Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby humboldt32 » Sun Jun 23, 2013 9:53 pm

Have had a GTX460 folding fine for almost a year, about to break 1,000,000:)

Added a 8800GT and progress has halted on everything.
The 8800GT is recognized in the f@h client and has been assigned a slot. 6.14.13.142 drivers
The GTX460 that's worked fine is no longer progressing. 6.14.13.142 drivers.

Updated .Net framework.

Am getting GPU memtest failure
GPU_MEMTEST_ERROR
Client config unavailable
Starting GUI server

Any suggestions appreciated.
Win XP Pro
AMD Athlon 4400+ dual core

Thanks
humboldt32
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:29 pm

Re: Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby 7im » Sun Jun 23, 2013 11:41 pm

Remove GPU slots, uninstall client, and then reinstall, giving the installer a chance to sort out the GPU order.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby humboldt32 » Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:19 am

Thanks for the suggestion, I've uninstalled/reinstalled several times but not removed the slots.

Any tips for updating the drivers independently? From what I've seen they take different drivers, but the nvidia site offers them as .exe files that update both of them at the same time.
Keeps giving me fits when I try to reboot.

Thanks
humboldt32
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:29 pm

Re: Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby humboldt32 » Mon Jun 24, 2013 1:09 am

Removed the slots, uninstalled the client, reinstalled the client.
No difference, still the same problem.

Both gpu's show as "running" w/ 0 progress.
Still getting GPU_MEMTEST_ERROR, client config unavailable, starting GUI server
humboldt32
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:29 pm

Re: Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby bruce » Mon Jun 24, 2013 3:24 am

My GUESS is that the GPUs are assigned the wrong index settings. (This happens about 50% of the time.) Thus you're downloading assignments for the wrong type of GPU. There are many discussions on the forum about this problem and several How-To descriptions of the best ways to modify the index settings.
bruce
 
Posts: 20125
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby PantherX » Mon Jun 24, 2013 3:46 am

This is what I did to get my GTX 260 and GTX 660Ti folding in the same system:

0) Disable the LAN connection to ensure no WUs would download

1) Uninstalled F@H including the data files

2) Reinstalled F@H as a custom installation and chose the start as console application.

3) Added the GPU Slots and pause-on-start=true

4) Started two instances of GPU-Z, one for each GPU

5) Enabled the LAN connection

6) Fold on the first GPU (GTX 660 Ti) to see where it mapped to by looking at the GPU-Z GPU Usage

7) Since it was mapped incorrectly, I closed the console window to terminate the Client

8) I then manually edited the config.xml to change the gpu-index, opencl-index, and Cuda-index to the correct ones. I found that opencl-index and Cuda-index are the same for my GTX 660 Ti

9) Started FAHClient again and fold the GTX 660 Ti Slot to verify that the correct GPU was showing the load

10) Repeat steps 6 to 9 for GTX 260

This all took me roughly <15 minutes and this was my configuration at the end:
GTX 660 Ti (First Slot)
gpu-index = 1
opencl-index = 0
Cuda-index = 0

GTX 260 (Second Slot)
gpu-index = 0
opencl-index = 1
Cuda-index = 1
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6850
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby humboldt32 » Mon Jun 24, 2013 5:39 am

Thanks for the reply.
Bruce, I appreciate your suggestion but have been searching this forum for the past 48 hours and haven't found anything that helped me yet. Lots of similar threads but still in the dark.
Thank you for the help.

Pantherx, thanks for the suggestion.
Despite reading through threads like viewtopic.php?f=67&t=18187 I'm still unsure about the different slot configurations.
I removed the 8800GT, reinstalled the latest client and got the gtx460 and cpu working fine again.

Powered down and added the 8800 GT, booted up, and folding is again at a standstill for both the GTX 460 and the cpu.
Haven't added the 8800 GT as a slot yet, nor any drivers.

Have looked for the config.xml file but as this is XP there's no roaming folder.

