Adding Radeon 260X to Windows 10 system

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Adding Radeon 260X to Windows 10 system

Postby dyeman » Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:52 am

I have a system with an NVIDIA 750ti which upgraded from Win 7 to Windows 10 with no problems - FAH just picked up where it left off.

Yesterday I added a Radeon R7 260x to the machine, and installed the latest (15.7) Catalyst driver for WIn 10. FAH recognises the card OK, but all tasks downloaded fail immediately. (Nvidia tasks still run fine). I deleted and recreated all of the slots but still AMD fails and NVIDIA works. Excerpt from the log is below. I don't think there is a driver issue since I tried processing tasks from a BOINC OpenCL project and it worked just fine.

I have a similar machine which had both AMD and NVIDIA cards installed when it was upgraded to Windows 10. The AMD card works fine on this system after the upgrade. The only difference between this system and the failing system is that the failing system also has Intel integrated graphics HD 4600 active (and has the monitor attached - the AMD and NVIDIA cards are headless).

Thanks!

Code: Select all
******************************* Date: 2015-08-21 *******************************
01:50:20:Removing old file 'configs/config-20150423-044930.xml'
01:50:20:Saving configuration to config.xml
01:50:20:<config>
01:50:20:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
01:50:20:  <client-type v='advanced'/>
01:50:20:
01:50:20:  <!-- HTTP Server -->
01:50:20:  <allow v='127.0.0.1,192.168.1.0/24'/>
01:50:20:
01:50:20:  <!-- Network -->
01:50:20:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
01:50:20:
01:50:20:  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
01:50:20:  <command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1,192.168.1.0/24'/>
01:50:20:
01:50:20:  <!-- Slot Control -->
01:50:20:  <power v='full'/>
01:50:20:
01:50:20:  <!-- User Information -->
01:50:20:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
01:50:20:  <team v='43781'/>
01:50:20:  <user v='dyeman'/>
01:50:20:
01:50:20:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
01:50:20:</config>
01:50:49:Removing old file 'configs/config-20150522-084800.xml'
01:50:49:Saving configuration to config.xml
01:50:49:<config>
01:50:49:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
01:50:49:  <client-type v='advanced'/>
01:50:49:
01:50:49:  <!-- HTTP Server -->
01:50:49:  <allow v='127.0.0.1,192.168.1.0/24'/>
01:50:49:
01:50:49:  <!-- Network -->
01:50:49:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
01:50:49:
01:50:49:  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
01:50:49:  <command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1,192.168.1.0/24'/>
01:50:49:
01:50:49:  <!-- Slot Control -->
01:50:49:  <power v='full'/>
01:50:49:
01:50:49:  <!-- User Information -->
01:50:49:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
01:50:49:  <team v='43781'/>
01:50:49:  <user v='dyeman'/>
01:50:49:
01:50:49:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
01:50:49:</config>
01:51:06:Adding folding slot 00: READY gpu:0:GM107 [GeForce GTX 750 Ti]
01:51:07:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.200:80
01:51:07:Adding folding slot 01: READY gpu:1:Hawaii [Radeon R7 200 Series]
01:51:08:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.200:80
01:51:08:WU00:FS00:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.98
01:51:08:WU00:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY gpu:0:GM107 [GeForce GTX 750 Ti] from 171.64.65.98
01:51:08:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.98:8080
01:51:09:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.98
01:51:09:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:Hawaii [Radeon R7 200 Series] from 171.64.65.98
01:51:09:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.98:8080
01:51:09:WU00:FS00:Downloading 7.48MiB
01:51:09:Removing old file 'configs/config-20150704-052742.xml'
01:51:09:Saving configuration to config.xml
01:51:09:<config>
01:51:09:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
01:51:09:  <client-type v='advanced'/>
01:51:09:
01:51:09:  <!-- HTTP Server -->
01:51:09:  <allow v='127.0.0.1,192.168.1.0/24'/>
01:51:09:
01:51:09:  <!-- Network -->
01:51:09:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
01:51:09:
01:51:09:  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
01:51:09:  <command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1,192.168.1.0/24'/>
01:51:09:
01:51:09:  <!-- Slot Control -->
01:51:09:  <power v='full'/>
01:51:09:
01:51:09:  <!-- User Information -->
01:51:09:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
01:51:09:  <team v='43781'/>
01:51:09:  <user v='dyeman'/>
01:51:09:
01:51:09:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
01:51:09:  <slot id='0' type='GPU'/>
01:51:09:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
01:51:09:</config>
01:51:10:WU01:FS01:Downloading 7.48MiB
01:51:15:WU00:FS00:Download 15.03%
01:51:16:WU01:FS01:Download 5.85%
01:51:21:WU00:FS00:Download 30.90%
01:51:22:WU01:FS01:Download 17.54%
01:51:27:WU00:FS00:Download 42.59%
01:51:28:WU01:FS01:Download 25.05%
01:51:33:WU00:FS00:Download 49.27%
01:51:34:WU01:FS01:Download 33.41%
01:51:39:WU00:FS00:Download 54.28%
01:51:40:WU01:FS01:Download 39.25%
01:51:45:WU00:FS00:Download 60.13%
01:51:46:WU01:FS01:Download 45.10%
01:51:50:Removing old file 'configs/config-20150704-052842.xml'
01:51:50:Saving configuration to config.xml
01:51:50:<config>
01:51:50:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
01:51:50:  <client-type v='advanced'/>
01:51:50:
01:51:50:  <!-- HTTP Server -->
01:51:50:  <allow v='127.0.0.1,192.168.1.0/24'/>
01:51:50:
01:51:50:  <!-- Network -->
01:51:50:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
01:51:50:
01:51:50:  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
01:51:50:  <command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1,192.168.1.0/24'/>
01:51:50:
01:51:50:  <!-- Slot Control -->
01:51:50:  <power v='full'/>
01:51:50:
01:51:50:  <!-- User Information -->
01:51:50:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
01:51:50:  <team v='43781'/>
01:51:50:  <user v='dyeman'/>
01:51:50:
01:51:50:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
01:51:50:  <slot id='0' type='GPU'/>
01:51:50:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
01:51:50:</config>
01:51:51:WU00:FS00:Download 65.14%
01:51:52:WU01:FS01:Download 50.94%
01:51:57:WU00:FS00:Download 69.31%
01:51:58:WU01:FS01:Download 55.96%
01:52:03:WU00:FS00:Download 72.66%
01:52:04:WU01:FS01:Download 60.13%
01:52:09:WU00:FS00:Download 76.83%
01:52:11:WU01:FS01:Download 64.31%
01:52:15:WU00:FS00:Download 82.68%
01:52:17:WU01:FS01:Download 69.32%
01:52:21:WU00:FS00:Download 89.36%
01:52:23:WU01:FS01:Download 73.49%
01:52:27:WU00:FS00:Download 94.37%
01:52:29:WU01:FS01:Download 79.34%
01:52:33:WU00:FS00:Download 98.54%
01:52:34:WU00:FS00:Download complete
01:52:34:WU00:FS00:Received Unit: id:00 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:9712 run:10 clone:3 gen:1 core:0x21 unit:0x0000000aab40416255b9a7bbdc513447
01:52:34:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://web.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah
01:52:34:WU00:FS00:Connecting to web.stanford.edu:80
01:52:34:WU00:FS00:FahCore 21: Downloading 3.34MiB
01:52:35:WU01:FS01:Download 86.86%
01:52:40:WU00:FS00:FahCore 21: 26.18%
01:52:41:WU01:FS01:Download 94.37%
01:52:46:WU00:FS00:FahCore 21: 43.00%
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:Download 100.00%
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:Download complete
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:Received Unit: id:01 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:9712 run:10 clone:17 gen:1 core:0x21 unit:0x0000000dab40416255b9a7c51e5bc4f8
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:Starting
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/dyeman/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/web.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 9852 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 1 -gpu-vendor ati
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 9436
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:Core PID:4204
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:*********************** Log Started 2015-08-21T01:52:47Z ***********************
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:Project: 9712 (Run 10, Clone 17, Gen 1)
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:Unit: 0x0000000dab40416255b9a7c51e5bc4f8
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:Machine: 1
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file core.xml
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file integrator.xml
01:52:47:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file system.xml
01:52:49:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file state.xml
01:52:50:WU01:FS01:0x21:Digital signatures verified
01:52:50:WU01:FS01:0x21:Folding@home GPU Core21 Folding@home Core
01:52:50:WU01:FS01:0x21:Version 0.0.11
01:52:52:WU00:FS00:FahCore 21: 95.35%
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:FahCore 21: Download complete
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:Valid core signature
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:Unpacked 11.43MiB to cores/web.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:Starting
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/dyeman/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/web.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 9852 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor nvidia
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 6528
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:Core PID:5924
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0x21 started
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:0x21:*********************** Log Started 2015-08-21T01:52:54Z ***********************
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:0x21:Project: 9712 (Run 10, Clone 3, Gen 1)
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:0x21:Unit: 0x0000000aab40416255b9a7bbdc513447
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:0x21:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:0x21:Machine: 0
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:0x21:Reading tar file core.xml
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:0x21:Reading tar file integrator.xml
01:52:54:WU00:FS00:0x21:Reading tar file system.xml
01:52:56:WU00:FS00:0x21:Reading tar file state.xml
01:52:57:WU00:FS00:0x21:Digital signatures verified
01:52:57:WU00:FS00:0x21:Folding@home GPU Core21 Folding@home Core
01:52:57:WU00:FS00:0x21:Version 0.0.11
01:53:27:WU01:FS01:0x21:ERROR:NaNs detected in forces. 0 0
01:53:27:WU01:FS01:0x21:Saving result file logfile_01.txt
01:53:27:WU01:FS01:0x21:Saving result file log.txt
01:53:27:WU01:FS01:0x21:Folding@home Core Shutdown: BAD_WORK_UNIT
01:53:28:WARNING:WU01:FS01:FahCore returned: BAD_WORK_UNIT (114 = 0x72)
01:53:28:WU01:FS01:Sending unit results: id:01 state:SEND error:FAULTY project:9712 run:10 clone:17 gen:1 core:0x21 unit:0x0000000dab40416255b9a7c51e5bc4f8
01:53:28:WU01:FS01:Uploading 2.38KiB to 171.64.65.98
dyeman
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 1:22 am

Re: Adding Radeon 260X to Windows 10 system

Postby bruce » Sat Aug 22, 2015 12:37 am

Under circumstances like you describe, the first thing to try is to uninstall/reinstall FAH, deleting the data. With GPUs from different manufacturers, it's not uncommon for FAH to get them right with a clean install and to mix them up when you try to keep one and add another.

This has been a high-priority fix that I'd really like to see in the next version of the client.
bruce
 
Posts: 20160
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Adding Radeon 260X to Windows 10 system

Postby dyeman » Sun Aug 23, 2015 7:15 am

Thanks Bruce.

Tried uninstall/reinstall of FAH, but still get exact same error. Also upgraded another system with similar config (AMD and NVIDIA cards, AMD Card is also bonaire XT, but a 7790 not R7 260x). It also sees the exact same error when it starts to process a WU. Before the upgrade, it ran FAH fine on both GPUs. On this system though Windows 10 installation failed so I had to do a fresh install of Windows 7 before doing the Windows 10 upgrade.

I have one more machine to upgrade with a bonaire xt - will see how that goes.

Update: Upgraded last machine and it has exactly the same problem with AMD card not working. This time there was a partially processed WU that failed once Win 10 upgrade was complete.

On all 3 systems, AMD OpenCl seems to be fine on BOINC apps.

The only significant difference between the 3 failing system and 1 working system is that the 3 failing systems have Intel GPU which are also OpenCl capable - perhaps this is confusing FAH. On the other hand, the same harware configuration worked fine on Windows 7.

I have saved a copy of the FAH data directory on this last machine before the upgrade (when it was working fine) in case there is anything in the configs that might shed light on the problem.
dyeman
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 1:22 am

Re: Adding Radeon 260X to Windows 10 system

Postby bruce » Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:49 pm

dyeman wrote:The only significant difference between the 3 failing system and 1 working system is that the 3 failing systems have Intel GPU which are also OpenCl capable - perhaps this is confusing FAH. On the other hand, the same harware configuration worked fine on Windows 7.


Interesting. I think you're the first person to notice the possible relationship with an Intel device. As I said earlier, I hope the next client release fixes the problem and that that happens soon
.
bruce
 
Posts: 20160
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Adding Radeon 260X to Windows 10 system

Postby dyeman » Mon Aug 24, 2015 3:35 am

Hopefully the developers will be able to put together a configuration to try to recreate the problem.

I find it very useful to be able to have the monitor attached to the Intel GPU rather than the GPU that is folding since the folding no longer interferes with video performance.
dyeman
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 1:22 am

Re: Adding Radeon 260X to Windows 10 system

Postby bruce » Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:50 am

I have a system that has both an integrated GPU and a discrete GPU on a card. My monitor is attached to the iGPU (which is AMD, but that shouldn't matter). It is too slow to be used as a folding device. When I did a fresh install, the following were recognized:
Slot 0: CPU
Slot 1: (slow iGPU)
Slot 2: GPU for folding.

I configured slot 1 with <pause-on-start v-'true'/> which prevents it from automatically starting and I'm careful never to start it manually. I successfully fold on the CPU and the GPU in slot 2 and the GPU in slot 1 works fine for the monitor.
bruce
 
Posts: 20160
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Adding Radeon 260X to Windows 10 system

Postby 7im » Mon Aug 24, 2015 5:21 pm

Would need to see the *System* section of the fah log from one of the failing systems.

Probably need to use these fredfoobar directions to setup the indexes manually and get the correct GPUs folding. https://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?p=199379#p199379
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Adding Radeon 260X to Windows 10 system

Postby dyeman » Tue Aug 25, 2015 2:30 am

Here is the system section from one of the failing systems:

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2015-08-23T04:19:36Z ***********************
04:19:36:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
04:19:36:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
04:19:36:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
04:19:36:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
04:19:36:         Args: --open-web-control
04:19:36:       Config: C:/Users/dyeman/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/config.xml
04:19:36:******************************** Build ********************************
04:19:36:      Version: 7.4.4
04:19:36:         Date: Mar 4 2014
04:19:36:         Time: 20:26:54
04:19:36:      SVN Rev: 4130
04:19:36:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
04:19:36:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
04:19:36:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
04:19:36:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
04:19:36:     Platform: win32 XP
04:19:36:         Bits: 32
04:19:36:         Mode: Release
04:19:36:******************************* System ********************************
04:19:36:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz
04:19:36:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
04:19:36:         CPUs: 8
04:19:36:       Memory: 7.88GiB
04:19:36:  Free Memory: 5.63GiB
04:19:36:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
04:19:36:   OS Version: 6.2
04:19:36:  Has Battery: false
04:19:36:   On Battery: false
04:19:36:   UTC Offset: 10
04:19:36:          PID: 4524
04:19:36:          CWD: C:/Users/dyeman/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
04:19:36:           OS: Windows 10 Home
04:19:36:      OS Arch: AMD64
04:19:36:         GPUs: 2
04:19:36:        GPU 0: NVIDIA:4 GM107 [GeForce GTX 750 Ti]
04:19:36:        GPU 1: ATI:5 Hawaii [Radeon R7 200 Series]
04:19:36:         CUDA: 5.0
04:19:36:  CUDA Driver: 7050
04:19:36:Win32 Service: false
04:19:36:***********************************************************************


Also, here is the System section from the machine where both cards are working. Interestingly it shows 3 GPUs - the first one is an R9600 Pro and this machine has certainly never been near anything that old! This is the machine without Intel Graphics.

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2015-08-23T07:54:18Z ***********************
07:54:18:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
07:54:18:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
07:54:18:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
07:54:18:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
07:54:18:         Args:
07:54:18:       Config: C:/Users/dyeman/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/config.xml
07:54:18:******************************** Build ********************************
07:54:18:      Version: 7.4.4
07:54:18:         Date: Mar 4 2014
07:54:18:         Time: 20:26:54
07:54:18:      SVN Rev: 4130
07:54:18:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
07:54:18:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
07:54:18:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
07:54:18:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
07:54:18:     Platform: win32 XP
07:54:18:         Bits: 32
07:54:18:         Mode: Release
07:54:18:******************************* System ********************************
07:54:18:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz
07:54:18:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
07:54:18:         CPUs: 8
07:54:18:       Memory: 7.97GiB
07:54:18:  Free Memory: 5.79GiB
07:54:18:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
07:54:18:   OS Version: 6.2
07:54:18:  Has Battery: false
07:54:18:   On Battery: false
07:54:18:   UTC Offset: 10
07:54:18:          PID: 6560
07:54:18:          CWD: C:/Users/dyeman/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
07:54:18:           OS: Windows 10 Home
07:54:18:      OS Arch: AMD64
07:54:18:         GPUs: 3
07:54:18:        GPU 0: UNSUPPORTED: [R9600 Pro] (Asus OEM for HP - Primary)
07:54:18:        GPU 1: ATI:5 Bonaire XT [Radeon HD 7790]
07:54:18:        GPU 2: NVIDIA:4 GM107 [GeForce GTX 750 Ti]
07:54:18:         CUDA: 5.0
07:54:18:  CUDA Driver: 7050
07:54:18:Win32 Service: false
07:54:18:***********************************************************************
07:54:18:<config>
07:54:18:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
07:54:18:  <client-type v='advanced'/>
07:54:18:
07:54:18:  <!-- HTTP Server -->
07:54:18:  <allow v='127.0.0.1,192.168.1.0/24'/>
07:54:18:
07:54:18:  <!-- Network -->
07:54:18:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
07:54:18:
07:54:18:  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
07:54:18:  <command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1,192.168.1.0/24'/>
07:54:18:
07:54:18:  <!-- Slot Control -->
07:54:18:  <power v='full'/>
07:54:18:
07:54:18:  <!-- User Information -->
07:54:18:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
07:54:18:  <team v='43781'/>
07:54:18:  <user v='dyeman'/>
07:54:18:
07:54:18:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
07:54:18:  <slot id='0' type='GPU'/>
07:54:18:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
07:54:18:</config>


I'm happy to beta test any new release if needed.
dyeman
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 1:22 am

Re: Adding Radeon 260X to Windows 10 system

Postby bruce » Tue Aug 25, 2015 3:11 am

The GPU on your motherboard is probably reporting itself as a 1002 0002 R9600 Pro primary (Asus OEM for HP).

Run lspci (or FAHClient --lspci) and see if there's a device that's identifying itself as 1002 0002. Which device is connected to your monitor?

Did something I said suggest that a new client might be released any time soon? That fix has been on the hot-list for a long time but no new client has been released -- and if anybody is predicting there might be one soon, they don't know what they're talking about. If one magically appears, it will be news to everybody except the developers. and they're very tight-lipped about predicting the future.
bruce
 
Posts: 20160
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Adding Radeon 260X to Windows 10 system

Postby dyeman » Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:37 am

bruce wrote:The GPU on your motherboard is probably reporting itself as a 1002 0002 R9600 Pro primary (Asus OEM for HP).

Run lspci (or FAHClient --lspci) and see if there's a device that's identifying itself as 1002 0002. Which device is connected to your monitor?

You're right - there is a device 1002 0002 detected, however this is the machine without a motherboard video adapter. The GPU with the monitor attached is the AMD. Maybe the 1002 0002 device is a phantom device related to the Graphics adapter that is still there (imbedded in the CPU) but not available with the chipset on this motherboard (which is an ASUS motherboard).

Anyway I think I might have resolved the problem. I noticed that the working system (which is also the one without an Intel GPU) has the AMD card in the first PCIe-16 slot and NVIDIA in the second, while the other 3 (non-working) systems are the other way round. So I swapped the cards on one of the non-working machines so that the NVIDIA card was in the second slot and the AMD card was in the first. After this, both cards fold fine. I did the same to another of the non-working systems and it is also working fine now. I have no idea whether the order of the cards really matters or whether it is just the process of uninstalling and reinstalling drivers that somehow un-confused Windows 10 and/or FAH.

Thanks for your help on this.

Update: Same change to last not-working system and it is also working fine now - thanks again 7im and bruce
Last edited by dyeman on Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
dyeman
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 1:22 am

Re: Adding Radeon 260X to Windows 10 system

Postby 7im » Tue Aug 25, 2015 3:30 pm

Swapping the positions of the cards changed their indexes as I mentioned above. Good to hear that also worked.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona


Return to V7.4.4 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X (deprecated)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron