Out of ARM64 assignments?

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Out of ARM64 assignments?

Postby stinerman » Tue Feb 23, 2021 9:18 pm

Hi friends,

I set up a headless Pi 4B and installed the client. So far I haven't received a WU. I'm new to Raspberry Pi and configured it manually, so I'm checking to see if this is a "just me" thing or if anyone else is experiencing a WU shortage as well.

Happy folding!
stinerman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:06 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: Out of ARM64 assignments?

Postby bruce » Tue Feb 23, 2021 9:54 pm

It does look like we are short of WUs. ARM is still in active development so most anything might have happened.

The more mature clients (GPUs/X86) have been short of new work but the scientists tend to replenish them more frequently/quickly than the developmental segments of the workload.
bruce
 
Posts: 20888
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Out of ARM64 assignments?

Postby stinerman » Tue Feb 23, 2021 11:31 pm

Yep, my x64/GPU folding is running fine. Thanks bruce!
stinerman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:06 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: Out of ARM64 assignments?

Postby bruce » Tue Feb 23, 2021 11:37 pm

Is your set up able to differentiate between big and LITTLE hardware components?
bruce
 
Posts: 20888
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Out of ARM64 assignments?

Postby DocWherm » Wed Feb 24, 2021 12:07 am

Same thing is happening to me. It has been ~18 hours and my ARM64 client has been unable to get work units. I have tried all kinds of configurations on my CPU slot(s) and have tried using the advanced client option and still can't get anything. Are we just out of WUs for the ARM client or???
DocWherm
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2021 12:05 am

Re: Out of ARM64 assignments?

Postby Neil-B » Wed Feb 24, 2021 1:47 am

DocWherm wrote:Are we just out of WUs for the ARM client or???


Welcome to the forums DocWherm ... See bruce's first response in thread above :)
2x Xeon E5-2697v3, 512GB DDR4 LRDIMM, SSD Raid, Win10 Ent, Quadro K420
Xeon E3-1505Mv5, 32GB DDR4, NVME, Win10 Pro, Quadro M1000M
i7-960, 12GB DDR3, SSD, Win10 Pro, GTX 750Ti
i9-10850K, 64GB DDR4, NVME, Win 10 Pro, RTX3070

(Green/Bold = Active)
Neil-B
 
Posts: 1831
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: Out of ARM64 assignments?

Postby stinerman » Wed Feb 24, 2021 4:40 pm

bruce wrote:Is your set up able to differentiate between big and LITTLE hardware components?


I'm not certain what this means but my config is as follows:

<config>
<!-- Folding Core -->
<checkpoint v='30'/>

<!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
<cause v='HIGH_PRIORITY'/>
<gpu v='false'/>

<!-- HTTP Server -->
<allow v='127.0.0.1 192.168.0.0/24'/>

<!-- Network -->
<proxy v=':8080'/>

<!-- Remote Command Server -->
<command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1 192.168.0.0/24'/>

<!-- Slot Control -->
<pause-on-battery v='false'/>
<power v='full'/>

<!-- User Information -->
<passkey v='********'/>
<team v='224497'/>
<user v='stinerman'/>

<!-- Folding Slots -->
<slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
</config>

One thing that may be useful is that I'm running the beta 64-bit Raspberry Pi OS on my machine.
stinerman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:06 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: Out of ARM64 assignments?

Postby SilvioMartin » Wed Feb 24, 2021 7:41 pm

I think you just had bad luck. I have been running FH on a Raspberry Pi 4B since November and on a rack of 4 Raspberry Pi 4B since mid December. I use the default setting, running on all 4 cores. They just stopped getting new WUs on February 22nd late evening (UTC). There were times without work units earlier. The longest I've seen was a phase of several days (4? 5? 7?) without new work units in early January. Here you can check, how my guys are doing: http://anne-emscher.net/fah/ If you see anyone there working and yours isn't, then you might have an issue with your specific configuration.
My Raspberry Pi folding rack: http://www.anne-emscher.net/fah/
SilvioMartin
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 7:06 pm
Location: Oberhausen, Germany

Re: Out of ARM64 assignments?

Postby bruce » Wed Feb 24, 2021 9:19 pm

stinerman wrote:One thing that may be useful is that I'm running the beta 64-bit Raspberry Pi OS on my machine.


Perhaps that's the difference.

@ SilvioMartin Please describe your software.

@ stinerman Please include the information mentioned in the Sig block of my first post in this topic.
bruce
 
Posts: 20888
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Out of ARM64 assignments?

Postby SilvioMartin » Thu Feb 25, 2021 7:23 am

@bruce: Sure.

1. Raspberry Pi OS 64 bit beta, downloaded from here: https://downloads.raspberrypi.org/raspios_arm64/images/ There are two versions as of now. I ran the FAH client with both successfully. Now I am using the one in raspios_arm64-2020-08-24 only.
2. FAH client, control and viewer 7.6.21, for ARM Linux / Raspberry Pi, downloaded here: https://foldingathome.org/alternative-downloads/

I run this on Raspberry Pi 4B with 2 GB RAM and a 16 GB SanDisk Ultra SD card. The setup of the OS and the FAH client is described here on page 7 and 8: http://www.anne-emscher.net/fah/FAtRasPi.pdf
SilvioMartin
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 7:06 pm
Location: Oberhausen, Germany

Re: Out of ARM64 assignments?

Postby SilvioMartin » Fri Feb 26, 2021 7:54 am

There is something in the ARM pipeline again:

Code: Select all
06:36:57:WU00:FS00:0xa8:Project: 16517 (Run 0, Clone 763, Gen 1)


I haven't seen that project before.
SilvioMartin
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 7:06 pm
Location: Oberhausen, Germany

Re: Out of ARM64 assignments?

Postby stinerman » Fri Feb 26, 2021 3:25 pm

Yes, I just received a work unit about 8 hours ago. Looks like all is well.
stinerman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:06 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: Out of ARM64 assignments?

Postby bruce » Fri Feb 26, 2021 6:59 pm

Project: 16517 is out of HKUST (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology) has been a mostly inactive supplier of FAH projects (though I know Dr. Xuhui from his days at Stanford.)

it never hurts to have an active FAH server in another part of the world.
bruce
 
Posts: 20888
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.


Return to Software for ARM hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron