GPUs Info

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Post Reply
Xorxos
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2023 10:42 am

GPUs Info

Post by Xorxos »

Hello,

It looks like, the computing works, but, there is an error with gpu info.

I have these 3. I think Arc computes, but it shows that AMD done this.

How to show proper hardware?

https://pasteboard.co/I8HLbWbWS0rV.png

https://pasteboard.co/481D0zSWNZgB.png
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7902
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2
Location: W. MA

Re: GPUs Info

Post by Joe_H »

The GPU info is probably correct, the Arc 770 is not enabled to do folding currently as it does not support double precision in hardware. Intel provides emulated DP calculations through its driver, but tests have shown that does not work properly with the current GPU folding core.

It looks like you are using Task Manager to see GPU utilization. By default that displays video rendering, not the calculation processing. You would need to change to one of the optional Compute modes to show F@H utilization of the AMD GPU. Or use something like GPU-Z which will directly show that.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
toTOW
Site Moderator
Posts: 6318
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Re: GPUs Info

Post by toTOW »

There's nothing wrong here ... the client seen the the Vega M GPU and the Intel HD 630 integrated in your CPU since they are both capable to fold. Although the Intel iGPUs are too slow for most work, which mean why it doesn't get work.

The Intel dedicated GPUs (Arc) are no capable of folding, so no one ever bother entering them in the GPUs.txt file, which explain why it doesn't appear in the client.

Please post soe logs if we didn't answer your question : viewtopic.php?f=24&t=26036
Image

Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7902
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2
Location: W. MA

Re: GPUs Info

Post by Joe_H »

toTOW wrote: Mon Oct 23, 2023 6:45 pm The Intel dedicated GPUs (Arc) are no capable of folding, so no one ever bother entering them in the GPUs.txt file, which explain why it doesn't appear in the client.
It doesn't appear in the web control, but there actually is an entry in GPUs.txt to blacklist the Arc A770:

Code: Select all

0x8086:0x56a0:::DG2 [Arc A770]
No numbers between the colons in the middle of the entry indicate a blacklisted GPU.
jlopz
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2024 4:23 pm

Re: Información de las GPU

Post by jlopz »

Isn't it enough for a GPU to have OpenCL support to work with FahClient? What version of OpenCL is required? In addition to support for that version of OpenCL, does the GPU need to have FP64 support?
Last edited by jlopz on Sat Jul 13, 2024 4:40 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7902
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2
Location: W. MA

Re: Información de las GPU

Post by Joe_H »

jlopz wrote: Sat Jul 13, 2024 4:32 pm Isn't it enough for a GPU to have OpenCL support to work with FahClient? What version of OpenCL is required? In addition to support for that version of OpenCL, does the GPU need to have FP64 support?
Minimum OpenCL version is 1.2. Yes, FP64 support is required. The current GPU folding cores use some double precision calculations where needed to maintain sufficient numerical accuracy. They investigated use of emulated FP64 calculations, they did not always work out and would slow all GPU folders down.

Current GPU cores also use NVidia CUDA instead of OpenCL on GPUs supported by the CUDA libraries included in the code. The oldest Nvidia GPUs supported by F@h with Kepler chips fall back to OpenCL, Maxwell and newer chips use CUDA if the drivers and support libraries are installed correctly.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
jlopz
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2024 4:23 pm

Re: Información de las GPU

Post by jlopz »

Joe_H wrote: Sat Jul 13, 2024 7:03 pm
jlopz wrote: Sat Jul 13, 2024 4:32 pm Isn't it enough for a GPU to have OpenCL support to work with FahClient? What version of OpenCL is required? In addition to support for that version of OpenCL, does the GPU need to have FP64 support?
Minimum OpenCL version is 1.2. Yes, FP64 support is required. The current GPU folding cores use some double precision calculations where needed to maintain sufficient numerical accuracy. They investigated use of emulated FP64 calculations, they did not always work out and would slow all GPU folders down.

Current GPU cores also use NVidia CUDA instead of OpenCL on GPUs supported by the CUDA libraries included in the code. The oldest Nvidia GPUs supported by F@h with Kepler chips fall back to OpenCL, Maxwell and newer chips use CUDA if the drivers and support libraries are installed correctly.
Thanks for your answer. It's a shame not to be able to use the Intel ARC, they would perform great.
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7902
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2
Location: W. MA

Re: GPUs Info

Post by Joe_H »

jlopz wrote: Sun Jul 14, 2024 11:17 am Thanks for your answer. It's a shame not to be able to use the Intel ARC, they would perform great.
Perhaps it will be possible with a newer generation ARC line of chips. It is possible Intel will reconsider taking out the hardware FP64 support and include it again. It was present in a few generations of their iGPU designs before ARC which worked for some smaller F@h projects..
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Post Reply