/cores/fahwebx.stanford.edu/cores/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 5284 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor nvidia
19:25:25:WU02:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 2708
19:25:25:WU02:FS01:Core PID:11776
19:25:25:WU02:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
19:25:25:WARNING:WU02:FS01:FahCore returned: FAILED_1 (0 = 0x0)
19:25:25:WU02:FS01:Starting
19:25:25:WU02:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/WINDOWS/system32/cores/fahwebx.stanford.edu/cores/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 5284 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor nvidia
19:25:25:WU02:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 9372
19:25:25:WU02:FS01:Core PID:8292
19:25:25:WU02:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
19:25:26:WARNING:WU02:FS01:FahCore returned: FAILED_1 (0 = 0x0)
19:26:25:WU02:FS01:Starting
19:26:25:WU02:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/WINDOWS/system32/cores/fahwebx.stanford.edu/cores/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 5284 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor nvidia
19:26:25:WU02:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 11004
19:26:25:WU02:FS01:Core PID:12012
19:26:25:WU02:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
19:26:26:WARNING:WU02:FS01:FahCore returned: FAILED_1 (0 = 0x0)
19:27:25:WU02:FS01:Starting
19:27:25:WU02:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/WINDOWS/system32/cores/fahwebx.stanford.edu/cores/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 5284 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor nvidia
19:27:25:WU02:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 10000
19:27:25:WU02:FS01:Core PID:10060
19:27:25:WU02:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
19:27:26:WARNING:WU02:FS01:FahCore returned: FAILED_1 (0 = 0x0)
19:28:26:WU02:FS01:Starting
19:28:26:WU02:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/WINDOWS/system32/cores/fahwebx.stanford.edu/cores/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 5284 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor nvidia
19:28:26:WU02:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 11676
19:28:26:WU02:FS01:Core PID:11344
19:28:26:WU02:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
19:28:26:WARNING:WU02:FS01:FahCore returned: FAILED_1 (0 = 0x0)
19:28:26:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Too many errors, failing
19:28:26:WU02:FS01:Sending unit results: id:02 state:SEND error:FAILED project:9415 run:2117 clone:0 gen:329 core:0x21 unit:0x00000183ab436c9d585e06dc6fd83357
19:28:26:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:8080
19:28:27:WU02:FS01:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
19:28:27:WU02:FS01:Cleaning up
19:28:27:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
19:28:27:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.157
19:28:27:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:GM107 [GeForce GTX 745] from 171.67.108.157
19:28:27:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:8080
19:28:28:WU01:FS01:Downloading 5.13MiB
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:33 pm

Re: How delete GPU WU's

Postby bruce » Sun Sep 17, 2017 2:41 am

I think you're asking the wrong question. You don't need to delete a WU. According to the information you just posted, FAH has automatically deleted at least two failed WUs already
> project:9414 run:1696 clone:0 gen:89
> project:9415 run:2117 clone:0 gen:329

And probably one or more before you got to this point. When FAH cannot process a WU, it normally deletes it, downloads a fresh one and ?to run it.
The question that needs to be asked is why FAH is not processing the WUs it is downloading.

Apparently you run running Windows 10 and you have a GPU from NVidia. (If that's not true, please tell us.)
Have you downloaded and installed the drivers from NVidia? (The drivers supplied by Microsoft (Windows) do not contain all the components that FAH requires.)

Yes, it matters how you installed FAH. When you installed the FAH software, did you accept the default settings or did you make changes? Let's start by reinstalling it, accepting the default settings -- or let's at least talk about the changes you want to make.

The information you posted above is a good start but it would be helpful to see more of your log. Open the Windows FIleManager andtype %APPDATA%\FAHClient including the %-signs. You should see several directories and several individual files. One text file will be called either "log" or "log.txt." Open it. A time-stamp will be on the left. Copy from the beginning at least until the first second has elapsed and paste that information into your next post.

Next, how are you starting FAH? The default installation will start it automatically, but if you have changed that, you MUST use the shortcut provided during the installation. To stop or start the folding process, you should use the WebControl program provided automatically or FAHControl, once you're ready to do that.
bruce
 
Posts: 21276
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: How delete GPU WU's

Postby rfharbin » Sun Sep 17, 2017 11:24 am

I deleted the last couple WU's following the instructions above. If I do not delete the WU's they are still there hours later, like the next morning. I have a NVidia GPU And set Windows update so that it would not update my drivers over a year ago and until this last week when a contractor finished some work here and I could put the furniture back and set up the computer it has been folding OK. I did not use the using the default settings but I think it is set the same way. I will reinstall with the default setting as soon as possible after postings this. I will go to NVidia and be sure that I have the correct drivers.

If Windows 10 has a File Manager it must have a different name. I searched thoroughly and I do have a version of Windows File Manager in my utilities folder that I downloaded from http://www.brydon.net years ago and use to search though The operating system manually. It is from an old version of Windows and it does not have a way to type anything in it to search. I found the log you likely want in C:\ProgramData\FAHClient\log.txt

*********************** Log Started 2017-09-12T20:30:01Z ***********************
20:30:01:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
20:30:01: Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
20:30:01: Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
20:30:01: Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
20:30:01: Args: --open-web-control
20:30:01: Config: <none>
20:30:01:******************************** Build ********************************
20:30:01: Version: 7.4.4
20:30:01: Date: Mar 4 2014
20:30:01: Time: 20:26:54
20:30:01: SVN Rev: 4130
20:30:01: Branch: fah/trunk/client
20:30:01: Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
20:30:01: Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
20:30:01: /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
20:30:01: Platform: win32 XP
20:30:01: Bits: 32
20:30:01: Mode: Release
20:30:01:******************************* System ********************************
20:30:01: CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
20:30:01: CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 94 Stepping 3
20:30:01: CPUs: 8
20:30:01: Memory: 15.95GiB
20:30:01: Free Memory: 11.60GiB
20:30:01: Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
20:30:01: OS Version: 6.2
20:30:01: Has Battery: false
20:30:01: On Battery: false
20:30:01: UTC Offset: -4
20:30:01: PID: 4508
20:30:01: CWD: C:/ProgramData/FAHClient
20:30:01: OS: Windows 10 Home
20:30:01: OS Arch: AMD64
20:30:01: GPUs: 0
20:30:01: CUDA: 5.0
20:30:01: CUDA Driver: 8000
20:30:01:Win32 Service: false
20:30:01:***********************************************************************
20:30:01:<config>
20:30:01: <!-- Folding Slots -->
20:30:01:</config>
20:30:01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
20:30:02:Updated GPUs.txt
20:30:02:Read GPUs.txt
20:30:02:Trying to access database...
20:30:02:Successfully acquired database lock
20:30:02:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:6 (not configured)
20:30:02:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:GM107 [GeForce GTX 745] (not configured)
20:30:07:12:127.0.0.1:New Web connection
20:31:03:Saving configuration to config.xml
20:31:03:<config>

I can use the Task Manager to shut down FAHClient but the only way I know to properly start it is to restart the computer. Please tell where the shortcut to start it is. Could the FAHClient/HideCondole.exe be the proper way to start F@H?
Edit I can also Log off my user profile and back to start FAH.
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:33 pm

Re: How delete GPU WU's

Postby bruce » Sun Sep 17, 2017 2:08 pm

The problem you're having is that the options you use to install do not match the options you use when you run it. That needs to be fixed by altering either of those two to match the other one. The simplest option is probably to accept the default install and then use the shorcuts provided by the installation.

Occasionaly we've gotten other reports similar to yours and I'd like to understand it better.

I'm currently on-the-road and this laptop has Win7, so I can't guarantee to explain things exactly in a way that fits Win10 until I get home and walk through it exactly. From memory, Win10 provides a list of programs that have been installed that I've called "shortcuts" fitting the Win7 terminology of this laptop. Sorry.

The problem I see from the log that you provided is that the configuration that normally happens on a new install had not been completed at startup time. It then does some configuration processing and saves it somewhere, but not where FAH will find it next time it's started. Somewhere on your system there is another set of FAH's working files. By default, FAH puts them in a hidden directory called %APPDATA%\FAHClient in accordance with Microsoft's policy as of when the installation procedure was last revised.

