Just general quick question.

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Just general quick question.

Postby FuUtAmAaSa » Sun Jun 21, 2020 7:12 pm

I FINALLY sstarted a team and can not easily figure out how to add my self to it. LOL. I am sure I could figure it out but I have way to many tings going on to figure it out. Also most of the time when I click on my web control my browser refresses and can not connect to my server / client. any hints?

Christopher Conner
FuUtAmAaSa
Mine PI Supporter
Seti participant as FuUtA since 1999
FuUtAmAaSa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 1:10 am
Location: Vienna, Maryland / Denton, Maryland

Re: Just general quick question.

Postby ajm » Sun Jun 21, 2020 7:24 pm

Maybe try another browser. I remember that there were such issues with Chrome after a certain update a few weeks back.
Otherwise, in order to join a team, you have to set up an identity and enter the number of the team (and your personal passkey), either in Web Control or in Advanced Control (aka FAHControl).
ajm
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 6:22 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland

Re: Just general quick question.

Postby Joe_H » Sun Jun 21, 2020 7:46 pm

Which version of the F@h client are you using? If using version 7.5.1, that is a known problem with Web Control and Chromium based browsers including Chrome, the new version of MS Edge, and a number of others. Either use a different browser or update the F@h software to the current version 7.6.13.

If you are using 7.6.13, which browser and version? Entirely possible yet another change was made similar to the one that was made in Google Chromium late last year that first started showing problems for 7.5.1 and Chrome.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6538
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Just general quick question.

Postby JimboPalmer » Sun Jun 21, 2020 10:23 pm

Welcome to Folding@Home!

Assuming you are in Windows and know your Team Number:

In the taskbar to the lower right of the screen, you should see a F@H molecule icon, click it (you may need to click an Up Arrow to see it ^)

The second item in this menu is Advanced Control, click it

On this screen to the left is a Configure button, click it

Now you get a screen with a Identity tab, click it

Team Number is the second entry. Type yours and click Save.
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 2018
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Just general quick question.

Postby FuUtAmAaSa » Sun Jun 21, 2020 11:54 pm

Thank yo Jimbo Palmer. That is all I needed. LOL. Yep I have an Identity. Yep I have been folding. Yep I just created my own Team. 266479. I just needed to know how to change it in the client. I am now attached to my team. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU.
FuUtAmAaSa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 1:10 am
Location: Vienna, Maryland / Denton, Maryland

Re: Just general quick question.

Postby FuUtAmAaSa » Sun Jun 21, 2020 11:55 pm

ummm.. how do I like your reply? or give you credit in the system or just say thank you and go about our way? LOL
FuUtAmAaSa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 1:10 am
Location: Vienna, Maryland / Denton, Maryland

Re: Just general quick question.

Postby FuUtAmAaSa » Mon Jun 22, 2020 12:03 am

I am running version 7.5.1. Should I update or keep it as is. I do not want to loose and current work and I do not want anything to work incorrectly.
FuUtAmAaSa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 1:10 am
Location: Vienna, Maryland / Denton, Maryland

Re: Just general quick question.

Postby JimboPalmer » Mon Jun 22, 2020 1:07 am

FuUtAmAaSa, just assume I like helping.

There are actual experts here and I try to handle questions I understand, so they can focus on the weirder questions.
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 2018
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Just general quick question.

Postby PantherX » Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:36 pm

FuUtAmAaSa wrote:I am running version 7.5.1. Should I update or keep it as is. I do not want to loose and current work and I do not want anything to work incorrectly.

You can review the changes between V7.5.1 and V7.6.13 here: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=34466

I would suggest that you upgrade simply because there are some security fixes and other back-end stuff.

The safest method to upgrade without issues would be to first set your client to Finish.
Once finished, make a note of the username, passkey and team. You may also want to make note of how your slots are configured if you have done so.
Exit the client.
Uninstall the client including the data so everything F@H related is removed.
Install the latest version of the client by getting it from the official sources.
Configure the client using the saved information from above.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6591
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud


Return to New Donors start here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron