numbers in GPUs.txt

Post requests to add new GPUs to the official whitelist here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

numbers in GPUs.txt

Postby ChristianVirtual » Mon Aug 28, 2017 3:44 pm

Saw recently number appearing after the GPU name ... what is the purpose for those ?

0x10de:0x17c2:2:7:GM200 [GeForce GTX Titan X] 6144
0x10de:0x17c8:2:7:GM200 [GeForce GTX 980 Ti] 5632
0x10de:0x17f0:2:5:GM200GL [Quadro M6000]
0x10de:0x17f1:2:5:GM200GL [Quadro M6000]
0x10de:0x17fd:2:5:GM200GL [Tesla M40]
0x10de:0x1b00:2:7:GP102 [GeForce Titan X] 6144
0x10de:0x1b01:2:5:GP102 [xxx]
0x10de:0x1b02:2:7:GP102 [GeForce Titan Xp] 12150
0x10de:0x1b06:2:7:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380
0x10de:0x1b30:2:5:GP102GL [Quadro P6000]
0x10de:0x1b38:2:5:GP102GL [Tesla P40]
ImageImage
Please contribute your logs to http://ppd.fahmm.net
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1596
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:14 pm
Location: Tokyo

Re: numbers in GPUs.txt

Postby bruce » Mon Aug 28, 2017 6:51 pm

They're the expected SP-GFLOPS. They're not used by FAH but they do help us sort out potential errors in GPUSpecies.
bruce
 
Posts: 20009
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: numbers in GPUs.txt

Postby ChristianVirtual » Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:36 pm

Thanks Bruce, at least I know they are on purpose and can tweak my iPad app to ignore them (not messing my internal DB)
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1596
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:14 pm
Location: Tokyo

Re: numbers in GPUs.txt

Postby Joe_H » Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:49 pm

Everything to the right of the last colon is "cosmetic", does not actually get used by the folding client at all for other than for display purposes. So I would not place any particular importance on that field in your app.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6601
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: numbers in GPUs.txt

Postby ChristianVirtual » Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:18 pm

Beside that's the only place from the log (3rd part API or file upload) where I get the name from ...

http://imageshack.com/a/img923/5876/LZ08hF.jpg

But hey, no difficult to cut everything after the squared bracket
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1596
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 1:14 pm
Location: Tokyo

Re: numbers in GPUs.txt

Postby ari2asem » Sat Feb 15, 2020 6:09 pm

is there support for nvidia grid m40?

not asking for support tesla m40. but for grid m40....
ari2asem
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 2:07 am

Re: numbers in GPUs.txt

Postby bruce » Sat Feb 15, 2020 6:52 pm

The GM107GL [GRID M40] is listed as Species 4, which means it's recognized as a GPU that doesn't support Double Precision so it won't get any assignments. I have not found a clear description of what it can/cannot do.

Edit: Found it. The GRID M40 contains a GM200 GPU and can do 7 TFLOPS Single Precision (FP32) and 0.21 TFLOPS (1/32) Double Precision (FP64). That's not what GPUS.TXt current says, but I can correct it if you have one that can be tested. It was designed for Machine Learning, not for stream processing, and I expect it will perform VERY poorly on FAH but we won't know that unless you can report back.
bruce
 
Posts: 20009
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: numbers in GPUs.txt

Postby toTOW » Sun Feb 16, 2020 1:37 pm

The one I found is way less powerful : https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/grid-m40.c2518 ... it's a GM107, not a GM200 ...

FP32 (float) performance
793.3 GFLOPS

FP64 (double) performance
24.79 GFLOPS (1:32)


It should fold, but don't expect high performance.
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 5648
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France


Return to New GPUs (whitelist)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron