Fedora 27 GPU not found

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Fedora 27 GPU not found

Postby goodyca » Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:51 pm

I am running FAH version 7.4.4 on Fadora 27 with kernel 4.14.13-300.fc27.x86_64. I am running nvidia driver version 387.34-1.fc27.x86_64. I have install CUDA 9-1-9.1.85-1.x86_64. I have 1 GPU installed: GeForce GTX 1050 Ti. When I try to add a slot for the GPU, I get the following error:

"On client "local" 127.0.0.1:36330: No available GPUs"

FAH appears to be finding CUDA. Here is the start of the FAH log file:

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2018-01-22T18:30:40Z ***********************
18:30:40:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
18:30:40:    Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
18:30:40:  Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
18:30:40:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
18:30:40:       Args: --child --lifeline 1360 /etc/fahclient/config.xml --run-as
18:30:40:             fahclient --pid-file=/var/run/fahclient.pid --daemon
18:30:40:     Config: /etc/fahclient/config.xml
18:30:40:******************************** Build ********************************
18:30:40:    Version: 7.4.4
18:30:40:       Date: Mar 4 2014
18:30:40:       Time: 12:01:17
18:30:40:    SVN Rev: 4130
18:30:40:     Branch: fah/trunk/client
18:30:40:   Compiler: GNU 4.1.2 20080704 (Red Hat 4.1.2-46)
18:30:40:    Options: -std=gnu++98 -O3 -funroll-loops -mfpmath=sse -ffast-math
18:30:40:             -fno-unsafe-math-optimizations -msse2
18:30:40:   Platform: linux2 2.6.18-164.11.1.el5
18:30:40:       Bits: 64
18:30:40:       Mode: Release
18:30:40:******************************* System ********************************
18:30:40:        CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700K CPU @ 3.70GHz
18:30:40:     CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 158 Stepping 10
18:30:40:       CPUs: 12
18:30:40:     Memory: 7.73GiB
18:30:40:Free Memory: 7.14GiB
18:30:40:    Threads: POSIX_THREADS
18:30:40: OS Version: 4.14
18:30:40:Has Battery: false
18:30:40: On Battery: false
18:30:40: UTC Offset: -6
18:30:40:        PID: 1362
18:30:40:        CWD: /var/lib/fahclient
18:30:40:         OS: Linux 4.14.13-300.fc27.x86_64 x86_64
18:30:40:    OS Arch: AMD64
18:30:40:       GPUs: 0
18:30:40:       CUDA: 6.1
18:30:40:CUDA Driver: 9010
18:30:40:***********************************************************************

goodyca
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:36 pm

Re: Fedora 27 GPU not found

Postby JimboPalmer » Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:59 pm

I am not an expert, but while we wait for one, here is a relevant link http://security-plus-data-science.blogs ... ra-27.html
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 771
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Fedora 27 GPU not found

Postby SteveWillis » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:23 pm

Do you have the latest /var/lib/fahclient/GPUs.txt installed?
fah.stanford.edu/file-releases/public/GPUs.txt
Image

1080 and 1080TI GPUs on Linux Mint
SteveWillis
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:42 am

Re: Fedora 27 GPU not found

Postby goodyca » Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:03 pm

SteveWillis wrote:Do you have the latest /var/lib/fahclient/GPUs.txt installed?
fah.stanford.edu/file-releases/public/GPUs.txt

I didn't have a GPUs.txt file in the /var/lib/fahclient directory. I added the contents of the URL to the directory in a file named GPUs.txt. Restarting the FAHClient service allowed FAH to find the GPU and it is now folding.

Thank you for the assistance.
goodyca
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:36 pm

Re: Fedora 27 GPU not found

Postby bruce » Tue Jan 23, 2018 12:10 am

In most cases, it's not necessary to manually download GPUs.txt.

When FAHClient starts, it's supposed to download the file if needed. (Sometimes, though, FAHClient gets started before the internet connection is available and I can't get it yet.) Could that be what happened in your case?
bruce
 
Posts: 22137
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Fedora 27 GPU not found

Postby SteveWillis » Tue Jan 23, 2018 12:19 am

My experience is that with Linux it is ALWAYS necessary to manually download GPUs.txt. At least for me, I've had to do it every time on my rigs.
SteveWillis
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:42 am

Re: Fedora 27 GPU not found

Postby Joe_H » Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:00 am

It must depend on the distro of Linux you use and the steps you follow. I recently set up a Ubuntu 16.04 system and installed the folding client, it downloaded the GPUs.txt file just fine.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4393
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Fedora 27 GPU not found

Postby goodyca » Tue Jan 23, 2018 12:04 pm

bruce wrote:In most cases, it's not necessary to manually download GPUs.txt.

When FAHClient starts, it's supposed to download the file if needed. (Sometimes, though, FAHClient gets started before the internet connection is available and I can't get it yet.) Could that be what happened in your case?

I don't think so. The internet connection is available when the computer is started.
goodyca
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:36 pm

Re: Fedora 27 GPU not found

Postby bruce » Tue Jan 23, 2018 3:27 pm

It's a race condition so it's hard to say if it's broken or not. It takes a short time for the internet connection to be started. The very first thing that FAHClient does is try to download GPUs.txt.

If you try to test it, be sure to FINISH the GPU WU first as it's likely to dump it. You can see the message only if you remove GPUs.txt, open a text window and then
"/etc/init.d/FAHClient start -v"
.

It's supposed to retry later, but not immediately.
bruce
 
Posts: 22137
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Fedora 27 GPU not found

Postby SteveWillis » Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:35 pm

I don't see that there is a problem. Once you download and install the file you are good to go until you upgrade to a GPU that isn't included in the file or have to reinstall the OS and the apps. Then download the newest one. At least that's my experience. Not worth wasting time on for me.
SteveWillis
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:42 am


Return to Problems with NVidia drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron