FAH is the weirdest piece of software I ever installed

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

cippyboy

FAH is the weirdest piece of software I ever installed

Post by cippyboy »

Ok, so before I continue I have to say that I'm a programmer myself for quite some years now, and no, I'm not a web developer, I code in C++ and have experience with DirectX and OpenGL.

So, after hearing about Folding @ Home and researching what it does exactly on wikipedia or the official site's FAQ I still have no clue what kind of tasks it runs. I mean, ok, protein folding, but what exactly do the tasks contain ? Then I hear it's not open source because of security reasons. Like heck, security is just a protocol exchange at start-up, you can easily hide that in a dll or something and give us the rest of the code. And I'm not asking only because I'm curious, more on this later.

Ok, so given indefinite answers to what I was interested : what exactly are they making my computer do, I get the x86 installer for windows to find out it uses my CPU despite hearing there's a GPU based client. Ok, so I download the "special" GPU client (duh!) instead and try to run it, and it says it's incompatible with my driver. I mean, come on guys, this is ridiculous. What are you using there ? DirectCompute ? CUDA ? Oh, so that's a secret too I suppose ? I have a HD 5770 by the way and I don't really think it has such a different architecture compared to say HD5850 which first appeared in autumn last year, and I suppose they support that. Now, how is there a driver incompatibility if it's the same generation of video cards ? Anyway, I might be ranting uselessly because I have no idea what driver or API checks it does, again, if I had any source code I would've at least known what my problem was without searching the internets to find out you don't actually support my video card.