GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby Kornflake » Sun Aug 09, 2015 7:02 pm

I had stopped folding for a week or two and moved. When I turned on my computer, I got a F@H error as follows:
"On client "local" 127.0.0.1:36330: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set. site:foldingforum.org"
I did a full client uninstall and reinstall. I updated Windows 8.1 Pro, my BIOS, and the NVidia Driver to 353.62.

I noticed that my GPUs.txt file is empty for some reason? I suspect that this is the cause of my failure to detect my GPUs (3 GTX980s).
I'm local admin, and haven't done any configuration, I keep my system as Vanilla and Stable as possible. Maybe F@H temporarily is sending out a blank GPUs file on accident? But, I suspect this would cause many others to complain quickly.

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2015-08-09T17:36:32Z ***********************
17:36:32:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
17:36:32:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
17:36:32:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
17:36:32:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
17:36:32:         Args: --open-web-control
17:36:32:       Config: <none>
17:36:32:******************************** Build ********************************
17:36:32:      Version: 7.4.4
17:36:32:         Date: Mar 4 2014
17:36:32:         Time: 20:26:54
17:36:32:      SVN Rev: 4130
17:36:32:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
17:36:32:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
17:36:32:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
17:36:32:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
17:36:32:     Platform: win32 XP
17:36:32:         Bits: 32
17:36:32:         Mode: Release
17:36:32:******************************* System ********************************
17:36:32:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5930K CPU @ 3.50GHz
17:36:32:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 63 Stepping 2
17:36:32:         CPUs: 12
17:36:32:       Memory: 31.89GiB
17:36:32:  Free Memory: 28.24GiB
17:36:32:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
17:36:32:   OS Version: 6.2
17:36:32:  Has Battery: true
17:36:32:   On Battery: false
17:36:32:   UTC Offset: -4
17:36:32:          PID: 8104
17:36:32:          CWD: C:/Users/user/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
17:36:32:           OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
17:36:32:      OS Arch: AMD64
17:36:32:         GPUs: 0
17:36:32:         CUDA: 5.2
17:36:32:  CUDA Driver: 7050
17:36:32:Win32 Service: false
17:36:32:***********************************************************************
17:36:32:<config>
17:36:32:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
17:36:32:</config>
17:36:32:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
17:36:32:Updated GPUs.txt
17:36:32:Read GPUs.txt
17:36:32:Trying to access database...
17:36:32:Successfully acquired database lock
17:36:32:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:6 (not configured)
17:36:33:11:127.0.0.1:New Web connection
17:37:33:Saving configuration to config.xml
17:37:33:<config>
17:37:33:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
17:37:33:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
17:37:33:</config>
17:37:33:Set client configured
17:37:33:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.200:8080
17:37:34:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.200:8080
17:37:34:WU00:FS00:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.124
17:37:34:WU00:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY cpu:6 from 171.64.65.124
17:37:34:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.124:8080
17:37:35:WU00:FS00:Downloading 902.90KiB
17:37:37:WU00:FS00:Download complete
17:37:37:WU00:FS00:Received Unit: id:00 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:9014 run:10 clone:4 gen:77 core:0xa4 unit:0x00000061ab40417c554e98c103b767bd
17:37:37:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://web.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah
17:37:37:WU00:FS00:Connecting to web.stanford.edu:80
17:37:37:WU00:FS00:FahCore a4: Downloading 2.89MiB
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:FahCore a4: Download complete
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:Valid core signature
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:Unpacked 9.59MiB to cores/web.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah/FahCore_a4.exe
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:Starting
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/user/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/web.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah/FahCore_a4.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 8104 -checkpoint 15 -np 6
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 7824
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:Core PID:7712
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0xa4 started
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:*------------------------------*
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Folding@Home Gromacs GB Core
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Preparing to commence simulation
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:- Looking at optimizations...
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:- Created dyn
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:- Files status OK
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:- Expanded 924053 -> 1534204 (decompressed 166.0 percent)
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=924053 data_size=1534204, decompressed_data_size=1534204 diff=0
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:- Digital signature verified
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Project: 9014 (Run 10, Clone 4, Gen 77)
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Assembly optimizations on if available.
17:37:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Entering M.D.
17:37:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Mapping NT from 6 to 6
17:37:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 0 out of 250000 steps  (0%)
17:39:00:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 2500 out of 250000 steps  (1%)
17:40:17:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 5000 out of 250000 steps  (2%)
17:41:28:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 7500 out of 250000 steps  (3%)
17:42:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 10000 out of 250000 steps  (4%)
17:42:58:Saving configuration to config.xml
17:42:58:<config>
17:42:58:  <!-- Network -->
17:42:58:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
17:42:58:
17:42:58:  <!-- User Information -->
17:42:58:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
17:42:58:  <team v='227657'/>
17:42:58:  <user v='Kornflake'/>
17:42:58:
17:42:58:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
17:42:58:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
17:42:58:</config>
17:43:39:Saving configuration to config.xml
17:43:39:<config>
17:43:39:  <!-- Network -->
17:43:39:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
17:43:39:
17:43:39:  <!-- User Information -->
17:43:39:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
17:43:39:  <team v='227657'/>
17:43:39:  <user v='Kornflake'/>
17:43:39:
17:43:39:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
17:43:39:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
17:43:39:</config>
17:44:02:Saving configuration to config.xml
17:44:02:<config>
17:44:02:  <!-- Network -->
17:44:02:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
17:44:02:
17:44:02:  <!-- Slot Control -->
17:44:02:  <pause-on-start v='true'/>
17:44:02:
17:44:02:  <!-- User Information -->
17:44:02:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
17:44:02:  <team v='227657'/>
17:44:02:  <user v='Kornflake'/>
17:44:02:
17:44:02:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
17:44:02:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
17:44:02:</config>
17:44:04:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 12500 out of 250000 steps  (5%)
17:44:40:Saving configuration to config.xml
17:44:40:<config>
17:44:40:  <!-- Network -->
17:44:40:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
17:44:40:
17:44:40:  <!-- Slot Control -->
17:44:40:  <pause-on-start v='true'/>
17:44:40:
17:44:40:  <!-- User Information -->
17:44:40:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
17:44:40:  <team v='227657'/>
17:44:40:  <user v='Kornflake'/>
17:44:40:
17:44:40:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
17:44:40:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
17:44:40:</config>
17:45:21:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 15000 out of 250000 steps  (6%)
17:46:38:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 17500 out of 250000 steps  (7%)
17:47:55:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 20000 out of 250000 steps  (8%)
17:49:14:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 22500 out of 250000 steps  (9%)
17:50:30:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 25000 out of 250000 steps  (10%)
17:51:46:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 27500 out of 250000 steps  (11%)
17:53:04:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 30000 out of 250000 steps  (12%)
17:54:23:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 32500 out of 250000 steps  (13%)
17:55:42:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 35000 out of 250000 steps  (14%)
17:56:59:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 37500 out of 250000 steps  (15%)
17:58:15:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 40000 out of 250000 steps  (16%)
17:59:32:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 42500 out of 250000 steps  (17%)
Image
Kornflake
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:29 pm

Re: GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby bruce » Sun Aug 09, 2015 8:09 pm

GPUs.txt is normally downloaded during client initialization (before GPUs are configured and before the output is directed to the log file). Perhaps FAHClient couldn't communicate with stanford.edu.
On reboot, sometimes the client gets started before TCP/IP completes its setup. Restarting FAHClient without rebooting should take care of that.
bruce
 
Posts: 20147
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby Kornflake » Sun Aug 09, 2015 11:23 pm

I just finished reinstalling my OS and it had no effect. My GPUs.txt file is still empty. Express Install. Not sure what to do next.

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2015-08-09T22:20:27Z ***********************
22:20:27:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
22:20:27:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
22:20:27:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
22:20:27:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
22:20:27:         Args:
22:20:27:       Config: C:/Users/user/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/config.xml
22:20:27:******************************** Build ********************************
22:20:27:      Version: 7.4.4
22:20:27:         Date: Mar 4 2014
22:20:27:         Time: 20:26:54
22:20:27:      SVN Rev: 4130
22:20:27:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
22:20:27:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
22:20:27:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
22:20:27:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
22:20:27:     Platform: win32 XP
22:20:27:         Bits: 32
22:20:27:         Mode: Release
22:20:27:******************************* System ********************************
22:20:27:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5930K CPU @ 3.50GHz
22:20:27:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 63 Stepping 2
22:20:27:         CPUs: 12
22:20:27:       Memory: 31.89GiB
22:20:27:  Free Memory: 30.22GiB
22:20:27:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
22:20:27:   OS Version: 6.2
22:20:27:  Has Battery: true
22:20:27:   On Battery: false
22:20:27:   UTC Offset: -4
22:20:27:          PID: 5196
22:20:27:          CWD: C:/Users/user/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
22:20:27:           OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
22:20:27:      OS Arch: AMD64
22:20:27:         GPUs: 0
22:20:27:         CUDA: 5.2
22:20:27:  CUDA Driver: 7050
22:20:27:Win32 Service: false
22:20:27:***********************************************************************
22:20:27:<config>
22:20:27:  <!-- Network -->
22:20:27:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
22:20:27:
22:20:27:  <!-- User Information -->
22:20:27:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
22:20:27:  <team v='227657'/>
22:20:27:  <user v='Kornflake'/>
22:20:27:
22:20:27:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
22:20:27:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
22:20:27:    <paused v='true'/>
22:20:27:  </slot>
22:20:27:</config>
22:20:27:Trying to access database...
22:20:27:Successfully acquired database lock
22:20:27:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:6 (by user)
22:20:48:FS00:Unpaused
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:Starting
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/user/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/web.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah/FahCore_a4.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 5196 -checkpoint 15 -np 6
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 5856
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:Core PID:5868
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0xa4 started
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:*------------------------------*
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Folding@Home Gromacs GB Core
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Preparing to commence simulation
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:- Looking at optimizations...
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:- Files status OK
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:- Expanded 247286 -> 525988 (decompressed 212.7 percent)
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=247286 data_size=525988, decompressed_data_size=525988 diff=0
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:- Digital signature verified
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Project: 8608 (Run 6, Clone 72, Gen 8)
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Assembly optimizations on if available.
22:20:48:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Entering M.D.
22:20:54:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Mapping NT from 6 to 6
22:20:54:WU00:FS00:0xa4:Completed 0 out of 2500000 steps  (0%)
Kornflake
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:29 pm

Re: GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby 7im » Mon Aug 10, 2015 1:42 am

The client downloads the GPUs.txt file from here and is not empty. Sounds like Windows 10 is blocking the download, or failing to write the file to disk. Might be some new security setting.

Download a fresh copy of the file manually and see if you can put the file in to the FAHClient Data directory. Then restart the client.

aka C:\Users\[your user name]\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby Kornflake » Mon Aug 10, 2015 3:27 am

I have Windows 8.1, but it seems like something is going on, seeing that we both ran into the same problem today.
Kornflake
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:29 pm

Re: GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby Kougar » Mon Aug 10, 2015 5:49 am

Well, then that rules out a Win 10 specific issue. Wonder if the mass Win 10 upgrade spree was causing an unusually heavy load on the server :lol:
Kougar
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 3:39 am
Location: Texas

Re: GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby Kornflake » Mon Aug 10, 2015 12:54 pm

I reinstalled F@H (executing the install as administrator), and copied the GPUs.txt file into the C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient location right before I pressed the last step of the install wizard that opens F@H. This probably wasn't the best way, but I seem to be running for now.

I couldn't figure out how to manually start running the F@H client without running it As Administrator from here: C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient. I know that this isn't the proper way because it opened a Console but I couldn't figure out an alternative. What's the proper way?

I hope they are working on a new version of the client that resolves these problems!
Kornflake
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:29 pm

Re: GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby 7im » Mon Aug 10, 2015 5:47 pm

Kornflake wrote:I reinstalled F@H (executing the install as administrator), and copied the GPUs.txt file into the C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient location right before I pressed the last step of the install wizard that opens F@H. This probably wasn't the best way, but I seem to be running for now.

I couldn't figure out how to manually start running the F@H client without running it As Administrator from here: C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient. I know that this isn't the proper way because it opened a Console but I couldn't figure out an alternative. What's the proper way?

I hope they are working on a new version of the client that resolves these problems!


See this post for fixing the missing fah shortcut. https://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?p=278312#p278312

The installer bug has been documented. Unknown if or when it will be addressed.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby BertNZ » Thu Aug 20, 2015 7:05 pm

FWIW

I've just found a blank GPUs.txt on one of my folding rigs.
It had stopped folding, and was reporting UNSUPPORTED_GPU in the FAHControl App.
It's a Win7 64-bit, and on a W10 64-bit machine I haven't had any problems (yet).

Re-installing FAH didn't help either - GPUs.txt file still zero bytes. Downloaded it manually and put it in the right place, re-started client & FAHControl, problem solved.
Image
BertNZ
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 3:44 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby 7im » Thu Aug 20, 2015 11:13 pm

fah-web server where this file is hosted when down again this morning. They are working on it.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby heikosch » Mon Aug 24, 2015 10:03 pm

One of my PCs got the same problem (empty GPUs.txt) yesterday. The installation was running for month without any problems.
Strangely most of the configuration options went away, the folding slot list was empty but one (of three) GPU slot worked.
A clean install of F@H didn´t change anything. So I manually downloaded GPUs.txt, started FAHClient "as Administrator" and everything was ok.

Heiko
Image Image
Image
heikosch
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: Essen, Germany

Re: GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby bruce » Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:46 am

FAHClient should not need to be started "As Administrator" Mine starts and runs successfully using the shortcut found in All_Programs. I didn't find a copy in startup, so I put one there manually.
bruce
 
Posts: 20147
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby heikosch » Tue Aug 25, 2015 6:26 am

bruce wrote:FAHClient should not need to be started "As Administrator" Mine starts and runs successfully using the shortcut found in All_Programs. I didn't find a copy in startup, so I put one there manually.

FAHClient should not empty the GPUs.txt and should not supress the configuration options for slots. ;-)
Usually I don´t start FAHClient "as Administrator".

Heiko
heikosch
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: Essen, Germany

Re: GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby bruce » Tue Aug 25, 2015 3:37 pm

When GPUs.txt fails to download, what happens if you set <gpu v='true'/> :?:
bruce
 
Posts: 20147
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPUs not recognized and Empty GPUs.txt file

Postby heikosch » Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:59 pm

bruce wrote:When GPUs.txt fails to download, what happens if you set <gpu v='true'/> :?:

In the case that the problem occurs again I´ll try it and post the result.

Heiko
heikosch
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: Essen, Germany

Next

Return to V7.4.4 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X (deprecated)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron