GPU Slot error

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

GPU Slot error

Postby AnClar » Thu May 14, 2020 7:02 pm

I upgraded my wife's laptop from W10 Home to W10 Pro by a license key change. Prior to the upgrade, I paused the WUs I had, for both CPU and GPU, and exited the FAH client. After what looked to be a successful upgrade, I restarted the FAH client. Everything looked OK until I noticed that the GPU slot would not resume. I checked the log and got this:

17:53:54:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 1 not found, make sure the OpenCL driver is installed or try setting 'opencl-index' manually

That slot was working fine before the upgrade to W10 Pro. I tried uninstalling the client (keeping the data) and reinstalling the client. Same issue on startup. The slot shows "ready" in Advanced Control, but if I try to start it and resume the WU, that's the error I get. GPU is nVidia GTX1060M. The CPU slot is working fine, but the WU in the GPU slot is stuck at 13%. Any ideas? Thanks.
Image
AnClar
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 4:59 am

Re: GPU Slot error

Postby Neil-B » Thu May 14, 2020 7:10 pm

The upgrade to pro may have installed window nvidia drivers ... you may need to reinstall the latest ones from nvidia as these will have the OpenCL driver that may be missing ... if this doesn't work please post your log making sure to include the top 100 lines or so of the log that include the system configuration details.
1: 2x Xeon E5-2697v3@2.60GHz, 512GB DDR4 LRDIMM, SSD Raid, Win10 Ent, Quadro K420 1GB, FAH 7.6.21
2: Xeon E3-1505Mv5@2.80GHz, 32GB DDR4, NVME, Win10 Pro, Quadro M1000M 2GB, FAH 7.6.21
3: i7-960@3.20GHz, 12GB DDR3, SSD, Win10 Pro, GTX 750Ti 2GB, FAH 7.6.21
Neil-B
 
Posts: 1504
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: GPU Slot error

Postby AnClar » Thu May 14, 2020 8:42 pm

Neil-B wrote:The upgrade to pro may have installed window nvidia drivers ... you may need to reinstall the latest ones from nvidia as these will have the OpenCL driver that may be missing ... if this doesn't work please post your log making sure to include the top 100 lines or so of the log that include the system configuration details.


Thank you! That was the issue. I didn't think that an upgrade from W10 home to W10 pro would mess with the GPU drivers. Silly me. :shock:
AnClar
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 4:59 am

Re: GPU Slot error

Postby Neil-B » Thu May 14, 2020 10:00 pm

Glad I could assist … and by the way imo (as a veteran windows user/fanboy) it is Windows that is "Silly" not yourself !!
Neil-B
 
Posts: 1504
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: GPU Slot error

Postby bruce » Wed Jun 10, 2020 6:32 am

AnClar wrote:I didn't think that an upgrade from W10 home to W10 pro would mess with the GPU drivers. Silly me. :shock:


You don't have to do a version upgrade to have that happen. Even when Windows decides you need a simple driver update ....
https://github.com/FoldingAtHome/fah-issues/issues/1212
bruce
 
Posts: 20162
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.


Return to Problems with NVidia drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron