OpenCL for AMD

If you think it might be a driver problem, see viewforum.php?f=79

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Post Reply
Jahus
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 1:33 pm

OpenCL for AMD

Post by Jahus »

Hello

I am trying to fold with my AMD HD 6950 but I'm getting `Error initializing context: clGetDeviceIDs` and `BAD_WORK_UNIT` errors:

> Graphic card: Sapphir HD 6950
> Drivers: Legacy 16.2 (beta) (exact same error happens with 13.12 drivers I was using for cryptocurrency mining purpose)
> System: Windows 7 SP1 x86

Here's the log:

Code: Select all

    :WU00:FS01:0x21:*********************** Log Started 2017-05-07TZ ***********************
    :WU00:FS01:0x21:Project: 11429 (Run 1, Clone 235, Gen 58)
    :WU00:FS01:0x21:Unit: 0x000000468ca304f158af65f4dbedfd29
    :WU00:FS01:0x21:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
    :WU00:FS01:0x21:Machine: 1
    :WU00:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file core.xml
    :WU00:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file system.xml
    :WU00:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file integrator.xml
    :WU00:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file state.xml
    :WU00:FS01:0x21:Digital signatures verified
    :WU00:FS01:0x21:Folding@home GPU Core21 Folding@home Core
    :WU00:FS01:0x21:Version 0.0.18
    :WU00:FS01:0x21:ERROR:exception: Error initializing context: clGetDeviceIDs (-1)
    :WU00:FS01:0x21:Saving result file logfile_01.txt
    :WU00:FS01:0x21:Saving result file log.txt
    :WARNING:WU00:FS01:FahCore returned: BAD_WORK_UNIT (114 = 0x72)
    :WU00:FS01:Sending unit results: id:00 state:SEND error:FAULTY project:11429 run:1 clone:235 gen:58 core:0x21 unit:0x000000468ca304f158af65f4dbedfd29
    :WU00:FS01:Uploading 2.33KiB to 140.163.4.241
    :WU00:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.241:8080
    :WU00:FS01:Upload complete
    :WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
    :WU00:FS01:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
    :WU00:FS01:Cleaning up
    :WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.245
    :WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:Cayman PRO [Radeon 6900 Series] from 140.163.4.245
    :WU01:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.245:8080
    :WU01:FS01:Downloading 14.50MiB
    :WU01:FS01:Download 3.88%
    :WU01:FS01:Download 6.47%
    :WU01:FS01:Download 9.05%
    :WU01:FS01:Download 11.64%
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7856
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2
Location: W. MA

Re: Error initializing context: clGetDeviceIDs

Post by Joe_H »

Welcome to the folding support forum.

Code: Select all

    :WU00:FS01:0x21:ERROR:exception: Error initializing context: clGetDeviceIDs (-1)
This error message usually indicates a missing component from the video driver install, the OpenCL support. This often happens with drivers supplied by either MS or other sources other than AMD in the case of cards from them, or nVidia for their GPU's. Did you get your drivers from AMD?

It is also possible that you need a more recent driver version. Someone who has a 6950 or similar GPU may be able to comment on that. The last version released for that series of cards is 15.7.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7856
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2
Location: W. MA

Re: Error initializing context: clGetDeviceIDs

Post by Joe_H »

One additional note, the current GPU folding core - 21, has been reported to work better on AMD GCN based GPU's. I don't know if that applies to the error you are seeing, but the performance on the older Terascale architecture your 6950 is based on will not be as good.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
4n0n
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:12 pm

Re: Error initializing context: clGetDeviceIDs

Post by 4n0n »

Hi Jahus,
Jahus wrote:`Error initializing context: clGetDeviceIDs` and `BAD_WORK_UNIT
Joe_H wrote:

Code: Select all

    :WU00:FS01:0x21:ERROR:exception: Error initializing context: clGetDeviceIDs (-1)
This error message usually indicates a missing component from the video driver install, the OpenCL support.
This error message might also be related to missing privileges of the user "fahclient".

See here viewtopic.php?f=81&t=33353 and try if this fixes your problem. I had the same and in my case this workaround did the trick.
toTOW
Site Moderator
Posts: 6296
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Re: OpenCL for AMD

Post by toTOW »

Jahus wrote:> Drivers: Legacy 16.2 (beta) (exact same error happens with 13.12 drivers I was using for cryptocurrency mining purpose)
> System: Windows 7 SP1 x86
32 bits is no longer supported by FAH, you need a 64 bits OS.

Also, Crimson Edition 16.2.1 Beta drivers doesn't have a functioning OpenCL driver, you'll have to stick with 15.7.1 WHQL.
Image

Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.
JimboPalmer
Posts: 2573
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: OpenCL for AMD

Post by JimboPalmer »

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/r ... -6950.c405

This is a 9.5 year old design. It does meet the Minimums for starting folding: OpenCL 1.2 and Double Precision Floating point math (FP64)

https://www.amd.com/en/support/graphics ... on-hd-6950
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
Post Reply