Another GPU just showed up...

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Another GPU just showed up...

Postby VinceMH » Sat Jun 13, 2020 3:43 pm

I have only ever seen the NVIDIA GPU being used by FAH. This morning I notice an Intel GPU in "Ready" status, waiting on a WU. Why did FAH decide to use this GPU?

I'm currently limiting CPU slots to 6 and it's on Full.

Speccy:
Intel UHD Graphics 630
Manufacturer Intel
Model UHD Graphics 630
Device ID 8086-3E98
Revision 3
Subvendor Dell (1028)
Current Performance Level Level 0
Driver version 26.20.100.7263
Count of performance levels : 1
Level 1 - "Perf Level 0"

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070
Manufacturer NVIDIA
Model GeForce RTX 2070
Device ID 10DE-1F02
Revision A2
Subvendor Dell (1028)
Current Performance Level Level 0
Bus Interface PCI Express x16
Temperature 34 °C
Driver version 26.21.14.4223
BIOS Version 90.06.2e.40.e9
Memory 4095 MB
VinceMH
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2020 8:51 pm

Re: Another GPU just showed up...

Postby foldy » Sat Jun 13, 2020 4:12 pm

Maybe you are on beta team? As they start experiment with Intel iGPU...
foldy
 
Posts: 1976
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:43 pm

Re: Another GPU just showed up...

Postby MeeLee » Sat Jun 13, 2020 4:34 pm

OpenCL sees it.
If I'm not mistaken, older systems using a hybrid system with an Intel IGP, and an external dGPU had where the Intel GPU was seen in FAH, but never used.
MeeLee
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:16 pm

Re: Another GPU just showed up...

Postby Joe_H » Sat Jun 13, 2020 5:23 pm

Intel iGPUs were added to GPUs.txt, however they are listed as unsupported (blacklisted) for now and that should not result in a folding slot being created.

However, a couple weeks ago when they were first added, an error was made in the format of the entries. If your F@h client downloaded that version of the file, then a folding slot may have been created by the client after the next restart. Deleting the existing copy of GPUs.txt and the folding slot for the UHD 630 and restarting will get a current copy of GPUs.txt and should not create a folding slot.

Normally GPUs.txt is updated by the client about once a month. Changes made in the file will take effect after the next restart.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6541
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Another GPU just showed up...

Postby VinceMH » Sat Jun 13, 2020 5:30 pm

Joe_H wrote:Intel iGPUs were added to GPUs.txt, however they are listed as unsupported (blacklisted) for now and that should not result in a folding slot being created.

However, a couple weeks ago when they were first added, an error was made in the format of the entries. If your F@h client downloaded that version of the file, then a folding slot may have been created by the client after the next restart. Deleting the existing copy of GPUs.txt and the folding slot for the UHD 630 and restarting will get a current copy of GPUs.txt and should not create a folding slot.

Normally GPUs.txt is updated by the client about once a month. Changes made in the file will take effect after the next restart.


Thanks Joe_H. I did update the FAH Client a couple weeks ago. I want to make sure I get this right. I am to find the GPUs.txt file and delete it, then restart the PC. Can you tell me where to find GPUs.txt? I don't see it here C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient

thanks again
VinceMH
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2020 8:51 pm

Re: Another GPU just showed up...

Postby Joe_H » Sat Jun 13, 2020 5:58 pm

Someone on Windows will have to answer that for certain, I currently only have OS X and Linux installations to check the location on. However as I recall from other mentions, it should be in the data directory. That will be shown in your log file as CWD:, and the log file is also in that location. The directory for the data directory is part of %AppData%.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6541
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Another GPU just showed up...

Postby _r2w_ben » Sat Jun 13, 2020 6:08 pm

If you go to Start and type "Data Directory", that should be a shortcut to the FAH folder. GPUs.txt will be in there.
_r2w_ben
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 4:11 pm

Re: Another GPU just showed up...

Postby Neil-B » Sat Jun 13, 2020 6:12 pm

\Users\*****\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient ... ***** being your windows user ... if default install location
1: 2x Xeon E5-2697v3@2.60GHz, 512GB DDR4 LRDIMM, SSD Raid, Win10 Ent, Quadro K420 1GB, FAH 7.6.13
2: Xeon E3-1505Mv5@2.80GHz, 32GB DDR4, NVME, Win10 Pro, Quadro M1000M 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
3: i7-960@3.20GHz, 12GB DDR3, SSD, Win10 Pro, GTX 750Ti 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
Neil-B
 
Posts: 1350
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: Another GPU just showed up...

Postby bruce » Sat Jun 13, 2020 6:14 pm

I expect that the Intel iGPUs will be beta tested some time soon. (No, it has not started) so the fact that yout client was able to create a slot poining to it does NOT mean that it's able to get any WU assignments. :( Moreover, the fact that something may be beta tested does not mean the capability will be released for production.
bruce
 
Posts: 19854
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Another GPU just showed up...

Postby VinceMH » Sun Jun 14, 2020 2:28 am

So I just deleted the GPUs.txt file, restarted the PC, FAH is still looking for the Intel WU. Uninstalled FAH, reinstalled FAH, still looking for the Intel WU. I"m stuck without GPU processing ability. Any ideas how to kick this?
VinceMH
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2020 8:51 pm

Re: Another GPU just showed up...

Postby bruce » Sun Jun 14, 2020 2:58 am

The creation of a non-functioning GPU slot for the Intel device shouldn't have altered the support of your NVidia 2070. Posting the first 100 lines of FAH's log would help us understand what happened.

You may need to create a second GPU slot using FAHControl.
bruce
 
Posts: 19854
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Another GPU just showed up...

Postby VinceMH » Sun Jun 14, 2020 3:03 am

bruce wrote:The creation of a non-functioning GPU slot for the Intel device shouldn't have altered the support of your NVidia 2070. Posting the first 100 lines of FAH's log would help us understand what happened.

You may need to create a second GPU slot using FAHControl.


Thanks!! Here ya go.

