Apple Silicon ARM chips - M3 family support status

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Post Reply
kasdashdfjsah
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2023 5:58 pm

Apple Silicon ARM chips - M3 family support status

Post by kasdashdfjsah »

Does the software fully support the latest version of MacOS, as well as all the new M3 Apple Silicon chips, which have new features like ray-tracing, dynamic caching, and mesh shading? Also, the Ultra chips are composed of 2 max chips stuck together, which some software and games struggle to fully utilize, so please make sure the software supports these chips fully as well.
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7843
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2
Location: W. MA

Re: Apple Silicon ARM chips - M3 family support status

Post by Joe_H »

The v8 Public Beta fully supports Apple Silicon, both the client and CPU folding cores have been compiled o use the Apple native machine code. The rest of the features only would possibly be useful for the GPU folding. But GPU folding is not supported on any macOS system at this point.

How well the CPU folding core utilizes the Ultra processors is going to depend on the scheduler in the macOS. The same applies to any other multi chip systems from Intel or AMD running other OSs.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
toTOW
Site Moderator
Posts: 6283
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Re: Apple Silicon ARM chips - M3 family support status

Post by toTOW »

It works, but big.LITTLE CPU architectures still require a lot of user configuration to work efficiently ... :(
Image

Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.
calxalot
Site Moderator
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 1:33 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Apple Silicon ARM chips - M3 family support status

Post by calxalot »

It is fastest if you do not set cpus higher than the performance core count.

First run of v8 will set this for you, unless your old config.xml has a cpus entry.

I don’t have an M3 to test, but it should work fine.

So would v7, but it will be slower because it runs in Rosetta.
calxalot
Site Moderator
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 1:33 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Apple Silicon ARM chips - M3 family support status

Post by calxalot »

Some folks are using Process Lasso on Windows to deal with big.LITTLE.

No such utility is needed on macOS.
Just do not set cpus higher than the performance core count.
Post Reply