config.xml utility ?

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Post Reply
promeneur
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:59 am
Hardware configuration: openSUSE Tumbleweed, x86_64,Asrock B760M-HDV/M.2 D4, Intel Core i3-12100, 16 GB, Intel UHD Graphics 730, NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030, Edup-Love EP-9651GS Wi-Fi Bluetooth, multicard reader USB 3.0 startech.com 35fcreadbu3, Epson XP 7100, Headset Bluetooth 3.0 Philips SHQ7300

config.xml utility ?

Post by promeneur »

Today, the tumbleweed rpm fah-client-bastet-beta was updated.

The config.xml was replaced by an empty one (no custom data). There are only comments about an example.

It seems fah-client ignores config.xml and takes care of my folding account data. Am I right ?

In this case, what is the utility of config.xml ?
Image
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7877
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2
Location: W. MA

Re: config.xml utility ?

Post by Joe_H »

As I understand it, at installation and startup time the v8 client reads config.xml and uses that for some settings. The config.xml file is not updated with any changes made within the v8 client through the web interface. Not all v7 settings in config.xml are compatible with v8. At this time there are some expert settings that can only be set in the v8 client by entering them into config.xml and restarting the client process. Those may be added to the web interface in some future version.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
calxalot
Site Moderator
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 1:33 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: config.xml utility ?

Post by calxalot »

If you are upgrading from v7 some settings are imported on first run. The default config.xml is otherwise basically empty.

The rpm package you are talking about probably does not import/copy the v7 config.
calxalot
Site Moderator
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 1:33 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: config.xml utility ?

Post by calxalot »

And yes, there are v8 settings that can only be set via config.xml.

Or via command line arguments.
promeneur
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:59 am
Hardware configuration: openSUSE Tumbleweed, x86_64,Asrock B760M-HDV/M.2 D4, Intel Core i3-12100, 16 GB, Intel UHD Graphics 730, NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030, Edup-Love EP-9651GS Wi-Fi Bluetooth, multicard reader USB 3.0 startech.com 35fcreadbu3, Epson XP 7100, Headset Bluetooth 3.0 Philips SHQ7300

Re: config.xml utility ?

Post by promeneur »

calxalot wrote: Sun May 12, 2024 8:51 am If you are upgrading from v7 some settings are imported on first run. The default config.xml is otherwise basically empty.

The rpm package you are talking about probably does not import/copy the v7 config.
I did not switch from v7 to v8.

This is an update of an already installed fah-client-bastet-beta.

The update only saves the previous config.xml to config.xml.rpmsave
Image
calxalot
Site Moderator
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 1:33 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: config.xml utility ?

Post by calxalot »

No worries then. v8 stores config changes in client.db in the client working directory.
Post Reply