Code: Select all
01:22:25:       Homepage: https://foldingathome.org/
01:22:25:           Date: Apr 27 2020
01:22:25:           Time: 21:21:01
01:22:25:       Revision: 5a652817f46116b6e135503af97f18e094414e3b
01:22:25:         Branch: master
01:22:25:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
01:22:25:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
01:22:25:       Platform: win32 10
01:22:25:           Bits: 32
01:22:25:           Mode: Release
01:22:25:           Args: --open-web-control
01:22:25:         Config: C:\Users\kenny\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\config.xml
01:22:25:******************************** CBang ********************************
01:22:25:           Date: Apr 24 2020
01:22:25:           Time: 17:07:55
01:22:25:       Revision: ea081a3b3b0f4a37c4d0440b4f1bc184197c7797
01:22:25:         Branch: master
01:22:25:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
01:22:25:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
01:22:25:       Platform: win32 10
01:22:25:           Bits: 32
01:22:25:           Mode: Release
01:22:25:******************************* System ********************************
01:22:25:            CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9900 CPU @ 3.10GHz
01:22:25:         CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 158 Stepping 13
01:22:25:           CPUs: 16
01:22:25:         Memory: 31.81GiB
01:22:25:    Free Memory: 26.81GiB
01:22:25:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
01:22:25:     OS Version: 6.2
01:22:25:    Has Battery: false
01:22:25:     On Battery: false
01:22:25:     UTC Offset: -5
01:22:25:            PID: 8548
01:22:25:            CWD: C:\Users\kenny\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
01:22:25:  Win32 Service: false
01:22:25:             OS: Windows 10 Enterprise
01:22:25:        OS Arch: AMD64
01:22:25:           GPUs: 2
01:22:25:          GPU 0: Bus:0 Slot:2 Func:0 INTEL:1 Gen9p5/GT2 [UHD Graphics 630]
01:22:25:          GPU 1: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:7 TU106 [GeForce RTX 2070] M 6497
01:22:25:  CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:7.5 Driver:10.2
01:22:25:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:NA Slot:NA Compute:2.1 Driver:26.20
01:22:25:OpenCL Device 2: Platform:1 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:442.23
01:22:25:******************************* libFAH ********************************
01:22:25:           Date: Apr 15 2020
01:22:25:           Time: 14:53:14
01:22:25:       Revision: 216968bc7025029c841ed6e36e81a03a316890d3
01:22:25:         Branch: master
01:22:25:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
01:22:25:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
01:22:25:       Platform: win32 10
01:22:25:           Bits: 32
01:22:25:           Mode: Release
01:22:25:***********************************************************************
01:22:25:<config>
01:22:25:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
01:22:25:  <cause v='COVID_19'/>
01:22:25:
01:22:25:  <!-- Network -->
01:22:25:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
01:22:25:
01:22:25:  <!-- Slot Control -->
01:22:25:  <power v='full'/>
01:22:25:
01:22:25:  <!-- User Information -->
01:22:25:  <passkey v='*****'/>
01:22:25:  <team v='242509'/>
01:22:25:  <user v='Early_Withdrawal'/>
01:22:25:
01:22:25:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
01:22:25:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
01:22:25:    <cpus v='6'/>
01:22:25:  </slot>
01:22:25:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
01:22:25:</config>
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:Starting
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\kenny\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/v7/win/64bit/avx/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 706 -lifeline 8548 -checkpoint 15 -np 6
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 1924
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:Core PID:9152
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:FahCore 0xa7 started
01:22:25:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign1.foldingathome.org:80
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:*********************** Log Started 2020-06-14T01:22:25Z ***********************
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:************************** Gromacs Folding@home Core ***************************
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:       Type: 0xa7
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:       Core: Gromacs
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:       Args: -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 706 -lifeline 1924 -checkpoint 15 -np 6
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:************************************ CBang *************************************
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:       Date: Oct 26 2019
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:       Time: 01:38:25
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:   Revision: c46a1a011a24143739ac7218c5a435f66777f62f
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:     Branch: master
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:   Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:    Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: win32 10
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:************************************ System ************************************
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:        CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9900 CPU @ 3.10GHz
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:     CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 158 Stepping 13
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:       CPUs: 16
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:     Memory: 31.81GiB
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:Free Memory: 26.82GiB
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:    Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7: OS Version: 6.2
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:Has Battery: false
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7: On Battery: false
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7: UTC Offset: -5
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:        PID: 9152
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:        CWD: C:\Users\kenny\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\work
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:******************************** Build - libFAH ********************************
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:    Version: 0.0.18
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:  Copyright: 2019 foldingathome.org
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:   Homepage: https://foldingathome.org/
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:       Date: Oct 26 2019
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:       Time: 01:52:30
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:   Revision: c1e3513b1bc0c16013668f2173ee969e5995b38e
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:     Branch: master
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:   Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:    Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: win32 10
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
01:22:25:WU02:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
Last edited by Joe_H on Sun Jun 14, 2020 3:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added Code tags to log
VinceMH
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2020 8:51 pm

Re: Another GPU just showed up...

Postby Joe_H » Sun Jun 14, 2020 6:03 am

I just checked the current version of GPUs.txt and one Intel entry is enabled. I am assuming the entry matches for the device ID iGPU you have in your i9-9900.

I just caused a download of the latest GPUs.txt file to one of my systems, the line looks like this:
Code: Select all
0x8086:0x3e98:3:1:Gen9p5/GT2 [UHD Graphics 630]

The entry appears to have been missed, or someone is testing something. The last version I had did not have it enabled.

Normally I would not recommend editing your local copy of this file, but in this one case I see an exception. Change the line to read as follows:
Code: Select all
0x8086:0x3e98:0:0:Gen9p5/GT2 [UHD Graphics 630]

and restart your system after saving the change. Then the client should not try to create a slot and download a WU.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6541
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Another GPU just showed up...

Postby bruce » Sun Jun 14, 2020 6:07 am

Add the expert setting pause-on-start = true to the slot and ignore it for the time being.
bruce
 
Posts: 19854
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Another GPU just showed up...

Postby VinceMH » Sun Jun 14, 2020 12:27 pm

Joe_H wrote:I just checked the current version of GPUs.txt and one Intel entry is enabled. I am assuming the entry matches for the device ID iGPU you have in your i9-9900.


This worked, thanks Joe!!!
VinceMH
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2020 8:51 pm

Next

Return to New Donors start here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests

cron