GPU disabled - doesn't meet requirement or needs drivers?

If you think it might be a driver problem, see viewforum.php?f=79

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

GPU disabled - doesn't meet requirement or needs drivers?

Postby Richw » Tue Jul 20, 2021 6:47 pm

I just started folding on an older rig and noticed the GPU is disabled.

Here's what I got from the log;

GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:3 GK106 [GeForce GTX 650 Ti]
CUDA: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'nvcuda.dll': The
specified module could not be found.

OpenCL: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'OpenCL.dll': The
specified module could not be found.


WARNING:FS01:No CUDA or OpenCL 1.2+ support detected for GPU slot 01: gpu:1:0 GK106 [GeForce GTX 650 Ti]. Disabling.



What does this mean?


Edit: I searched for drivers, couldn't find any- and came across a cuda tool kit- but it doesnt support windows 7
Richw
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2021 1:29 am

Re: GPU disabled - doesn't meet requirement or needs drivers

Postby Joe_H » Tue Jul 20, 2021 7:36 pm

Richw wrote:Edit: I searched for drivers, couldn't find any- and came across a cuda tool kit- but it doesnt support windows 7


On the nVidia site when searching for drivers you will need to go into the advanced search by clicking "here" for beta drivers. The most recent driver with support for your GPU was just released this week, there are more versions available going back over a year.

One note, I am assuming you have a 64-bit version of Win7 installed, 32-bit windows is no longer supported for GPU folding.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7104
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: GPU disabled - doesn't meet requirement or needs drivers

Postby Richw » Tue Jul 20, 2021 8:01 pm

thank you- I didnt notice the beta drivers
Richw
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2021 1:29 am

Re: GPU disabled - doesn't meet requirement or needs drivers

Postby JimboPalmer » Tue Jul 20, 2021 9:28 pm

Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 2377
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: GPU disabled - doesn't meet requirement or needs drivers

Postby Richw » Tue Jul 20, 2021 9:38 pm

JimboPalmer wrote:Last 32 bit driver for 650 ti https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/drivers/results/132837/


I'm 64bit- poster before you just mentioned there is no folding at 32bit.

Joe, I installed the drivers and just seen in F@H Control that both CPU & GPU are now folding. Thanks again!
Richw
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2021 1:29 am

Re: GPU disabled - doesn't meet requirement or needs drivers

Postby aetch » Tue Jul 20, 2021 9:47 pm

You could do an in-place upgrade to Windows 10, get the digital licence and then do a clean install of whatever build/version you want as long as it's the same edition (Home/Pro).
The servers which allow Windows 7/8/8.1 to upgrade to Windows 10 for free are still active, it's just not publicised.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/softwar ... /windows10
Ryzen 9 3900X, 16GB, RTX 2070 Super, Win 10 Pro, F@H 7.6.21

Image

How to post logs and other useful info
aetch
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:04 pm
Location: Between chair and keyboard

Re: GPU disabled - doesn't meet requirement or needs drivers

Postby Richw » Tue Jul 20, 2021 10:13 pm

aetch wrote:You could do an in-place upgrade to Windows 10, get the digital licence and then do a clean install of whatever build/version you want as long as it's the same edition (Home/Pro).
The servers which allow Windows 7/8/8.1 to upgrade to Windows 10 for free are still active, it's just not publicised.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/softwar ... /windows10




you're saying I can upgrade to windows 10 pro from 7 pro for free? what do you mean by in-place upgrade?
Richw
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2021 1:29 am

Re: GPU disabled - doesn't meet requirement or needs drivers

Postby aetch » Tue Jul 20, 2021 10:52 pm

I did it about a month ago (just a few weeks before Windows 11 beta was "leaked") with a 32-bit Vista Home Premium install on a Toshiba Satellite laptop. I first took it to Windows 7 by re-using a retail Windows 7 Home Premium upgrade I bought years ago, then did the in-place upgrade to Windows 10. That laptop now runs Windows 10 Home 64-bit.

As with any upgrade, backup before attempting it. The worst that can happen is that you revert back to Windows 7.
There's plenty of guides for doing the in-place upgrades.
https://www.groovypost.com/howto/downlo ... s-10-free/
https://www.techsupportall.com/upgrade- ... -for-free/
aetch
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:04 pm
Location: Between chair and keyboard

Re: GPU disabled - doesn't meet requirement or needs drivers

Postby Richw » Tue Jul 20, 2021 10:57 pm

still not sure what you mean by in-place. so I can upgrade to 10 and not have to start at factory settings? all my files and programs will still be available after upgrade?
Richw
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2021 1:29 am

Re: GPU disabled - doesn't meet requirement or needs drivers

Postby Richw » Tue Jul 20, 2021 11:11 pm

i've figured it out, you mean i can use my windows 7 key for the 10 upgrade. gonna just do it now and get it over with.

thanks bud
Richw
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2021 1:29 am

Re: GPU disabled - doesn't meet requirement or needs drivers

Postby aetch » Tue Jul 20, 2021 11:17 pm

By in-place I mean you download the Windows 10 install files using the media creation tool and then run setup from within your current Windows installation.

Please read up on it. Your files will still be in the same place but the GUI keeps evolving with every new build so accessing different configuration settings changes over time.
aetch
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:04 pm
Location: Between chair and keyboard

Re: GPU disabled - doesn't meet requirement or needs drivers

Postby JohnChodera » Fri Jul 30, 2021 8:58 pm

Thanks to everybody who chimed in to help here!

OpenCL.DLL should be distributed with your display drivers, and isn't something we can distribute with the core because it's hardware-specific.
This thread on the NVIDIA support forums is a similar issue, and has good info on which display driver versions might be useful in providing it:
https://forums.developer.nvidia.com/t/opencl-dll-missing/18431

Apologies if you've already been through this info!

~ John Chodera // MSKCC
User avatar
JohnChodera
Pande Group Member
 
Posts: 458
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:59 pm


Return to GPU Projects and FahCores

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron