New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold {Fixed}

Post requests to add new GPUs to the official whitelist here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold {Fixed}

Postby AndyE » Mon Nov 11, 2013 1:39 pm

Just installed a new Asus GTX 780 Ti.
Was not recognised by the FAH Client (with original GPUs.txt)
Updated GPUs.txt, as the device ID wasn't in the most recent file for download (device id = 10DE & 100A)
FAH Client recognizes new GPU
Changed client-type to advanced
The second card (GTX Titan) downloaded normally its workunit.
The slot for the 780 Ti responded

WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment

Any hints to get the 780 Ti folding?

Thanks,
Andy
AndyE
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:52 pm

Re: New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold

Postby bollix47 » Mon Nov 11, 2013 2:12 pm

Updating the version of GPUs.txt on your computer won't get you an assignment. It must be updated on the server too.

I've posted the info in viewtopic.php?p=251702#p251702
bollix47
 
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold

Postby bollix47 » Mon Nov 11, 2013 3:09 pm

Your gpu id has now been added server side ... please try to get an assignment again.
bollix47
 
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold

Postby kiore » Mon Nov 11, 2013 3:24 pm

And do please post how it goes.. Temps under load and PPD, looks like you're the first with one of these.
Image

i7 7800x GTX 1080ti , OS= win7. AMD 3700x RTX 2080ti OS= win10
kiore
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold

Postby PantherX » Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:04 pm

Please note that having client-type set to advanced is not longer needed to FahCore_17 WUs since it has been recently pushed to full F@H (http://folding.stanford.edu/home/change ... -full-fah/).
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Chrome Folding App (Beta) Ӂ Troubleshooting "Bad WUs" Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold

Postby AndyE » Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:20 pm

kiore wrote:And do please post how it goes.. Temps under load and PPD, looks like you're the first with one of these.

bollix47 wrote:Your gpu id has now been added server side ... please try to get an assignment again.

Thanks a lot.
The GTX 780 Ti is now folding.

Not sure though if the card is doing its full performance yet.
EVGA Precision (v4) is showing 3005 MHz memory frequency (it should be 3500 MHz)

My settings:
shader +80 mhz (= 1100 mhz),
memory on stock,
Voltage = 1,18V
TDP setting = 100%
fan on 70%,
temp below 60C

There is a GTX Titan in the same system where I set the shader speed to +100 Mhz (=1100 Mhz) to compare the cards with identical frequency.
I will update EVGA's precision tool to check for the 6 vs 7 GHz memory speed anomaly.

In the first P7810 work unit, tpf was 1:16 (210k ppd)
second P7810 WU, 1:21 and 191k ppd,
third P7810 WU 1:18 and 203k ppd respectively

to compare: The GTX Titan had 1:24 and 181k ppd

Andy
AndyE
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:52 pm

Re: New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold

Postby kiore » Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:23 pm

Andy, how are you calculating your PPD? 210kppd is rather nice, you have 2 completed units in 7810?
kiore
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold

Postby AndyE » Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:29 pm

kiore wrote:Andy, how are you calculating your PPD? 210kppd is rather nice, you have 2 completed units in 7810?

Taken from the log file: complete time of 100% / 100. Entered this time into Bonus Calculator
AndyE
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:52 pm

Re: New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold

Postby kiore » Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:37 pm

AndyE wrote:
kiore wrote:Andy, how are you calculating your PPD? 210kppd is rather nice, you have 2 completed units in 7810?

Taken from the log file: complete time of 100% / 100. Entered this time into Bonus Calculator


Cool, this is without OC and temps still around 60c on a shared MB?
NB I am just about to spend some money on a new card thus my interest.. :egeek:
kiore
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold

Postby AndyE » Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:50 pm

Please note: The card is set to +80 MHz on the shader frequency. Don't know how much is possible. A quick check with +200 MHz failed (but I don't intend to run it at that frequency)
The system is currently in the basement. Ambient temp is 18 degree C. The card is permanently below 60C in a Coolermaster XB case.
AndyE
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:52 pm

Re: New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold

Postby AndyE » Tue Nov 12, 2013 1:35 am

It's 2am - time for bed :)

A quick recap:
The 200k and above WUs looked like initial edge cases.
In the average the slightly overclocked Ti achieved tpfs of 1:23 (P7810) which translates into 184k ppd.
The Titan in the same system and set to the same shader frequency achieved tpfs of 1:26 and 175k ppd.
A ppd plus of 5%, a tpf plus of 3.6% (but much better price)

EVGA Precision (upgraded to the latest version) cannot properly display the memory bus frequency - its a bug.
I cross checked with GPU Shark. There the tool reports the 7 GHz memory bus speed of the Ti.

Why the Ti does not offer 7% more throughput at the same frequency vs. the Titan - I don't know yet. (15 vs. 14 SMX)

Temp in the Coolermaster BX case is well under control
Screenshot of GPU Shark: http://www.pbase.com/andrease/image/153341705/original.jpg

rgds, Andy
AndyE
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:52 pm

Re: New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold {Fixed}

Postby WhatsMyNameiDunno » Sat Nov 16, 2013 5:42 pm

I've downloaded the updated GPUs.txt to the data directory and restarted the client, but my new 780 ti won't fold. When I try to open a gpu slot I still get "On client "local" 127.0.0.1:36330: No more GPUs" error. Still pretty new to folding can anyone help me with this?
WhatsMyNameiDunno
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 5:32 pm

Re: New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold {Fixed}

Postby bollix47 » Sat Nov 16, 2013 5:47 pm

Welcome to the folding@home support forum WhatsMyNameiDunno.

Please supply the System Info, Config sections of the log as explained here.

Also, using GPU-Z, tell us the Device ID numbers associated with your GPU and since the 780 ti is very new and requires recent drivers what version of nvidia drivers are you using.
bollix47
 
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold {Fixed}

Postby 7im » Sat Nov 16, 2013 7:08 pm

It can't add the slot if it doesn't see the GPU. It's most likely a driver issue. As noted above, make sure you install NV's drivers, and not the Window's or PC Maker's drivers.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: New Asus GTX 780 Ti won't fold {Fixed}

Postby widsss » Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:01 am

I'm having the same problem as WhatsMyNameiDunno. Not only is the Ti unrecognized by F@H, but my rig doesn't recognize the 780ti at all. My drivers are up to date, 331.65 I believe. There's been a different 780 successfully folding in it for a few weeks. In the Nvidia control panel, only the original 780 is showing up. I tried different PCi slots, even putting the Ti in the slot used by the other 780. I'm at a dead end with ideas, usually this stuff is plug and play.

EDIT: I did NOT have 331.65, I had the previous driver installed. Updated driver and I'm coming down off the ledge now. :oops:
widsss
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 3:00 pm

Next

Return to New GPUs (whitelist)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Sven and 0 guests

cron