In my experience with Win10, I have not found a good way to tell it to "search everywhere" (including in hidden files). Maybe your download will do that.

Where are the WUs that you need to delete?
bruce
 
Posts: 21276
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: How delete GPU WU's

Postby rfharbin » Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:16 pm

FAH installs its files differently according to whether one does a default install or a custom install, and I am wondering if the install varies by whether it is installed in a Administrative user profile or a standard user profile. I almost always use a custom install to see if there are parts and /or other programs that I do not need or are quite undesirable. FAH is OK but some other program downloads can be a problem, hence the habit. I have received both unneeded and bad programs using a default install.
I had a problem like this a few years ago but did not remember it until I had FAH working good. I have a “Where am I” file. A bit of it is below. These are locations where I found FAH 7 work folders today and in past years.

FAH Work folders
C:\ProgramData\FAHClient
C:\ProgramData\LHService
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\cores\fahwebx.stanford.edu\cores\Win32\AMD64\NVIDIA\Fermi
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\cores\web.stanford.edu\~pande\Win32\AMD64\NVIDIA\Fermi
FAH Work folders (Custom)
C://Users /ur name/AppData/roaming/FAHClient/work

Earlier today I deleted the Core_21.fah and its folder under C:\ProgramData\FAHClient and FAHClient has been running well since. There is a Core_a4 and a Core_a7 in the ProgramData folder also but I am leery of deleting them knowing as little as I do.

I have eleven core files on my computer right now.
Four _a4’s, one in “users\XXXX\Appdata”, another in “ProgramData”, and two in “C:Windows\SYSWOW64.
Three _a7’s one in each of the above files.
Three _21’s, one in “users\XXXX\Appdata”, and one each in ;
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\cores\fahwebx.stanford.edu\cores\Win32\AMD64\NVIDIA\Fermi
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\cores\web.stanford.edu\~pande\Win32\AMD64\NVIDIA\Fermi.
One _18 in the Widows/SYSWOW64 folder.

Windows10 search needs to be improved in my opinion but there are two ways to search in Win10; one in the Start menu and another by opening up a File Explorer. Look in the upper right corner. Click on the View tab and look almost all the way over to the right side. I keep the “Hidden Items” and “File Name Extentions” checked. I can’t give exact details as I use Classic Shell so as to have my favorite pieces of Win7 and WinXP in my Start Menu.

The next time I have a reason to uninstall and reinstall F@H I am going to thoroughly search my computer for bits of FAH that have not been deleted. I believe that is what caused my problem. Wise Program Uninstaller is very good but not perfect.

Thank you very much for helping.
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:33 pm

Re: How delete GPU WU's

Postby bruce » Mon Sep 18, 2017 1:30 am

The FAHCore files can all be deleted (except for one which is active at the time). FAH will re-download a fresh copy of any FAHCore it needs when a WU calls for it. (They did change the filename not long ago, so there are some that won't be called again.

If you install "just for me" the working files will be in C://Users /ur name/AppData/roaming/FAHClient/work and will be used by the shortcuts on the Windows10 menu system. If FAH is started by other means, you're at the mercy of your OS deciding what the current directory will be used. If you install "for everyone" it will try to use the admin account ... and since you can only run one copy at a time, there's not really a way for "everyone" to run it.
bruce
 
Posts: 21276
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: How delete GPU WU's

Postby rfharbin » Mon Sep 18, 2017 10:24 am

Thanks for the info. I will remove all the FAHCore files not being used presently. I do not remember whether I installed "Just for me" but I likely did not do so as I like to be able run from both of my profiles but rarely use the Administrative profile. I will install FAH "just for me" in the future. I got FAH running by deleting the core 21 in the AppData folder. As soon as I get some free time I will set FAHClient to finish and uninstall, search my computer to be sure everything is gone and reinstall as you recommend in my standard user profile. I am going to save this thread to my computer so as to have it available off line.

Thank very much for the Help.
User avatar
rfharbin
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:33 pm


Return to V7.4.4 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron