Proxy bug. 7.4.4 - fails, 7.3.6 - works

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Proxy bug. 7.4.4 - fails, 7.3.6 - works

Postby rjhorn3 » Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:55 am

Due to a hard disk crash I recently re-installed the FAHClient. This time it was version 7.4.4. It does not work through my proxy. IE, Chrome, Firefox, and Windows Update all worked on the same system through the same proxy. Replacing it with 7.3.6 from the .tar.bz2 file solved the problem. So it is something that changed between those two releases.

The proxy is privoxy version 3.0.24 running on a Linux system.

R Horn

The following is the combined logs, first of the failure of 7.4.4 and second of the success of 7.3.6

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2016-09-19T14:38:55Z ***********************
14:38:55:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
14:38:55:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
14:38:55:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
14:38:55:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
14:38:55:         Args: --open-web-control
14:38:55:       Config: C:/Users/hornrj/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/config.xml
14:38:55:******************************** Build ********************************
14:38:55:      Version: 7.4.4
14:38:55:         Date: Mar 4 2014
14:38:55:         Time: 20:26:54
14:38:55:      SVN Rev: 4130
14:38:55:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
14:38:55:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
14:38:55:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
14:38:55:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
14:38:55:     Platform: win32 XP
14:38:55:         Bits: 32
14:38:55:         Mode: Release
14:38:55:******************************* System ********************************
14:38:55:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2400S CPU @ 2.50GHz
14:38:55:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
14:38:55:         CPUs: 4
14:38:55:       Memory: 7.98GiB
14:38:55:  Free Memory: 6.55GiB
14:38:55:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
14:38:55:   OS Version: 6.1
14:38:55:  Has Battery: false
14:38:55:   On Battery: false
14:38:55:   UTC Offset: -4
14:38:55:          PID: 852
14:38:55:          CWD: C:/Users/hornrj/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
14:38:55:           OS: Windows 7 Professional
14:38:55:      OS Arch: AMD64
14:38:55:         GPUs: 1
14:38:55:        GPU 0: ATI:4 ManhattanP [Radeon HD 5400/6200/7300/8300]
14:38:55:         CUDA: Not detected
14:38:55:Win32 Service: false
14:38:55:***********************************************************************
14:38:55:<config>
14:38:55:  <!-- Network -->
14:38:55:  <proxy v='192.168.1.10:8118'/>
14:38:55:  <proxy-enable v='true'/>
14:38:55:
14:38:55:  <!-- User Information -->
14:38:55:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
14:38:55:  <user v='hornrj'/>
14:38:55:
14:38:55:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
14:38:55:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
14:38:55:</config>
14:38:55:Trying to access database...
14:38:55:Successfully acquired database lock
14:38:55:Enabled folding slot 00: READY cpu:3
14:38:55:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get IP address for assign3.stanford.edu: No such host is known.
14:38:56:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get IP address for assign3.stanford.edu: No such host is known.
14:39:00:16:127.0.0.1:New Web connection
14:39:56:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get IP address for assign3.stanford.edu: No such host is known.

This is the log that works

*********************** Log Started 2016-09-19T22:28:51Z ***********************
22:28:51:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
22:28:51:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
22:28:51:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2013 Stanford University
22:28:51:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
22:28:51:         Args:
22:28:51:       Config: C:/cygwin/home/hornrj/impromptu/fahclient_7.3.6-32bit-release/config.xml
22:28:51:******************************** Build ********************************
22:28:51:      Version: 7.3.6
22:28:51:         Date: Feb 18 2013
22:28:51:         Time: 15:24:05
22:28:51:      SVN Rev: 3923
22:28:51:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
22:28:51:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
22:28:51:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE2
22:28:51:               /QaxSSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
22:28:51:     Platform: win32 Vista
22:28:51:         Bits: 32
22:28:51:         Mode: Release
22:28:51:******************************* System ********************************
22:28:51:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2400S CPU @ 2.50GHz
22:28:51:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
22:28:51:         CPUs: 4
22:28:51:       Memory: 7.98GiB
22:28:51:  Free Memory: 6.58GiB
22:28:51:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
22:28:51:  Has Battery: false
22:28:51:   On Battery: false
22:28:51:   UTC offset: 1
22:28:51:          PID: 3136
22:28:51:          CWD: C:/cygwin/home/hornrj/impromptu/fahclient_7.3.6-32bit-release
22:28:51:           OS: Windows 7 Professional
22:28:51:      OS Arch: AMD64
22:28:51:         GPUs: 1
22:28:51:        GPU 0: ATI:4 ManhattanP [AMD Radeon HD 6230]
22:28:51:         CUDA: Not detected
22:28:51:Win32 Service: false
22:28:51:***********************************************************************
22:28:51:<config>
22:28:51:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
22:28:51:  <power v='full'/>
22:28:51:
22:28:51:  <!-- Network -->
22:28:51:  <proxy v='192.168.1.10:8118'/>
22:28:51:  <proxy-enable v='true'/>
22:28:51:
22:28:51:  <!-- User Information -->
22:28:51:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
22:28:51:  <user v='hornrj'/>
22:28:51:
22:28:51:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
22:28:51:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
22:28:51:</config>
22:28:51:Trying to access database...
22:28:51:Successfully acquired database lock
22:28:51:FS00:Set client configured
22:28:51:Enabled folding slot 00: READY cpu:4
22:28:52:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 192.168.1.10:8118
22:28:52:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 192.168.1.10:8118
22:28:53:WU00:FS00:News:
22:28:53:WU00:FS00:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.158
22:28:53:WU00:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY cpu:4 from 171.67.108.158
22:28:53:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 192.168.1.10:8118
22:28:54:WU00:FS00:Downloading 806.68KiB
22:28:54:WU00:FS00:Download complete
22:28:55:WU00:FS00:Received Unit: id:00 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:9031 run:900 clone:0 gen:260 core:0xa4 unit:0x0000012dab436c9e569833bf9bf961d3
22:28:55:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://web.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
22:28:55:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 192.168.1.10:8118
22:28:55:WU00:FS00:FahCore a4: Downloading 2.89MiB
22:28:59:WU00:FS00:FahCore a4: Download complete
22:28:59:WU00:FS00:Valid core signature
22:28:59:WU00:FS00:Unpacked 9.59MiB to cores/web.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah/FahCore_a4.exe
22:28:59:WU00:FS00:Starting
22:28:59:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: C:\cygwin\home\hornrj\impromptu\fahclient_7.3.6-32bit-release/FAHCoreWrapper.exe C:/cygwin/home/hornrj/impromptu/fahclient_7.3.6-32bit-release/cores/web.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah/FahCore_a4.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 3136 -checkpoint 15 -np 4
22:28:59:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 4060
22:29:00:WU00:FS00:Core PID:1292
22:29:00:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0xa4 started
22:29:00:WU00:FS00:0xa4:
22:29:00:WU00:FS00:0xa4:*------------------------------*
22:29:00:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Folding@Home Gromacs GB Core
22:29:00:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
22:29:00:WU00:FS00:0xa4:
22:29:00:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Preparing to commence simulation
22:29:00:WU00:FS00:0xa4:- Looking at optimizations...
22:29:01:WU00:FS00:0xa4:- Created dyn
22:29:01:WU00:FS00:0xa4:- Files status OK
22:29:01:WU00:FS00:0xa4:- Expanded 825524 -> 1397768 (decompressed 169.3 percent)
22:29:01:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=825524 data_size=1397768, decompressed_data_size=1397768 diff=0
22:29:01:WU00:FS00:0xa4:- Digital signature verified
22:29:01:WU00:FS00:0xa4:
22:29:01:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Project: 9031 (Run 900, Clone 0, Gen 260)
22:29:01:WU00:FS00:0xa4:
22:29:01:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Assembly optimizations on if available.
22:29:01:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Entering M.D.
22:29:07:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Mapping NT from 4 to 4
22:29:07:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 0 out of 250000 steps  (0%)
rjhorn3
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:37 am

Re: Proxy bug. 7.4.4 - fails, 7.3.6 - works

Postby bruce » Tue Sep 20, 2016 3:46 pm

Based on what you posted, the difference probably has something to do with how the DNS service gets it's information. You might check which source(s) are being used for DNS.

Assign3.stanford.edu is a synonym for VSP11.stanford.edu [171.67.108.45]. Are you able to ping that IP address and/or the VSP11 name and/or open them in your browser??
bruce
 
Posts: 22628
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Proxy bug. 7.4.4 - fails, 7.3.6 - works

Postby rjhorn3 » Tue Sep 20, 2016 7:36 pm

The whole point of being behind the proxy is that all connections go through the proxy. There is no DNS visibility and should not be any DNS visibility. All HTTP connection attempts must go through the proxy. 7.3.6 (and all the other software) does this right. 7.4.4 does it wrong. As for DNS at the proxy, it is identical for all the tests. The only change is between 7.3.6 and 7.4.4 of FAHClient.
rjhorn3
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:37 am

Re: Proxy bug. 7.4.4 - fails, 7.3.6 - works

Postby bruce » Tue Sep 20, 2016 7:51 pm

So does that mean you can open http://171.67.108.45 and/or http://VSP11.stanford.edu in your browser?
bruce
 
Posts: 22628
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Proxy bug. 7.4.4 - fails, 7.3.6 - works

Postby rjhorn3 » Tue Sep 20, 2016 9:31 pm

Yes. As I said, IE, Chrome, FIrefox, Windows Update, and 7.3.6 all work. It's 7.4.4 that does not. (Well, Windows Update connects only to microsoft systems.) But the others all connect just fine to the various standford aliases. One clue to the nature of the bug is that the FAHClient log from 7.3.6 shows the connection to 192.168.1.10:8118 (the proxy). 7.4.4 shows it attempting a connection to the unreachable assign3.stanford.edu.
rjhorn3
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:37 am

Re: Proxy bug. 7.4.4 - fails, 7.3.6 - works

Postby rjhorn3 » Sun Jun 16, 2019 5:57 pm

An update:

The bug is still present in 7.5.1. I tried some more experiments and can reduce the scope of the bug.

1. The log (with error) looks like this:
17:25:13:Connecting to 192.168.1.10:8118
17:25:13:Updated GPUs.txt
17:25:18:Saving configuration to config.xml
17:25:18:<config>
17:25:18: <!-- Network -->
17:25:18: <proxy v='192.168.1.10:8118'/>
17:25:18: <proxy-enable v='true'/>
17:25:18:
17:25:18: <!-- Slot Control -->
17:25:18: <power v='MEDIUM'/>
17:25:18:
17:25:18: <!-- User Information -->
17:25:18: <passkey v='********************************'/>
17:25:18: <user v='hornrj'/>
17:25:18:
17:25:18: <!-- Folding Slots -->
17:25:18: <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
17:25:18:</config>
17:25:55:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get IP address for assign1.foldingathome.org: No such host is known.
17:25:55:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get IP address for assign2.foldingathome.org: No such host is known.
17:25:55:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to find any IP addresses for assignment servers
17:28:32:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get IP address for assign1.foldingathome.org: No such host is known.
17:28:32:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get IP address for assign2.foldingathome.org: No such host is known.
17:28:32:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Failed to find any IP addresses for assignment servers


The error is the attempt to resolve assign1.foldingathome.org while behind the proxy. This will not work. The name assign1.foldingathome.org should be part of the URL request that is sent to the proxy. The proxy, and only the proxy, has access to external DNS.

I added the IPs for assign1 and assign2 to the internal host list, and the problem went away. So once this mistaken DNS request is resolved, the rest of the interaction uses the proxy properly. A core was downloaded and a project run started.
rjhorn3
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:37 am

Re: Proxy bug. 7.4.4 - fails, 7.3.6 - works

Postby bruce » Mon Jun 17, 2019 12:11 am

rjhorn3 wrote:The bug is still present in 7.5.1. I tried some more experiments and can reduce the scope of the bug.


I'm not sure you can really call this a FAH bug. rather it's a feature of the proxy software, which is often used to restrict access of those who are required to operate from behind the proxy by company or university policies.

Just curious: If you add an external DNS address to your local machine, does your client search that DNS, too, or is that request blocked by the proxy.
bruce
 
Posts: 22628
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Proxy bug. 7.4.4 - fails, 7.3.6 - works

Postby rjhorn3 » Mon Jun 17, 2019 1:15 am

I assume FAH uses the local DNS server. When I add the external IP for the assignment computers to the local DNS everything seems to work properly. I don't get DNS logs at that level of detail needed to be sure, but when I put an incorrect internal IP in as the assignment server address on the local server FAH attempts to connect to that internal machine (and fails).

I consider this to be an FAH bug primarily because FAH is the only proxy using software that insists on having access to external DNS services. All of the browsers (Edge, Chrome, Firefox) and other software (Microsoft Update, etc.) that I have let the proxy manage DNS. They send the desired URL with the desired FQDN to the proxy. The proxy then manages the external DNS. It's also only affects the assignment machines. As the following log snippet shows, FAH does not need to use the local DNS for cores.foldingathome.org. It allowed the proxy to resolve that FQDN and a new core was downloaded properly. This behavior only affects the work unit assignment. My guess is that code is written to use the IP address exclusively for assignment servers, rather than allowing FQDN.

17:38:11:FS00:Paused
17:38:14:FS00:Unpaused
17:38:14:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 192.168.1.10:8118
17:38:15:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 192.168.1.10:8118
17:38:15:WU00:FS00:Assigned to work server 155.247.166.219
17:38:15:WU00:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY cpu:3 from 155.247.166.219
17:38:15:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 192.168.1.10:8118
17:38:15:WU00:FS00:Downloading 294.34KiB
17:38:15:WU00:FS00:Download complete
17:38:16:WU00:FS00:Received Unit: id:00 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:14153 run:1 clone:75 gen:132 core:0xa7 unit:0x0000009b0002894b5c546d16aab611b1
17:38:16:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AM ... ore_a7.fah
17:38:16:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 192.168.1.10:8118
17:38:16:WU00:FS00:FahCore a7: Downloading 6.82MiB
17:38:19:WU00:FS00:FahCore a7: Download complete
17:38:19:WU00:FS00:Valid core signature
17:38:19:WU00:FS00:Unpacked 20.16MiB to cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/AVX/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe
17:38:19:WU00:FS00:Unpacked 2.64MiB to cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/AVX/Core_a7.fah/libfftw3f-3.dll
rjhorn3
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 10:37 am


Return to V7.4.4 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X (deprecated)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests

cron