Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Moderators: mhouston, Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby deekey777 » Sat Oct 23, 2010 11:12 pm

The best architecture is that gives the most FLOPs. But it's not just hardware, it's hardware and software. Nvidia's G80 was great, it was made for GPGPU and Nvidia developed CUDA for it with great support. R600 was just a 3D GPU, there was no "compute mode", if you run GPU2 client on your Radeon, your Radeon "thinks" it renders 3D stuff.
User avatar
deekey777
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:28 pm

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby bruce » Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:14 am

deekey777 wrote:The best architecture is that gives the most FLOPs.
You can do a lot of rendering FLOPS with hardware that can only multiply and add. Those FLOPS aren't useful if you have do do a lot of division or sqrt/sin/cos's. The FP32/FP64 discussion is only a small fraction of the differences between what one GPU can do well and what another one can do poorly.

It's a little like the RISC hardware that came out many years ago. One philosophy was that you should build CPUs that can do lots of compex operations. Another philosophy was that you could build even faster CPU if all they ever have do do is integer instructions -- and then all of the more complex instructions can be done either by microcode or by compiler generated code. Both philosophies are correct, but they apply to software with different mixes
If you run GPU2 client on your Radeon, your Radeon "thinks" it renders 3D stuff.
With a 5D hardware structure, I'd hope that it thinks it's rendering 5D stuff.
bruce
 
Posts: 22729
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby deekey777 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:31 am

bruce wrote:
deekey777 wrote:The best architecture is that gives the most FLOPs.
You can do a lot of rendering FLOPS with hardware that can only multiply and add. Those FLOPS aren't useful if you have do do a lot of division or sqrt/sin/cos's. The FP32/FP64 discussion is only a small fraction of the differences between what one GPU can do well and what another one can do poorly.

http://www.beyond3d.com/content/reviews/55/11

If you run GPU2 client on your Radeon, your Radeon "thinks" it renders 3D stuff.
With a 5D hardware structure, I'd hope that it thinks it's rendering 5D stuff.


???
As I said before: There is no compute mode, so the Brook+ code is compiled to PS 2.0 (il_ps2.0).
User avatar
deekey777
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:28 pm

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby Evil Penguin » Sun Oct 24, 2010 6:24 am

deekey777 wrote:
bruce wrote:
deekey777 wrote:The best architecture is that gives the most FLOPs.
You can do a lot of rendering FLOPS with hardware that can only multiply and add. Those FLOPS aren't useful if you have do do a lot of division or sqrt/sin/cos's. The FP32/FP64 discussion is only a small fraction of the differences between what one GPU can do well and what another one can do poorly.

http://www.beyond3d.com/content/reviews/55/11

If you run GPU2 client on your Radeon, your Radeon "thinks" it renders 3D stuff.
With a 5D hardware structure, I'd hope that it thinks it's rendering 5D stuff.


???
As I said before: There is no compute mode, so the Brook+ code is compiled to PS 2.0 (il_ps2.0).

Wow... Radeon GPU's absolutely dominate at double precision.
User avatar
Evil Penguin
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 4:34 am
Location: Texas, United States

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby #64-Lux » Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:06 pm

OpenCL is included in AMD graphics drivers starting this month (direct linking to Release Notes is not allowed :( ).
It means that once new GPU client is released, its installation procedure is easier for users.
#64-Lux
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 5:35 pm

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby powerarmour » Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:51 pm

Yes, at least AMD have included OpenCL now in a driver installation package (though it's basically just a chuck in of what was available separately).
Image
powerarmour
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:00 am
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby mdk777 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:43 pm

Wow... Radeon GPU's absolutely dominate at double precision.


Performance per watt is in a class of its own also. :mrgreen:
Again,but only if your software has the ability to use it. :wink:

http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?i ... 53&page=16
Transparency and Accountability, the necessary foundation of any great endeavor!
mdk777
 
Posts: 813
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:12 am

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby mdk777 » Thu Oct 28, 2010 3:25 pm

FYI
CAT 10.10C has beta support for open GL 4.1

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pa ... otfix.aspx

As expected, 6850 performs exactly the same as 5850, 4870, or 3870 running current client. :wink:

amd 1055 x6 OC @ 3.89
WIN 7 64
AMD 6850
CAT 10.10c
Folding@home-Win32-GPU_Vista-623\Folding@home-Win32-GPU.exe -forcegpu ati_r700
p5733 (R1,C475,G160)

3153 ppd per FAHMON 2.3.99.3

Environmental variables set
99% GPU usage
Total system wattage at idle 110 watts
Total system wattage when folding 225 watt. (AC reading at wall) Kill-A-WATT meter.(PSU about 84% efficient at this wattage)
fan set 70% , GPU at 50C

I didn't expect anything different, but just run as a baseline to judge possible future improvements. :mrgreen:
mdk777
 
Posts: 813
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:12 am

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby muziqaz » Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:20 pm

You cannot go lower than that :D
User avatar
muziqaz
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:22 pm
Location: London

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby k1wi » Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:34 pm

I would have been surprised if it had been any more powerful, not just because of the client, but also because of the way it's designed and it's relative performance to the 5k series.
Image
k1wi
 
Posts: 1152
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:48 pm

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby powerarmour » Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:35 pm

Hopefully by the time the HD 7xxx series comes out, AMD will take GPGPU support & performance seriously...
powerarmour
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:00 am
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby cristipurdel » Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:16 pm

cristipurdel wrote:It's almost like saying that Intel has problems with OpenCL and they will not follow on this path.

Or I could be wrong :) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GMA_HD#HD_ ... 8GMA_HD.29
It would be nice to fold 2 smp clients on a Sandy Bridge (2cpu + 2ht + 12 eu) :)
cristipurdel
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 11:40 pm

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby muziqaz » Sat Nov 20, 2010 8:54 pm

Will be years till we see something from GPU area from intel to be able to fold. if ever
User avatar
muziqaz
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:22 pm
Location: London

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby mhouston » Sun Nov 21, 2010 6:41 am

Folding@Home on OpenMM running OpenCL was shown in alpha state running at Supercomputing 2010 in the AMD booth and Khronos booth. Also note that Intel just released an alpha OpenCL 1.1 implementation for their CPUs last week
mhouston
 
Posts: 892
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 8:19 pm

Re: Progress on GPU3 for ATi?

Postby Evil Penguin » Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:16 am

mhouston wrote:Folding@Home on OpenMM running OpenCL was shown in alpha state running at Supercomputing 2010 in the AMD booth and Khronos booth. Also note that Intel just released an alpha OpenCL 1.1 implementation for their CPUs last week

By any chance is there a video of this, Mike? :)

Edit: I'm still not able to find anything from the AMD or Khronos booths.
Not many recordings of the event on youtube. :(
Last edited by Evil Penguin on Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Evil Penguin
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 4:34 am
Location: Texas, United States

PreviousNext

Return to ATI specific issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron