running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (idle)

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though AMD has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

Postby mike9o » Sat Dec 31, 2016 7:23 pm

The two gpu slots are both x16 v3.0. There is a third slot but its is v2.0 and the gpu will not fit in it (it is too close to the power supply).
I've rebooted a few times and the one gpu always runs at 300 MHz rather than 1070 MHz.
mike9o
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 7:04 am

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

Postby foldy » Sat Dec 31, 2016 10:07 pm

Maybe the AMD Wattman settings are wrong? Or the opencl indexed are messed up and the work unit is not running on the 2nd GPU?
Maybe try to uninstall client 7.4.15 beta and install 7.4.4 instead.
foldy
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

Postby _r2w_ben » Mon Jan 02, 2017 9:31 pm

What is the GPU Load % reported on the Sensors tab of GPU-Z for each card?

If one is 0% and the other is 100%, you may need to manually specify the opencl-index for each slot. 7.4.15 beta will frequently forget this setting after a reboot while 7.4.4 will not.

This is my setup:
Radeon RX 460 is gpu-index = 1 and opencl-index = 0
AMD 7600 APU is gpu-index = 0 and opencl-index = 1
_r2w_ben
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:11 pm

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

Postby Aurum » Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:32 am

mike9o wrote:I have a similar problem running two 390x's in a duel GPU Z170 Intel system. Per the Folding web control display, GPU 0 is earning 31k ppd and GPU 1 is earning 292k ppd. I deleted the CPU slot because I thought that the one GPU slot wasn't getting any CPU support. I have other dual GPU systems which don't have this problem. Any ideas?

Hi mike90, I have several multi-GPU rigs with that family of cards running together fine.
1st, let that nice i7-4970k fold and if you leave it Slots/CPU/#of CPUs set to -1 and F@H will dedicate 2 cores to GPU folding and 6 to CPU folding. If you use the PC for other work you may want to set it to 5. Should not reduce GPU folding unless you force it to 7 or 8. I use F@H 7.4.15 so I don't know if 7.4.4 gives you a choice.
2nd, I didn't see which AMD driver you're using but I use non-whql-win7-64bit-radeon-software-crimson-relive-16.12.2-dec19.exe for all my AMD cards 7000 and higher. If you install it select Custom and click Clean Install. Did see right that this is a 32-bit XP OS?
Do you have any other programs running? Have you opened the Task Manager and looked to see if some process is hogging CPU time?
What model of motherboard do you have? You can use Speccy from Piriform.com to look it up.
Image
Aurum
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

Postby Aurum » Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:39 am

_r2w_ben wrote:Radeon RX 460 is gpu-index = 1 and opencl-index = 0
AMD 7600 APU is gpu-index = 0 and opencl-index = 1

I don't know if it makes a difference but I've tried it all 3 ways and this is the way I set gpu index now on all my rigs:
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 0
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 1
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 2
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 3

And yes, 7.4.15 often forgets on F@H restarts and you have to manually check them. Eager for a fix in 7.4.16.
Aurum
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

Postby davidcoton » Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:22 pm

Aurum wrote:
_r2w_ben wrote:Radeon RX 460 is gpu-index = 1 and opencl-index = 0
AMD 7600 APU is gpu-index = 0 and opencl-index = 1

I don't know if it makes a difference but I've tried it all 3 ways and this is the way I set gpu index now on all my rigs:
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 0
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 1
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 2
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 3

And yes, 7.4.15 often forgets on F@H restarts and you have to manually check them. Eager for a fix in 7.4.16.


The problem is that finding "correct" index settings varies from one PC to another. No-one has yet identified an algorithm that always works, unless it's in 7.4.16. From memory it's not yet fixed.

7.4.16 is available so you can install it to check whether setting work and persist.
Image
davidcoton
 
Posts: 920
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

Postby bruce » Mon Jan 16, 2017 11:18 pm

GPU speed depends on the number of shaders in your GPU plus a few other less-important features. If two identical GPUs are placed in slots with different speeds, there may also be a difference in performance. When that was being discussed (on the previous page) it's not clear to me that you checked the characteristics of your motherboard.
bruce
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20454
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

Postby _r2w_ben » Tue Jan 17, 2017 1:07 am

davidcoton wrote:The problem is that finding "correct" index settings varies from one PC to another. No-one has yet identified an algorithm that always works, unless it's in 7.4.16. From memory it's not yet fixed.

7.4.16 is available so you can install it to check whether setting work and persist.


7.4.16 does a better job of persisting settings but I haven't tried letting it auto-configure the slots.

I noticed that during startup of the client, it prints out additional values compared to 7.4.15. For me, the GPU # matches up with gpu-index and OpenCL Device # matches with opencl-index.
Code: Select all
01:08:13:          GPU 0: Bus:0 Slot:1 Func:0 ATI:5 Kaveri [Radeon R7]
01:08:13:          GPU 1: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 ATI:5 Baffin XT [Radeon RX 460]
01:08:13:           CUDA: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'nvcuda.dll': The
01:08:13:                 specified module could not be found.
01:08:13:
01:08:13:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:2117.13
01:08:13:OpenCL Device 1: Platform:0 Device:1 Bus:0 Slot:1 Compute:1.2 Driver:2117.13
_r2w_ben
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:11 pm

Previous

Return to Problems with AMD/ATI drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron