Windows control will not talk to Linux client

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Post Reply
MadManMarkAu
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 12:43 am

Windows control will not talk to Linux client

Post by MadManMarkAu »

Hi,

I recently started folding, and have F@H set up on my Windows desktop computer, and a second client on my Ubuntu server. Windows is working great, and following the instructions on the site, I was able to get the Linux client up and running. By the way, the instructions need updating. Instructions tell you to install 7.4.4 experimental, but there is a 7.5.1 stable version available if you browse the public folder.

the problem is, when I tried to connect the controller app on my Windows machine, to the folding client on my Linux server, it sits there saying "Updating" in the clients list.

Firewall is fine, there is actually a TCP connection between the controller and Linux client. I investigated the communication between the two, and found something strange. The F@H client on Linux cannot understand the commands from the controller.

Code: Select all

updates clear
updates add 0 4 $heartbeat
updates add 1 5 $ppd
updates add 2 1 $(options cpu-usage command-allow-no-pass no-assembly core-priority proxy-pass checkpoint cause command-port pause-on-battery passkey proxy-enable command-deny-no-pass user password deny proxy-user cpu-affinity verbosity gpu-usage allow team proxy power *)
updates add 3 4 $queue-info
updates add 4 1 $slot-info
info
log-updates start
configured

ERROR: unknown command or variable 'updates'
> 
ERROR: unknown command or variable 'updates'
> 
ERROR: unknown command or variable 'updates'
> 
ERROR: unknown command or variable 'updates'
> 
ERROR: unknown command or variable 'updates'
> 
ERROR: unknown command or variable 'updates'
> 
ERROR: unknown command or variable 'info'
> 
ERROR: unknown command or variable 'log-updates'
> 
ERROR: unknown command or variable 'configured'
> 
I have confirmed I an running the latest version of the Linux client.

Code: Select all

*********************** Log Started 2020-03-21T00:28:31Z ***********************
00:28:31:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
00:28:31:    Website: https://foldingathome.org/
00:28:31:  Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
00:28:31:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
00:28:31:       Args: --child --lifeline 8578 /etc/fahclient/config.xml --run-as
00:28:31:             fahclient --pid-file=/var/run/fahclient.pid --daemon
00:28:31:     Config: /etc/fahclient/config.xml
00:28:31:******************************** Build ********************************
00:28:31:    Version: 7.5.1
00:28:31:       Date: May 11 2018
00:28:31:       Time: 19:59:04
00:28:31: Repository: Git
00:28:31:   Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
00:28:31:     Branch: master
00:28:31:   Compiler: GNU 6.3.0 20170516
00:28:31:    Options: -std=gnu++98 -O3 -funroll-loops
00:28:31:   Platform: linux2 4.14.0-3-amd64
00:28:31:       Bits: 64
00:28:31:       Mode: Release
Monitoring the client from the web browser does not work, either.

Is this a known issue? Any workarounds?
jonault
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 9:53 pm

Re: Windows control will not talk to Linux client

Post by jonault »

Did you set up the Linux client to allow remote access? By default, the clients won't allow it.
Image
MadManMarkAu
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 12:43 am

Re: Windows control will not talk to Linux client

Post by MadManMarkAu »

jonault wrote:Did you set up the Linux client to allow remote access? By default, the clients won't allow it.
You are absolutely correct. It was a configuration issue.

As is often the case, about 5 minutes after posting this, I found the solution on another website.

In your /etc/fahclient/config.xml file, you need to add the line

Code: Select all

<command-allow-no-pass v="<controller ip goes here>,127.0.0.1" />
in order to allow remote control without a password. I believe there is also configuration options for allowing remote control WITH a password.

I'm on a private LAN, so I don't need to worry about passwords in this instance.

All good now.
Post Reply