Could this have something to do with the 8800 GT not showing Cuda enabled in GPU-Z? From what I read it's a Cuda supported card, but when I look at it in GPU-Z the check box is not enabled.

Thank you for your help guys, I appreciate it.
humboldt32
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:29 pm

Re: Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby bruce » Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:17 am

humboldt32 wrote:Have looked for the config.xml file but as this is XP there's no roaming folder.

In XP, the appdata folder was still there but it was spelled differently. I don't have an XP system here to test it but try echo %APPDATA% in a cmd prompt and look there. (cd %APPDATA% should work, too.)
bruce
 
Posts: 20125
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby humboldt32 » Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:59 am

Will try that.

Thank you Bruce
humboldt32
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:29 pm

Re: Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby PantherX » Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:20 pm

humboldt32 wrote:...Could this have something to do with the 8800 GT not showing Cuda enabled in GPU-Z? From what I read it's a Cuda supported card, but when I look at it in GPU-Z the check box is not enabled...
On my GTX 650 and GTX 660Ti, only the display GPU shows CUDA enabled in GPU-Z but not the other one. Thus I would conclude that it is fine.
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6850
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby folding_hoomer » Tue Jun 25, 2013 9:34 pm

The easiest way to get access to the logs in WinXP (and Win7, too) is:

Start/All Programs/FAHClient/Data Directory.

There you will find:
- the actual log
- config.xml
- FAHControl.db
- GPU.txt (if you use GPU´s to fold with)
- sample-config.xml
and 5 sub-directories called:
- configs
- cores
- logs
- themes
- work
Image
folding_hoomer
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:06 pm
Location: Bavaria, Germany

Re: Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby humboldt32 » Wed Jun 26, 2013 7:10 am

Thanks for the help guys, I appreciate it.
Still no luck, but will try changing the slots indexes again tomorrow.

What's discouraging me is that the 460 stops folding the second I install the 8800.
Once I have the 8800 plugged in with power the 460 stops, whether or not I add it to the folding client.

Could it be a fermi/non-fermi issue?

Thanks again.
humboldt32
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:29 pm

Re: Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby TheWolf » Wed Jun 26, 2013 8:42 am

x
Last edited by TheWolf on Fri Jul 12, 2013 5:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
TheWolf
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 11:34 am

Re: Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby 7im » Wed Jun 26, 2013 9:38 am

Yes, the manual index setup in V7 is more complex than in v6, but you seem to miss the fact that this manual intervention is the rare exception and not the general rule. The v6 client always required more tweaking. :roll:
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Help with GTX460 and 8800GT

Postby P5-133XL » Wed Jun 26, 2013 10:08 am

humboldt32 wrote:Thanks for the help guys, I appreciate it.
Still no luck, but will try changing the slots indexes again tomorrow.

What's discouraging me is that the 460 stops folding the second I install the 8800.
Once I have the 8800 plugged in with power the 460 stops, whether or not I add it to the folding client.

Could it be a fermi/non-fermi issue?

Thanks again.


Again, have you ever re-installed folding (do not save data) with both video cards and drivers already properly installed? The point is that you are not adding the 8800 after the 460 rather since they are both installed and working then you install folding from scratch and the installation should auto discover everything and you won't have to add a slot and then manually modify the config...

When you have folding already installed and working for the 460 and then add the 8800 as a new card then the enumeration of the cards will change causing the 8800 to try to run the WU that was previously run on the 460 and that will fail and the 460 doesn't even have a slot any longer so it stops too. We have repeatedly tried to get you to modify the config after the 8800 is installed but all you do is complain that after you plug in the 8800 the 460 stops but that is to be expected after adding a new card for it messes up the order of the cards. The solution: Install both cards and all drivers then You can manually configure the slot order and that will work or you can uninstall folding (do not save the old data) followed by a total re-install of folding (do not re use the old data) and allow folding to discover both cards. Your choice, but the easier is the uninstall followed by a total re-install (do not use the old data)
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Next

Return to Problems with NVidia drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron