How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

MeeLee
Posts: 1371
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:16 pm

How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by MeeLee »

All my android phones are out of work on Boinc, due to WCG and Universe@home being offline.

I wanted to use my phone to run folding at home, and found this website:
https://folding-home.en.uptodown.com/android

Is it legit?
Are there WUs for android phones?
(they're running A50-series cores, not A70 series cores).

And are there any known workarounds to install the FAH .deb client on an android phone?

Thanks!
Last edited by Joe_H on Mon Mar 21, 2022 7:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added [not legit] to subject
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7312
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Location: W. MA

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home?

Post by Joe_H »

The site is providing a download of the defunct Sony provided client. Sony ended support and servers for WUs several years ago. So the site is not providing a legit client, though if it truly is the Sony Android client the software was legit in the past.

Sony released th code to open source at the time, F@h Consortium members stated at the time they would consider further development. That has not happened. There is only the ARM version of the regular F@h client, that requires running a 64-bit version of Linux and a processor at least as powerful as used in the Raspberry Pi 4.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Peter_Hucker
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2022 1:18 am

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home?

Post by Peter_Hucker »

i tried it and it got no work
MeeLee
Posts: 1371
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:16 pm

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by MeeLee »

ok. There must be a workaround to run Raspberry pi versions on an android phone, since RPi operating software is based on ubuntu/debian, and both Android and Debian use Linux kernels.
Android may be a bit more restrictive though...
Peter_Hucker
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2022 1:18 am

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by Peter_Hucker »

If FAH are not producing Android workunits, you can't work around it. I doubt there's a virtual Windows PC CPU ability for Android.
MeeLee
Posts: 1371
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:16 pm

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by MeeLee »

Peter_Hucker wrote:If FAH are not producing Android workunits, you can't work around it. I doubt there's a virtual Windows PC CPU ability for Android.
But there are WUs for the Raspberry Pi,no?

Then again, the R-Pi has Cortex A-70 (performance) cores, and most android phones only use A-50 (efficiency) cores; and those two cores are incompatible with one another.
I guess that answered my question.
Peter_Hucker
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2022 1:18 am

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by Peter_Hucker »

I can't see any evidence of and Android work on FAH. But there's no proper server status like Boinc projects.
toTOW
Site Moderator
Posts: 6020
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by toTOW »

There are some WUs for ARM, but the only client for this architecture requires a 64 bits Linux OS.

Also, anything slower than a RPi 4 won't make the deadlines.
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
Peter_Hucker
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2022 1:18 am

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by Peter_Hucker »

There seems to be a lot of computers too slow for FAH. Can't we get smaller workunits for those?
gunnarre
Posts: 558
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:23 pm
Location: Norway

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by gunnarre »

Unfortunately no - when you run a simulation you need the whole molecule or at least as much of it as the researcher want to simulate. You'll have to find some other project, e.g. in BOINC for those smaller computers.
Image
Online: RTX 3050, GTX 1660 Super, GTX 950 + occasional CPU folding in the cold.
Offline: Radeon HD 7770, GTX 960, GTX 1050 Ti
MeeLee
Posts: 1371
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:16 pm

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by MeeLee »

Would be interesting to see if slower CPUs would work, so long they had more cores?
ARM is still in it's infancy. And Risc V is right behind it.
By themselves the CPUs aren't really that noteworthy, but once you start having more than 4 cores, they're actually pretty efficient.
Probably up to about 30 cores, when they will saturate memory bandwidth.
toTOW
Site Moderator
Posts: 6020
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by toTOW »

If you could get your hands on something like this, it would happily fold : https://amperecomputing.com/ ;)
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
Peter_Hucker
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2022 1:18 am

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by Peter_Hucker »

I cannot locate those on Ebay :-)
What's the price?
MeeLee
Posts: 1371
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:16 pm

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by MeeLee »

Peter_Hucker wrote: Sun Jun 19, 2022 12:08 am I cannot locate those on Ebay :-)
What's the price?
An older 80 core Ampere system goes from anywhere upwards from $2500. The server editions usually go several thousands of dollars more.
While they are quite efficient, they're not as efficient as GPUs in terms of folding.
They need to come out with 100 core CPUs. Like a regular quadcore, with 96 energy efficient cores.
Peter_Hucker
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2022 1:18 am

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by Peter_Hucker »

Some things don't run on GPUs (including some of the folding projects, or could they all go on GPU?), so I guess Amperes have their uses.
Post Reply