Haven't folded since 5-20 Need technical help!

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Haven't folded since 5-20 Need technical help!

Postby itsgottabeodin » Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:10 pm

Not exactly a new user, but I'm having technical issues and can't figure it out. I've been folding for a while, but just recently noticed that I haven't gotten any credit since May. Tried reinstalling to no avail and that's about my limit. It doesn't look like the client is even tying to download a WU. This is what I've got in my log:

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2020-09-18T17:06:18Z ***********************
17:06:18:Trying to access database...
17:06:18:Successfully acquired database lock
17:06:18:Read GPUs.txt
17:06:18:Enabled folding slot 00: READY cpu:11
17:06:19:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:0:Ellesmere XT [Radeon RX 470/480/570/580/590]
17:06:19:****************************** FAHClient ******************************
17:06:19:        Version: 7.6.13
17:06:19:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
17:06:19:      Copyright: 2020 foldingathome.org
17:06:19:       Homepage: https://foldingathome.org/
17:06:19:           Date: Apr 27 2020
17:06:19:           Time: 21:21:01
17:06:19:       Revision: 5a652817f46116b6e135503af97f18e094414e3b
17:06:19:         Branch: master
17:06:19:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
17:06:19:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
17:06:19:       Platform: win32 10
17:06:19:           Bits: 32
17:06:19:           Mode: Release
17:06:19:         Config: C:\Users\jstevenson\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\config.xml
17:06:19:******************************** CBang ********************************
17:06:19:           Date: Apr 24 2020
17:06:19:           Time: 17:07:55
17:06:19:       Revision: ea081a3b3b0f4a37c4d0440b4f1bc184197c7797
17:06:19:         Branch: master
17:06:19:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
17:06:19:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
17:06:19:       Platform: win32 10
17:06:19:           Bits: 32
17:06:19:           Mode: Release
17:06:19:******************************* System ********************************
17:06:19:            CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X Six-Core Processor
17:06:19:         CPU ID: AuthenticAMD Family 23 Model 8 Stepping 2
17:06:19:           CPUs: 12
17:06:19:         Memory: 15.93GiB
17:06:19:    Free Memory: 12.91GiB
17:06:19:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
17:06:19:     OS Version: 6.2
17:06:19:    Has Battery: true
17:06:19:     On Battery: false
17:06:19:     UTC Offset: -4
17:06:19:            PID: 13208
17:06:19:            CWD: C:\Users\jstevenson\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
17:06:19:  Win32 Service: false
17:06:19:             OS: Windows 10 Enterprise
17:06:19:        OS Arch: AMD64
17:06:19:           GPUs: 1
17:06:19:          GPU 0: Bus:7 Slot:0 Func:0 AMD:5 Ellesmere XT [Radeon RX
17:06:19:                 470/480/570/580/590]
17:06:19:           CUDA: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'nvcuda.dll': The
17:06:19:                 specified module could not be found.
17:06:19:
17:06:19:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:7 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:3110.7
17:06:19:******************************* libFAH ********************************
17:06:19:           Date: Apr 15 2020
17:06:19:           Time: 14:53:14
17:06:19:       Revision: 216968bc7025029c841ed6e36e81a03a316890d3
17:06:19:         Branch: master
17:06:19:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
17:06:19:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
17:06:19:       Platform: win32 10
17:06:19:           Bits: 32
17:06:19:           Mode: Release
17:06:19:***********************************************************************
17:06:19:<config>
17:06:19:  <!-- Network -->
17:06:19:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
17:06:19:
17:06:19:  <!-- Slot Control -->
17:06:19:  <pause-on-battery v='false'/>
17:06:19:  <power v='full'/>
17:06:19:
17:06:19:  <!-- User Information -->
17:06:19:  <passkey v='*****'/>
17:06:19:  <team v='169927'/>
17:06:19:  <user v='itsgottabeodin'/>
17:06:19:
17:06:19:  <!-- Work Unit Control -->
17:06:19:  <max-queue v=''/>
17:06:19:
17:06:19:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
17:06:19:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
17:06:19:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
17:06:19:</config>

EDIT: I have also updated my graphics drivers
Last edited by itsgottabeodin on Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
itsgottabeodin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:05 pm

Re: Haven't folded since 5-20 Need technical help!

Postby itsgottabeodin » Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:21 pm

This just popped up at the end of the log:
Code: Select all
17:18:27:ERROR:Receive error: 10054: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.

EDIT: Maybe this was me? I pushed the "finish" "pause" and "start" buttons.
Last edited by itsgottabeodin on Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
itsgottabeodin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:05 pm

Re: Haven't folded since 5-20 Need technical help!

Postby Joe_H » Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:38 pm

itsgottabeodin wrote:This just popped up at the end of the log:
Code: Select all
17:18:27:ERROR:Receive error: 10054: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.


Probably not connected to the issue, but would have to see that error message in the context of what was in the log just before that.

However there is one entry in your configuration that point to you possibly adding or modifying an option incorrectly or by mistake:
Code: Select all
 17:06:19:
17:06:19:  <!-- Work Unit Control -->
17:06:19:  <max-queue v=''/>
17:06:19:


It is set to no value, and may be interfering with the client getting work. The default value from an old high verbosity log I keep around is '16'. It is not clear where it was set, I would say to check under Extra Slot Options for the CPU and GPU slots or Extra Client Options under the Expert tab.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6692
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Haven't folded since 5-20 Need technical help!

Postby itsgottabeodin » Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:43 pm

Joe, I think that did it! It just downloaded and is now running. Thank you!

How odd, I don't remember ever going into that section and modifying. I'm certainly no expert!

Case closed. Thanks again.
itsgottabeodin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:05 pm

Re: Haven't folded since 5-20 Need technical help!

Postby Joe_H » Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:55 pm

Considering all of the inadvertent changes and entries I have made over the years on computers, and also have no recollection of doing, it happens. Looking at the older copies of config.xml that get saved, you might be able to figure out when the change happened. But that might not be enough to figure out the "how".
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6692
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Haven't folded since 5-20 Need technical help!

Postby foldy » Fri Sep 18, 2020 9:59 pm

I keep a logfile of all my changes on PC. So if e.g. I disable hw acceleration in my internet browser then I write that in my logfile. If one week later I found youtube does not show videos anymore then I can check my logfile if I changed anything. (Although Windows updates and other updates change my apps every month)
foldy
 
Posts: 2045
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:43 pm


Return to New Donors start here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron