Web Control/chrome 57 issue?

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Re: Web Control/chrome 57 issue?

Postby bruce » Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:42 pm

GuardianOdin wrote:Opera- Working great
Firefox (current build as of 28-3-17)- Web control works, caused F@H client to crash
Chrome (current build as of 28-3-17)- Web control not working,will not update WU's
No comments for IE as I do not use it.

Did multiple WUs crash in Firefox or just one? If it's just one, then FF is probably not the cause.
(I use FF without problems on WIn7, WIn10, & Ubuntu.)
bruce
 
Posts: 20009
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Refresh loop

Postby bullseye1009 » Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:44 pm

Firefox to the rescue! It works! I'd just like to know why chrome doesn't specifically work for my desktop and works for my laptop. I just installed firefox and just pulled up the client so I don't know if this is a permanent fix.
bullseye1009
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: Web Control/chrome 57 issue?

Postby GuardianOdin » Mon Apr 03, 2017 1:21 pm

bruce wrote:
GuardianOdin wrote:Opera- Working great
Firefox (current build as of 28-3-17)- Web control works, caused F@H client to crash
Chrome (current build as of 28-3-17)- Web control not working,will not update WU's
No comments for IE as I do not use it.

Did multiple WUs crash in Firefox or just one? If it's just one, then FF is probably not the cause.
(I use FF without problems on WIn7, WIn10, & Ubuntu.)


The client crashed multiple times. Very well could be user error.

I uninstalled Firefox. Switched to Opera and have no issues the last 6-7 days. Running very smoothly. I still use Chrome as my main browser, but Opera is the default browser.
GuardianOdin
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:33 am

Re: Web Control/chrome 57 issue?

Postby GuardianOdin » Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:06 pm

Anyone having any luck with Chrome/other browsers? Last I tried running F@H about 2 weeks ago it was still looping.
GuardianOdin
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:33 am

Re: Web Control/chrome 57 issue?

Postby Joe_H » Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:22 pm

On OS X I have used the Web Control in Firefox and Safari without any problems. For a number of reasons I no longer install and use Chrome. The limitation on my use of Firefox is that I have not used the more recent versions. Due to other web based applications I need to use, I stopped at the ESR release, version 52.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6608
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Web Control/chrome 57 issue?

Postby foldy » Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:37 pm

On Windows 7 64bit no problems with webcontrol in Firefox 57 and IE 11. But Chrome 62 loads the page but does not initialize its state "Loading..."
foldy
 
Posts: 2014
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:43 pm

Re: Web Control/chrome 57 issue?

Postby GuardianOdin » Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:41 am

I'm on Windows 10 64bit.... Not sure if I should go back to 7 64bit. I'd really like to see F@H steer clear of browser based program. BTW as far as newly released browsers. Opera/Firefox/Chrome/Edge/Explorer and a few others are all doing the looping thing. I'd say it was an issue with my Windows 10, but I've done a fresh install with the same results. This is disappointing, I can't sit and babysit the software. That means no folding happening on my PC and I'm guessing many other peoples PC's as well..... don't know
GuardianOdin
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:33 am

Re: Web Control/chrome 57 issue?

Postby bruce » Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:00 pm

I don't see where you've posted your log. (see my sig at the top of this page)
... and you haven't told us what appears on the screen when it's refreshing.
bruce
 
Posts: 20009
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Web Control/chrome 57 issue?

Postby GuardianOdin » Tue Nov 28, 2017 3:48 pm

bruce wrote:I don't see where you've posted your log. (see my sig at the top of this page)
... and you haven't told us what appears on the screen when it's refreshing.


Just stared F@H up again. As soon as it starts the looping thing I'll post the log. Might take an hour or two
GuardianOdin
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:33 am

Re: Web Control/chrome 57 issue?

Postby GuardianOdin » Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:53 am

Okay, sorry for the late reply. Started up F@H last time I posted and the PSU popped and made that magical burnt electronics smell :x Had to wait for the new PSU to arrive to get back at it.

I installed the latest Folding Browser, fresh install for the Radeon drivers. Cleaned out Windows 10 and Chrome..cookies,cache...etc. So far so good, no looping issues. Just some down time due to Comcast. I don't know if it will do it again, but I'll post a log if it does.

https://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_summary.php?s=&u=725231
GuardianOdin
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:33 am

Re: Web Control/chrome 57 issue?

Postby DaBayer » Sun Mar 29, 2020 3:39 pm

I experience the same issue with Chrome 80.0.3987.149 and Edge 80.0.361.69 on Windows 10 10.0.18363 Build 18363.

I successfully accessed the Web Control as a 'standard' user:
1. Follow the steps in "FAH won't run correctly as a 'standard' user on Win10 (FIX)" thread.
2. Log in as a 'standard' user and start the F@H Client
3. Use Internet Explorer 11.719.18362.0 to view the Web Control

I hope this helps!
DaBayer
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 3:03 pm

Previous

Return to V7.4.4 Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X (deprecated)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron