Client: local Connecting Inactive (7.6.9 on Win 10)

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Post Reply
BT Dubs
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 4:16 pm

Client: local Connecting Inactive (7.6.9 on Win 10)

Post by BT Dubs »

Hi,

My FAH Control window occasionally appears stippled out and shows "Client: local Connecting Inactive". The Web browser interface behaves like it's having trouble connecting, although other tabs on the same browser work for accessing various Internet resources (I realize fah is a local resource). I thought perhaps the service really is running, and a TCP/IP failure prevents querying it. I disabled Window's Network firewall, but it doesn't help.

I looked for a way to attach my log file, but it appears there's no file attachment facility on this board. I haven't posted here in a long time, so I'm a bit rusty on the usual process.

Windows is 10 Pro, version 20H2 build 19042.804.

How should I go about troubleshooting now while it appears to be consistently failing this way currently?

Thanks!
bruce
Posts: 20910
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Client: local Connecting Inactive (7.6.9 on Win 10)

Post by bruce »

As far as you OS is concerned, 127.0.0.1 should always be accessible since it's the IP address of the so-called loopback adapter. If FAHClient is running, it should always be listening on port 36330 as well as other ports.

In Config.xml the entries
<allow v="127.0.0.1,..."/>
and
<command-allow-no-pass v="127.0.0.1,..."/>

must always be present although the ... part is often extended to include entries for your LAN. [e.g. mine is <allow v="127.0.0.1,192.168.0.0/24"/> but yours may vary]

If you remove the 127.0.0.1 unpredictable failures can be expected.

If FAHClient is not running as a service (Linux/MacOS) or hidden on the active desktop (WIndows) it FAControl obviously cannot connected to it.
JimboPalmer
Posts: 2454
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Hardware configuration: Several dozen Core2duos and i3s at a Mental Health organization. About six i5 at home, including a GTX 1050ti GPU that does half the total points.
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Client: local Connecting Inactive (7.6.9 on Win 10)

Post by JimboPalmer »

Welcome to Folding@Home!

It's worth noting that the current version is 7.6.21 so you may be suffering from solved bugs.

(Edited)
Last edited by JimboPalmer on Sun Mar 07, 2021 1:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7260
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Location: W. MA

Re: Client: local Connecting Inactive (7.6.9 on Win 10)

Post by Joe_H »

I am assuming a typo, the current client version is 7.6.21. As mentioned, a number of fixes have been done since 7.6.9.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Post Reply