FAH Control no longer showing in my system tray

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

FAH Control no longer showing in my system tray

Postby silverpulser » Tue May 11, 2021 12:32 am

I start FAH by clicking the FAH icon on my desktop (Windows 10) but no FAH Control shows in my system tray even though Task Manager shows FAH Client, FAH Wrapper and FAH Core a_8 running. The web page shows the project as running.

Should I reinstall FAH or what?
silverpulser
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 10:06 am

Re: FAH Control no longer showing in my system tray

Postby bruce » Tue May 11, 2021 4:26 am

The icon in the systray has had a wealth of problems over the years. Apparently Microsoft changes the way it's invoked and Development got tired of changing it in response.

Yes, you may restore it by reinstalling FAH or you may ignore the issue.
bruce
 
Posts: 20888
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: FAH Control no longer showing in my system tray

Postby silverpulser » Tue May 11, 2021 8:01 am

If I ignore it how do I get to Advanced settings
silverpulser
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 10:06 am

Re: FAH Control no longer showing in my system tray

Postby jonault » Tue May 11, 2021 8:31 am

Run FAHControl. You can find that in the Start menu inside the Folding@home folder, or you can look in the C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient folder.
Image
jonault
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:53 pm

Re: FAH Control no longer showing in my system tray

Postby ajm » Tue May 11, 2021 12:09 pm

You also can type FAHControl ("FAHC" should be enough) into the search field of the taskbar, then hit Enter
ajm
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 6:22 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland

Re: FAH Control no longer showing in my system tray

Postby silverpulser » Tue May 11, 2021 2:02 pm

If I type FAHControl in the search box and hit the Open command on the right hand side nothing happens. If I run FAHControl from the Start menu, again nothing happens.
silverpulser
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 10:06 am

Re: FAH Control no longer showing in my system tray

Postby ajm » Tue May 11, 2021 2:11 pm

I would look in Task Manager (Ctrl-Shift-Escape) whether "FAHControl.exe" is among the Apps. If yes, clic the > on the left hand of it, then right clic "FAHControl - Folding@home Client Advanced Control" and chose "Switch to".
If it is not there, among the Apps, there must be something wrong with your installation and the best would be to reinstall.
ajm
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 6:22 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland

Re: FAH Control no longer showing in my system tray

Postby silverpulser » Tue May 11, 2021 4:07 pm

No FAH Control in Task Manager, just the three apps listed in my original post. I will do a reinstall and have now set the current WU to Finish before doing so. Can I reinstall on top of my existing installation or should I do an uninstall first?
silverpulser
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 10:06 am

Re: FAH Control no longer showing in my system tray

Postby ajm » Tue May 11, 2021 4:17 pm

As we dont know where the problem is, I would recommend to uninstall (incl. data) before reinstalling.
ajm
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 6:22 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland

Re: FAH Control no longer showing in my system tray

Postby Joe_H » Tue May 11, 2021 4:22 pm

If you don't have copies of your setup info such as passkey, keep a copy of the config.xml file from the F@h data directory before uninstalling. You can open that in a text editor and copy and paste values from it into the reinstalled client.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7080
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA


Return to V7.6.x Public Release Windows/Linux/MacOS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron