HELP-'gpu-index' has no default and is not set

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Re: HELP-'gpu-index' has no default and is not set

Postby bruce » Thu May 14, 2020 6:07 am

When FAH starts up, it identifies the GPUs that you have and their drivers. (That's why we ask for the begninning of the log.) Then it configures slots to hold the assigned WU and associates one slot with your CPU assignment and one slot for each GPU. The message "'gpu-index' has no default and is not set" means it cannot figure out which GPU should be associated with each slot.

If your system has no supportable GPUs or if the drivers are not correctly installed it's impossible to make that association, hence the message.

In the first post, PaulN has an unsupported GPU so he cannot configure a GPU slot. @shimonavichay, you may have a different problem but we'll gladly help you when we see the log.
bruce
 
Posts: 19113
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: HELP-'gpu-index' has no default and is not set

Postby shimonavichay » Thu May 14, 2020 4:22 pm

that's the most recent log file

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2020-05-13T19:48:57Z ***********************
19:48:57:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
19:48:57:        Website: https://foldingathome.org/
19:48:57:      Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
19:48:57:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
19:48:57:           Args:
19:48:57:         Config: C:\Users\שמעון רוזנברג\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\config.xml
19:48:57:******************************** Build ********************************
19:48:57:        Version: 7.5.1
19:48:57:           Date: May 11 2018
19:48:57:           Time: 13:06:32
19:48:57:     Repository: Git
19:48:57:       Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
19:48:57:         Branch: master
19:48:57:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
19:48:57:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
19:48:57:       Platform: win32 10
19:48:57:           Bits: 32
19:48:57:           Mode: Release
19:48:57:******************************* System ********************************
19:48:57:            CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-9750H CPU @ 2.60GHz
19:48:57:         CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 158 Stepping 10
19:48:57:           CPUs: 12
19:48:57:         Memory: 15.85GiB
19:48:57:    Free Memory: 12.08GiB
19:48:57:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
19:48:57:     OS Version: 6.2
19:48:57:    Has Battery: true
19:48:57:     On Battery: false
19:48:57:     UTC Offset: 3
19:48:57:            PID: 8244
19:48:57:            CWD: C:\Users\שמעון רוזנברג\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
19:48:57:             OS: Windows 10 Home
19:48:57:        OS Arch: AMD64
19:48:57:           GPUs: 1
19:48:57:          GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:5 GP107M [GeForce GTX 1050 Mobile]
19:48:57:  CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:10.1
19:48:57:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:431.91
19:48:57:OpenCL Device 1: Platform:1 Device:0 Bus:NA Slot:NA Compute:2.1 Driver:25.20
19:48:57:  Win32 Service: false
19:48:57:***********************************************************************
19:48:57:<config>
19:48:57:  <!-- Slot Control -->
19:48:57:  <power v='medium'/>
19:48:57:
19:48:57:  <!-- User Information -->
19:48:57:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
19:48:57:  <user v='shimonavichay'/>
19:48:57:
19:48:57:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
19:48:57:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
19:48:57:    <paused v='true'/>
19:48:57:  </slot>
19:48:57:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
19:48:57:    <paused v='true'/>
19:48:57:  </slot>
19:48:57:  <slot id='2' type='GPU'>
19:48:57:    <paused v='true'/>
19:48:57:  </slot>
19:48:57:</config>
19:48:57:Trying to access database...
19:48:57:Successfully acquired database lock
19:48:57:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:9 (by user)
19:48:57:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:GP107M [GeForce GTX 1050 Mobile] (by user)
19:48:57:ERROR:Exception: No available GPUs
19:48:57:ERROR:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
19:48:59:WU01:FS02:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
19:49:20:WARNING:WU01:FS02:Failed to get assignment from '65.254.110.245:8080': Failed to connect to 65.254.110.245:8080: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.
19:49:20:WU01:FS02:Connecting to 18.218.241.186:80
19:49:28:WU01:FS02:Assigned to work server 168.245.198.125
19:49:28:WU01:FS02:Requesting new work unit for slot
19:49:28:ERROR:WU01:FS02:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
19:49:28:WU01:FS02:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
19:49:30:WU01:FS02:Assigned to work server 40.114.52.201
19:49:30:WU01:FS02:Requesting new work unit for slot
19:49:30:ERROR:WU01:FS02:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
19:50:28:WU01:FS02:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
19:50:30:WU01:FS02:Assigned to work server 128.252.203.2
19:50:30:WU01:FS02:Requesting new work unit for slot
19:50:30:ERROR:WU01:FS02:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
19:52:05:WU01:FS02:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
19:52:26:WARNING:WU01:FS02:Failed to get assignment from '65.254.110.245:8080': Failed to connect to 65.254.110.245:8080: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.
19:52:26:WU01:FS02:Connecting to 18.218.241.186:80
19:52:30:WU01:FS02:Assigned to work server 128.252.203.9
19:52:30:WU01:FS02:Requesting new work unit for slot
19:52:30:ERROR:WU01:FS02:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
19:54:42:WU01:FS02:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
19:55:03:WARNING:WU01:FS02:Failed to get assignment from '65.254.110.245:8080': Failed to connect to 65.254.110.245:8080: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.
19:55:03:WU01:FS02:Connecting to 18.218.241.186:80
19:55:34:WARNING:WU01:FS02:Failed to get assignment from '18.218.241.186:80': 10002: Received short response, expected 272 bytes, got 0
19:55:34:ERROR:WU01:FS02:Exception: Could not get an assignment
19:58:57:WU01:FS02:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
19:59:18:WARNING:WU01:FS02:Failed to get assignment from '65.254.110.245:8080': Failed to connect to 65.254.110.245:8080: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.
19:59:18:WU01:FS02:Connecting to 18.218.241.186:80
19:59:39:WARNING:WU01:FS02:Failed to get assignment from '18.218.241.186:80': Failed to connect to 18.218.241.186:80: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.
19:59:39:ERROR:WU01:FS02:Exception: Could not get an assignment
20:05:48:WU01:FS02:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
20:05:49:WU01:FS02:Assigned to work server 40.114.52.201
20:05:49:WU01:FS02:Requesting new work unit for slot
20:05:49:ERROR:WU01:FS02:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
******************************* Date: 2020-05-14 *******************************
14:55:59:ERROR:WU01:FS02:Exception: Could not get IP address for assign1.foldingathome.org: No such host is known.
14:56:00:ERROR:WU01:FS02:Exception: Could not get IP address for assign2.foldingathome.org: No such host is known.
14:56:00:WARNING:WU01:FS02:Exception: Failed to find any IP addresses for assignment servers
14:56:00:ERROR:WU01:FS02:Exception: Could not get an assignment
15:14:00:WU01:FS02:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
15:14:03:WU01:FS02:Assigned to work server 150.136.14.110
15:14:03:WU01:FS02:Requesting new work unit for slot
15:14:03:ERROR:WU01:FS02:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
Last edited by Joe_H on Fri May 15, 2020 1:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added Code tags to log
shimonavichay
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 8:36 pm

Re: HELP-'gpu-index' has no default and is not set

Postby Neil-B » Thu May 14, 2020 5:40 pm

If you edit you post - highlight the whole of the log - then click on the code button at the top of the edit window the editor will put code tags around the log - save the edit and your log will appear in a scrollable window which makes it a bit easier to read :)

I will let one of the more technical people assist with your issue as I am a CPU folder - GPUs confuse me :shock: :)
1: 2x Xeon E5-2697v3@2.60GHz, 512GB DDR4 LRDIMM, SSD Raid, Win10 Ent, Quadro K420 1GB, FAH 7.6.13
2: Xeon E3-1505Mv5@2.80GHz, 32GB DDR4, NVME, Win10 Pro, Quadro M1000M 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
3: i7-960@3.20GHz, 12GB DDR3, SSD, Win10 Pro, GTX 750Ti 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
Neil-B
 
Posts: 969
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: HELP-'gpu-index' has no default and is not set

Postby Joe_H » Fri May 15, 2020 1:21 am

Okay, going through your log I see several problems. It looks like the client did detect that you have a GTX 1050 Mobile GU okay, and the drivers appear to be recent.

Two separate OpenCL devices were detected, the second one is probably the iGPU on the Intel processor. Perhaps related to that, there are two GPU folding slots set up, however folding will not work on an Intel GPU.

Possible causes would be that the OpenCL support for the Intel processor and its iGPU has been installed, sometimes that conflicts with the OpenCL support files for the nVidia GPU. Disabling that and the iGPU may be enough to get the configuration fixed up after a complete uninstall including data and reinstall of the F@h client.

Since all of the error messages shown are for the second folding slot that is pointing to the Intel iGPU, just deleting that slot may also fix things up.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6101
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: HELP-'gpu-index' has no default and is not set

Postby bruce » Sat May 16, 2020 6:20 am

Did the original FAH installation create a slot for the second GPU or did you attempt to add it yourself?

Adding a slot for a unsupported GPU can produce the gpu-index error and removing that slot will fix it as Joe suggests.
bruce
 
Posts: 19113
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Previous

Return to V7.4.4 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X (deprecated)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron