How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

MeeLee
Posts: 1373
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:16 pm

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by MeeLee »

Peter_Hucker wrote: Mon Jun 20, 2022 7:57 am Some things don't run on GPUs (including some of the folding projects, or could they all go on GPU?), so I guess Amperes have their uses.
Most things don't run on AMpere CPUs at all!
Folding doesn't work on it, boinc perhaps some projects might.
But there's just not enough supply out there for scientists to write software for these cpus.
Plus, they're expensive.
toTOW
Site Moderator
Posts: 6051
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by toTOW »

Peter_Hucker wrote: Sun Jun 19, 2022 12:08 am I cannot locate those on Ebay :-)
What's the price?
You can still rent one ... some hosting companies started to add it the to their offer like this one : https://www.hetzner.com/dedicated-rootserver/matrix-rx
MeeLee wrote: Sat Jun 25, 2022 3:53 am Most things don't run on AMpere CPUs at all!
Folding doesn't work on it, boinc perhaps some projects might.
Why FAH wouldn't run on such CPUs ?
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
Peter_Hucker
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2022 1:18 am

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by Peter_Hucker »

toTOW wrote: Thu Aug 04, 2022 9:27 pmWhy FAH wouldn't run on such CPUs ?
Different instruction set I would imagine. AMD and Intel desktop and server CPUs have a common instruction set.
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7384
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Location: W. MA

Re: How legit is uptodown folding@home? [Not legit]

Post by Joe_H »

There is an ARM version of the CPU folding core for use on systems using Linux. Whether it would run on an Ampere ARM based CPU has not been determined.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Post Reply